We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveler rating
667
330
87
23
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
667
330
87
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snack bar gyros suneo club evening entertainment the hotel manager tui rep entertainment team plenty of sunbeds great holiday greek night bar staff table tennis football pitch family room ice cream bottle of champagne toasties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Atlantica Thalassa from 31st August for 11 nights. We arrived late in the evening to a warm welcome from reception, and was given a little brown bag with a roll and piece of fruit.
We had room 228 which was on the top floor of block 2, with a pool view. (The steps up to the rooms could be tricky for people that are not very mobile)We had a problem with the A/c on the first night and also the only spare plug socket in the room ( the other socket had TV and fridge plugged in)was hanging off the wall, but once reported in the morning, they were both sorted with half an hour.
The food in the restaurant was always good, with a varied selection, whether it was Breakfast ( amazing pancakes)Lunch or Dinner. The staff work very hard, but always have time for a smile, and “Hello”
The snack bar is one of the best we have ever been too, amazing Gyros, and the Chef in there works extremely hard but is always cheerful “ Saying Hello my friend”
whenever he sees you.
The first few days we were there, the sun beds were a struggle to get, with the usual early morning towel brigade, but after that there wasn’t a problem at all. You can get clean pool towels everyday from the pool bar, which is a very nice feature.
The girls in the Pool Bar, Mirela in the day and Lily in the evening are hard working, but again always make time for a smile and little chat as they are serving you, and they soon remember what you like to drink as well, which is amazing as they serve so many.
The hotel manager is always about somewhere in the hotel, and makes time for all his guests, which is a nice touch.

Ollie the Tui Rep is a “ True Gem” (and Tui should be proud to have him) He is always about before his times, and is SO informative and wants to make your holiday as special as possible. Thanks Ollie. X

We took the local bus into Kos town on various occasions, both day and night. The cost is 2€ each (cheaper on the return of you buy the ticket from the little white hut) They were frequent and mostly on time!!!

The only negative I would add is the about the cats, (not the hotels fault,)but the people that feed them at the tables, which they then jump on.

Would we return to this hotel, YES definitely.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank holidaysLincolshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_thalassa, General Manager at SuneoClub Atlantica Thalassa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear olidaysLincolshire,

It is such amazing feeling we managed to keep you satisfied delivering you a wonderful holiday experience.

Atlantica Thalassa's team would like to thank you for your amazing and constructive review and rating.

We will definitely look forward to see you again in our hotel and we are sure that will be soon.

Thank you very much by all of us

Dimitrios

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled to the Atlantica Thalassa on September 11th 2019 for a week.

These are my views and may differ from other reviews.

Reception
Easy check in with just a simple form to fill in and payment of the overnight tax at €1.50 per room per night, which must be paid in cash.

The Hotel is a small/medium size with 138 rooms .

We had room 228 on the top floor with a pool and sea view. The room is one of the smallest on the site as its position is on an internal angle of the block but this wasn't an issue for us.

Room numbers 232/233 would be the ones i would request as they have huge balconies.

Comfortable beds (twins pushed together) and a lovely shower/bathroom.

Our room was cleaned every day except Thursday, towels being replaced at the same time.

Restaurant
A little limited due to the size of the hotel but there is still plenty of choice for even the fussiest of diners.
Nice sized salad bar, a steamed section, pasta, veg and grilled sections make up the lunch and dinner layout.
Lovely soups every evening and
I had the best syrup (treacle) sponge i have ever tasted.
Self service drinks, wine, beer, soft drinks.
Good selection of food for breakfast, cereals, fruit, eggs, bacon, beans, pastries and cold meats.
Tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Pool/Snack bar
Lovely gyros one day, tasty burgers the next. Toasted sandwiches, wraps or plain sandwiches made to order.
Salad bowls and plenty of fruit.
Self service ice cream.
The staff are excellent at clearing away used plates as soon as they see you have finished.

Pool bar
Great service during the day from Mirela and from 5pm till last orders Lily is the bartender.
This is where we spent our evenings, the lobby bar does have comfier seats but lacks the atmosphere of the pool bar.

Entertainment
Caitlin, Charlotte and Swedish do a great job from 10.30am with activities including, French boules, table tennis, aqua fitness, giant jenga, darts among others so get off your sunbeds and join in the fun.

Sunbeds
We never had an issue getting the same beds everyday.
We prefered the beds on the garden than those around the pool.
Didnt see any mad rush to reserve beds as at other hotels we have stayed at. Most people putting towels down then going for breakfast.
We were putting towls down at around 7.30 before breakfast and there were only a few beds 'reserved' infact there were still empty beds after 9.30
Top tip, if you use the beds on the garden there are toilets in the childrens playhouse near to the table tennis table .

Beach
The beach is quite frankly awful and if the hotel want to charge €3 for a sunbed the least they can do is tidy the area up a little, maybe raking the sand around beds every morning to make it more presentable.
Personally i wouldn't walk on the sand barefooted as i saw lots of broken glass and to be honest if David Attenborough saw the amount of plastic bottles washed up onto the shore it would probably finish him off.

Kos town is approx 40 min walk from the hotel, turn right at the end of the drive, then right at the Blue Lagoon hotel then just follow the road through lovely countryside to Kos or you can just get the bus.

The weather was very warm and sunny, a nice breeze during the day although it started to get a little chilly at night so would suggest a light cardigan for the ladies.
Friday the 13th was lovely until around midday when the wind got up, the sky clouded over and we had an almighty storm, the first rain in the area for 5 months.

All the staff were friendly and all worked extremely hard.

We would return again if the price was right and would like to thank everyone for a lovely week away.

We travelled to the Atlantica Thalassa on September 11th 2019 for a week.

Reception
Easy check in with just a simple form to fill in and payment of the overnight tax at €1.50 per room per night, which must be paid in cash.

The Hotel is a small/medium size with 138 rooms .

We had room 228 on the top floor with a pool and sea view. The room is one of the smallest on the site as it is an internal angle of the block but this wasn't an issue.
Room numbers 232/233 would be the ones i would request as they have huge balconies.

Comfortable beds (twins pushed together) and a lovely shower/bathroom.
Our room was cleaned every day except Thursday, towels being replaced at the same time.

Restaurant
A little limited due to the size of the hotel but there is plenty of choice for even the fussiest of diners.
Nice sized salad bar, a steamed section, pasta, veg and grilled sections make up the lunch and dinner layout.
Lovely soups every evening and
I had the best syrup (treacle) sponge i have ever tasted.
Self service drinks, wine, beer, soft drinks.
Good selection of food for breakfast, cereals, fruit, eggs, bacon, beans, pastries and cold meats.
Tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Pool/Snack bar
Lovely gyros one day, tasty burgers the next. Toasted sandwiches, wraps or plain sandwiches made to order.
Salad bowls and plenty of fruit.
Self service ice cream.
The staff are excellent at clearing away used plates as soon as they see you have finished.

Pool bar
Great service during the day from Mirela and from 5pm till last orders Lily is bartender.
This is where we spent our evenings, the lobby bar does have comfier seats but lacks the atmosphere of the pool bar.

Entertainment
Caitlin, Charlotte and Swedish do a great job from 10.30am with activities including, French boules, table tennis, aqua fitness, giant jenga, darts among others so get off your sunbeds and join in the fun.

Sunbeds
We never had an issue getting the same beds everyday.
We prefered the beds on the garden than those around the pool.
Didnt see any mad rush to reserve beds with towels as at other hotels, with most people putting towels down then going for breakfast.
We were putting towls down at around 7.30 before breakfast and there were only a few beds 'reserved' infact there were still empty beds after 9.30
Top tip, if you use the beds on the garden there are toilets in the childrens playhouse near to the table tennis table .

Beach
The beach is awful and if the hotel want to charge €3 for a sunbed the least they can do is tidy the area up a little, maybe raking the sand around beds every morning to make it more presentable.
Personally i wouldn't walk on the sand barefooted as i saw lots of broken glass and to be honest if David Attenborough saw the amount of plastic bottles washed up onto the shore it would finish him off.

Kos town is approx 40 min walk from the hotel, turn right at the end of the drive, then right at the Blue Lagoon hotel then just follow the road through lovely countryside to Kos or you can just get the bus.

The weather was very warm and sunny, a nice breeze during the day although it started to get a little chilly at night so would suggest a light cardigan for the ladies.

All the staff were friendly and all worked extremely hard.

We would return again if the price was right and would like to thank everyone for a lovely week away.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Badgerlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_thalassa, General Manager at SuneoClub Atlantica Thalassa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Badgerlad,

We are do happy, you had spent great time in our hotel. It is really fantastic.

Atlantica Thalassa's team would like to thank you for your excellent, detailed and constructive review and rating.

We will be definitely waiting for you until the next time and we are sure that will be.

Thank you very much

Dimitrios

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just returned from a two week stay.The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful the only I found wrong was that to lock the door at night you would have to do it in the dark or remember your torch on your phone as the door is not self locking.Only BBC world news for English TV .The Activity girls were really good and very friendly the food is average snack bar is great.Word of warning the sunbeds on the beach charge they are not included in the booking booked through Tui and looking at the description it seemed that the hotel was on the beach but it is across a busy main road.Ideal family hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hillman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_thalassa, General Manager at SuneoClub Atlantica Thalassa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear hillman1958,

We would like to thank you for your review, no matter if we think we may deserve something better as for the rating.

Atlantica Thalassa's team will be always ready to deliver you another wonderful and better stay and will be very glad to see you again.

Thank you very much

Dimitrios

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel.
We arrived at about midnight to a friendly,efficient welcome.
Our room was on 2nd floor of 2nd block. There wasn't an offer of help with our bags but this wasn't a problem for us but may be for others.
The room was a good size, over looking the pool. Aircon was free of charge which was a bonus.
Adequate storage space and a lovely bathroom.
Staff, on the whole, were friendly - less so in reception.
We found food to be good, very tasty with plenty of choice
The beach was a bit disappointing. Very desolate, no tavernas on this beach near the hotel and they charge €6 for 2 sunbeds which is a liberty.
The hotel is not conveniently located for local tavernas. Kos is a bus ride away and timetables are not reliable.
We hired a car - €100 for 3 days.
We ate most days, either for lunch or dinner and didn't get involved with the evening entertainment so cant comment.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_thalassa, General Manager at SuneoClub Atlantica Thalassa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sally N,

Atlantica Thalassa's team would like to thank you for your great rating and your detailed and informative review.

We are proud we managed to deliver you good times no matter of hotel's location.

We will be always glad to see you back again with us.

Thank you!!

Dimitrios

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

Fantastic holiday. Nice well kept, clean and friendly hotel in lovely grounds. Good choice of food in restaurant and snack bar choice good too. Mirella and Lily at the pool bar are really hardworking and are a credit to hotel. Suneo girls work hard organising activities for young and old and providing some of evening entertainment .

Oli our TUI rep really helpful and friendly and was nice to see him walking around and chatting to guests before his allocated "rep desk" times. Half day Kos highlights 32€ and full day Aegean cruise 50€ both worth the money.

Problem with syphon on toilet flush quickly sorted. Were given time technician would arrive and he did and job was done within 30 minutes.

Bus service into Kos Town good 2€ and if you buy return ticket at kiosk then 1.60€. Taxi around 9€. Walk into Lambi around 40 mins and longer to Kos Town.

Was good to see manager frequently round and about the hotel and dining there himself and always very pleasant.

Ample sun beds available even after usual towels on beds at crack of dawn. Pool towels available daily. Lifeguard alternated time between pool area and beach which is across the road (not really busy road).

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank ValG800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_thalassa, General Manager at SuneoClub Atlantica Thalassa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear ValG800,

Atlantica Thalassa's Team would like to thank you for your lovely and detailed review and rating.

We are very pleased, we managed to give you good moments and in your holiday experience in Kos.

We are wishing you would be still with us, but we are sure this going to happen again in the future.

Looking forward to see you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Dimitrios

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews