We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tanjung Inn”
Review of Tanjung Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanjung Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Cherating B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Beautiful, secluded chalets overlooking a lake. Best value for money are the air conditioned, colonial style bungalows. Staff are brilliant and make you feel really welcome, almost part of the family. It's the sort of place where you can easily lose a few weeks without realising it.

Room Tip: Go for the a/c - a little more expensive but worthg it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

Tanjung Inn is serene with wooden chalets spread around lotus ponds in acres of well tended landscaped gardens. You will undoubtedly see hornbills, monkeys and monitor lizards in the trees that surround the property.
We came for two nights and have extended ou stay to five - it's that kind of place. There are 10 aircon rooms - each wooden chalet is divided into two with a big bedroom, bathroom and large balcony facing the lotus ponds. The 11 fan cooled rooms are smaller versions of the aircon - also wooden and on the other side of the ponds. Everything in our room was clean and in working order.
Our aircon room (number 24) has recently been renovated with a new coat of varnish on all the wood, new lighting, new tiles in the bathroom and hot water. Very spacious and the bed is comfortable - we had to ask for a top sheet but that was willingly given. There is no glass in the windows, but wooden shutters to close - this makes the room very dark if everything is closed up - we feel safe leaving two of the large windows open all night and haven't found any problems with mosquitoes. This is surprising considering the amount of vegetaion and water around.
The rooms are not serviced on a daily basis but if you ask for the room to be cleaned they are only too happy to oblige.
A simple breakfast of eggs and toast, coffee/tea is provided in the reception area. This is also the place to find the free wifi and a small library of muti-national books.
The family that own and run Tanjung Inn are very friendly, courteous and helpful.
I would definitely recommend this lovely place - It looks by far the nicest of anywhere in town. Most of the other businesses appear to have tiny huts in rows shoulder to shoulder - there are exceptions of course, but few.

Room Tip: The aircon rooms are large with a big balcony looking out to the beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We loved this place and stayed several more nights just because of its environment and totally relaxing atmosphere. We spotted much more wildlife here than in Teman Negara. Previous reviewers reflect my opinion - lovely family who run it, super natural gardens, very short walk to the beach, basic chalets somewhat run down (threadbare towels). We had a problem with mossies first two nights after rain (but a coil sorted them out) and they didn't trouble us again here or in the village after that. There was talk of enlarging/updating this place but retaining its present delightful ambience.

The village (mainly one street) is very quiet with a handful of restaurants. The sea is lovely (beware of rip tides in certain conditions) but the beach nearer town is rather 'scrabby'.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Simple chalets with cold water & fan but no mosquito nets set in delightful gardens resplendent with lilypads & lotus ponds. Relax on your small balcony & admire the wildlife that are attracted to the well maintained gardens - monkeys, squirrels, water monitors, hornbills & kingfishers. The price includes a simple breakfast of eggs, toast & jam & coffee or tea. Free WiFi is available at the reception area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Poor value 200 RM per night. Nice gardens and next to the beach. Friendly staff.
But room was smelly and lacked many of the features you might expect at this price (refridgerator, drink making facilities or even glasses, adequate bed clothes, controllable air con, credit card payment).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

It's cheap, so don't expect anything. The cabins are basic but offer value for money. Breakfast is included but also very basic.

I come to this place a few times a year because it's so relaxing. There are two bars in Cherating within walking distance and there are plenty of restaurants too.

It's family owned and the service is very good, friendly staff and very flexible.

Again, it's very basic and next to the beach, expect cool nights and therefore aircon is not needed at all.

Tip:
1. Bring your own towels
2. Try to cancel your breakfast during check-in and ask for discount.
3. The 70RM cabins are sufficent for couples, but don't have aircon.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperGast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Lovely landscaping, the pond attached lots of wildlife. I can see horn bills flying evry morning.
The chalet looked a lil' tired but still well kept despite this resort is 20 yrs old.

Room Tip: Book in advanced. limited 21 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kafir63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#3 of 6 in Cherating
125 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
2.8 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royale Chulan Cherating
Royale Chulan Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
36 reviews
1.6 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 44 in Kuantan
444 reviews
14.9 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Inn

Address: 11 Jln Kuantan Kememan, Cherating 26080, Malaysia (Formerly Tanjung Resort Cherating)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Price Range: $26 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanjung Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Inn is a resort in Cherating (Pahang, MALAYSIA) that has been in operation for nearly 20 years. Formerly known as Villa de Fedella, there are currently 22 chalets available for rent. Tanjung Inn has been recommended by several renowned and highly reputable travel/tourism-related publications such as: The Lonely Planet (May 2013 edition) The Rough Guide; LE Routard (a French travel book); and Stephen Loose (a German travel book) All of the above state that Tanjung Inn is one of their top recommendations for accommodation in the Cherating area. Currently Tanjung Inn is divisible into three separate and distinct areas: Tanjung Inn The existing 3.2 acres plot in Kampung Budaya Cherating that currently comprises of 22 chalets. We are now in the process of upgrading the site by refurbishing some units, tearing down some old ones and building them up to a higher standard, in addition to supplementing the existing stock. Eventually Tanjung Inn will have a total of 30 chalets. Tanjung Inn (by the Beach) We have 5 acres of beach land connected to the present Tanjung Inn site that will be developed into another 30 or more units of beach chalets, but still under the umbrella of Tanjung Inn. Tanjung Inn (Lakeside) Connected to Tanjung Inn by the Beach will be another 4 acres of development for which a further 40 chalets are planned which will encircle an artificial lake. Tanjung Inn is set for further improvement and expansion in the near future, while maintaining the peace, tranquillity and closeness to nature that is at the core of our ethos. Watch this space or follow us on Facebook for updates on our progress! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tanjung Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Inn - Villa De Fedelia Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing