We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and cheerful”
Review of Payung Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherating
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Payung Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 11 Cherating B&B and Inns
asia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

50 a night is cheap and you get what you pay for. The owner / manager is really nice and helpful and they rent canoes and do river tours as the property backs onto the river... I think a good place if you are on a budget but if you want 70-100 range look elsewhere ... Little Bali bar is a cool spot just next door

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phuketexpat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    16
    1
    8
See reviews for
15
34
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at Payung Guesthouse in July, 2012. Nice bungalows, lovely staff. It is very basic. We stayed for 4 nights in a 4 persons bungalow with fan. The bungalow was spacious and nice. You could make tee and coffee and they had a chilling area with books an telly by the road. We also attended the river cruise and saw monkies and snakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natutia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in Family Room #9 wif 2 double beds, n its AWFUl - its run down n dirty. 1 of d worst budget chalets we've stayed in. Here's why:
- bed sheet was dusty wif dark patches
- floor was sandy like it has not been swept
- ceiling had cobwebs
- mosquito netting was missing fr d windows
- wall switch socket was faulty n we couldnt plug in 3-pin charger
- water scoop in bathroom was broken
- floor mats were dirty or torn
- cabinet door is off its hinges, n cabinet is old byond belief
- room ceiling is dirty n peeling

Room looked like it has not been maintained 4 ages. Cannot understand why dis guesthouse got such good ratings. DUN STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SPSiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights, in a double air con chalet with private bathroom with hot shower, small kitchen area and tv. We paid 80rm per night
The chalet although basic was really clean and had everything for a comfortable stay. We.Actually stayed two days more than we had planned .the whole resort was obviously well cared for and the chalets are in a nice garden setting by the river, about three minutes from the beach.we were surprised to find ourchalet had a small kitchen with sink kettle and table and stools, so we're able to make drinks and pot noodles for snacks. Little touches like mosquito coils lit for you on balcony, in the evening when you come back from dinner show great customer service.
Along with a lovely room, all the staff from the young lady who cleans the chalets, to Yahya who runs the guesthouse and travel agency ,to the other man who's name I forget-were all really friendly and helpful.and made our stay memorable.

We took a trip to see fireflys, which was great - like being in a christmas tree, and a morning river trip along the the mangroves, seeing otters snakes and lots birds and lizards .all booked at reasonable prices at payung guesthouse

Overall a really good place to stay, would happily have stayed longer if we had the time.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a chalet away from little bali bar next door, as you can sometim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Payung is located just next to the river and in "downtown" Cherating. It's opposite of all the good warungs and the nightlife happens next door. The beach is only a short walk away. The chalets are clean and have their own private bathroom. There is nothing like the atmosphere when you sit on your porch with the view of the garden! Super friendly owner! And they also provide you with information about the area and bus tickets. I would go back any time!

Room Tip: Chalet 3&4 look like little houses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bourne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

A place where u can just wind down,relax n hv fun!.n there are other activities too u can do like firefly watching (which i strongly recommend) , turtle watching n river cruise.placed in between a river and beach...u can never find the same experience here.wifi freak (like me)..no worries...they offer free wifi too.n if u want to watch a live band..its just beside the chalet..not to mention yahaya n fabian....gr8 staff with gr8 attitude!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosJgx1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

It's a lovely oasis in Cherating. It's real vale for money. It's clean, lovely quiet corner with wonderful garden with lovely cotteges and bungalows and a pond in the middle. The owner / manager is very caring and they do their best to make you happy. The beach infront is shallow in some time of the season but water is very clean and great for dipping in to the nice and cool water. There is a great sea food restaurant just beside it, it's also great value whoe money.

Room Tip: Take rooms close to the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RazDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherating
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#31 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
15.1 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
0.2 mi away
Tanjung Inn
Tanjung Inn
#2 of 11 in Cherating
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Payung Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Payung Guesthouse

Property: Payung Guesthouse
Address: Pahang Darul Makmur, Cherating 25600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Payung Guesthouse Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing