We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value for the Price and Beautiful Sea Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kos Aktis Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value for the Price and Beautiful Sea Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Art Hotel for two nights this week (August 2012). The hotel is right on the water - only a spacious deck and a tiny strip of rock separate it from the Aegean - and the views are spectacular, especially as you get up to the 2nd and 3rd floor. My room had a palm tree growing right in front of it, which only added to the tranquil view. It's slightly less tranquil at night with noise from the patio and the bar, as other posters have noted, so you can't sleep with your balcony door open to the crashing waves, sadly, but each room has a small private balcony so you can hear them all day long if you choose. I had a room on the 3rd floor a few doors to the right of the elevator and the hubbub below was low-level audible with the balcony door closed at night, but not too bad. If you are sensitive, ask for a room farther away from the elevators (and probably towards the port side of the hotel), as the soundproofing is better for the exterior doors than for the hallway doors. The hotel rooms are quite nice - spacious bathrooms and good showers, a/c, tv, etc., nicely designed and with a blue color scheme. All very clean and modern looking, with a ton of lighting options. The only drawback is the beds, which are not very comfortable (thin mattresses) and the pillows, which are atrocious (thin, hard, and lumpy all at the same time somehow). But for the price and the view it's a good find, and the private balconies feel like a nice peaceful retreat after the craziness that is Kos in August (or probably almost any other summer time).

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    119
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
183
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Akrotiri, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Visited with a group of friends last week and really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with all the facilities you would expect. Probably could do worth a little spruce up in places at the end of the season. If you are on the first floor over the terrace bar....there is noise but I didn't mind it...some people might though,if you like tranquility ask for higher room away from the bar area. Waking up to the view was terrific and also dinner on the terrace in the evening as the sun was going down was lovely.
The breakfast was good...the cooked bits on the buffet rather less so but good fruit,bread,pasties, yoghurt,cereals cold cuts,cheese and the kitchen would make something fresh to your requirements eg omelette or scrambled eggs if you asked. The food in the restaurant/bar was very good....lots of choice of salads,fish,meat(the steak was particularly good according to several in my party.)
The staff are the real stars of this hotel! The restaurant manager was efficient,friendly and highly competent. I arrived before the rest of my party and so took dinner on the first evening alone...he went out of his way to make me feel comfortable and that was the start of the excellent service we enjoyed throughout our week long stay. The lady who looked after us at breakfast was delightful and really did anticipate our needs before we voiced them! The ladies who cleaned the rooms were friendly and efficient and the staff on reception were all helpful and pleasant.
The position of the hotel in terms of of convenience to the amenities in Kos town was good however Kos town itself is very touristy and there was lots of touting to get people into bars and restaurants....which drives me bonkers! We were only really using the hotel as our base as we had a yacht in the marina which we used to sail and visit nearby islands..I wouldn't have wanted a week in Kos town otherwise definitely! The hotel did have very limited space on its sun deck and in order to secure a little area in which to relax before our sailing we had to stoop to the level of the 'early morning sun lounger bandits' and bag a few for ourselves otherwise we would never have had anywhere to sit......be warned if you intend to spend lots of time relaxing in this way...you will probably have to do this too!
When not eating dinner at the hotel we found the best restaurants were to be found if you turn left out of the hotel entrance towards the marina...no touting here!
All in all great little hotel and a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is in the perfect spot. Close enough to the hubbub of town including restaurants and shopping but also right on the beach. Our room was immaculate and the included breakfast buffet was delicious. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pythagorion, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was really impressed seeing such nice reviews and having the opportunity to visit he place with my partner, I was reall impressed. Impecable service, top kitchen and also amazing friendly welcoming personel! This is what I mean hospitality! Bravo and keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitris-samos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I had the most amazing stay at the Kos Aktis this June. The room I started in was lovely, but near the bar and a bit noisy. Even though they were quite full, the staff went out of their way to find me a room I preferred.

The rooms are clean, with an outstanding view, and very comfortable. I couldn't have asked for more. The pictures on the website are not photoshopped - that really is how this hotel looks in reality.

The front desk staff were, without exception, really lovely. Each and every one would greet me, ask me if there was anything I needed, and if there was, would not stop until they had helped me. The cleaning lady on my floor was so lovely, she greeted me with a smile and a "good morning" every day.

The breakfast was simple and very healthy, served with real (not instant) coffee!

The location is fantastic - near all the business of the main town without being right in it, but also right on the water. I was attending a conference at the Kipriotis resort, and it was an easy and fun 10 minute bike ride along the coast from the hotel every morning. That's also something the hotel helped me with - getting a bike at discount!

I feel very lucky to have found this hotel, and plan to come back many times in the years ahead.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KG1977_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the third time we've stayed at this hotel and it so lovely. The rooms are a great size, clean and modern with free Wi-fi for guests personally we found the bed to be uncomfortable but still thats the only downfall for us .
The breakfast in the hotels restaurant H2O is lovely great views very relaxing and serive is very friendly.

The hotels decking area with sunbeds is nice but we preferred to go to the cafe beach to the left its free sunbeds also and waiter service if you wanted drinks and food. think this place was called Aura the food is great here too.
The hotel's reception staff are very friendly and the hotel is located in a fantastic spot with a few minutes stroll into the town centre.

I would return again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee20sba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

A spectacular view, good breakfast, quiet (end of May), nice staff, clean rooms, great views, walking distance from the harbour and shopping. And, for a busy mom wiht three children at home, the hotel was perfect for a "housewife holliday"
My first choice when I return to Kos.

Room Tip: 3 floor = better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiLarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
1.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.8 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Platanista
Hotel Platanista
#1 of 21 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
3.7 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kos Aktis Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kos Aktis Art Hotel

Property: Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Address: 7 Leoforos Vasileos Georgiou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#12 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kos Aktis Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kos Aktis Art Hotel is a luxurious Art Hotel ideally situated in the most privileged, historical and commercial location on Kos Island. It distances 300m from the Mideaval Castle and the commercial port, 500m from the taxi station & 700m from the newly constructed Marina of Kos Island. Kos Aktis Art Hotel welcomes you with 36 luxuriously furnished rooms and 6 Junior Suites, all facing the Aegean Sea, a cozy bar - restaurant (H2O)offering Greek Breakfast* , a mini gym, a meeting room, an internet corner and a 24hour reception. All rooms have balconies facing the Aegean Sea, telephones, satellite TV, wireless internet connections, safety boxes, trouser presses, hair dryers, magnifying mirrors, mini bar and coffee /tea amenities. Room service is available from 8.00 A.M. To 23.00. Kos Aktis Art Hotel (and H2O Bar - Restaurant), remains open all year round and therefore has established itself as one of the most popular destinations in the city center, not to mention contributing to the city's cultural heritage. *Greek Breakfast: The Greek Breakfast is a program designed by the Hellenic Chamber of Hotels which has been in operation since 2010 and whose aim is to enrich the breakfast offered in Greek hotels with pure, fresh, unique Greek products and traditional local flavors from every region of Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kos Aktis Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kos Town Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing