We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2007

The family who run this hotel are fabulous very welcoming and it made our stay. We loved the pool area and the bar where it was ever so friendly and relaxed. The place is spotless and the bar food was ok if you wanted snacks, the BBQ food however was great I thought and George cooked a great peice of Lamb. There is a comedy act on a thursday and it was great because he included everyone and really made us laugh especially after a couple of drinks at the top bar. there is a quiz night on through the week too. They couldnt have been more helpful and I would recommend this place to anyone single travellers, couples, families, older people/ disabled too as it seems to be accessible.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank fifi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 907 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2007

We have just retuned from a 2 week holiday to 'The Alice Springs' with our 2 children aged 11 & 7. We have never felt so welcomed or experienced such genuinely friendly hosts as George Barbara Elias Maria Rita & of course Little Barbara.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was spotlessly cleaned every day with bed linen & towels changed daily. There was no smelly bin in the bathroom as the plumbing system allows you to flush the loo roll (something else we have never experienced in Greece before.)
The pool was a nice size with plenty of sunbeds & the pool area was immaculate. The pool bar served food from 8am til early evening which was delicious. There was a snooker table €2, air hockey €1 & 2 computers with internet access €4 for 1hour.
The BBQ night is not to be missed a truly unique event with scrumptious food & excellent entertainment. Quiz night & Killer Pool was held later in the evening so you could venture into Kos Town (apporox 15 minute stroll) or go to a local restaurant for a nice meal before returning for the quiz. Comedy night was hysterical although not recommended for young children due to some content & language.
Overall we had a fantastic time & would recommend The Alice Springs to everyone - we will definitely be making a return visit. Missing you already!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank therunningman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

very friendly family run,rooms nice and clean but very basic
would go again

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank elantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

The Hotel
This was our 2nd time here,and once again we had a great time.This time staying in a 2 bedroom apartment,plenty of space with a lovely balcony to sit out on-fantastic
There is a Swimming pool,plently of sun loungers,bar,internet availabilty ,pool table and large tv if you like your sport.
George Barbara and there family are truly lovely people nothing is ever too much trouble,so good when you are on your holidays.

The location
There are many places to eat close to Alice Springs or if you fancy going into Kos Town only 20mins away,there is even more choice,but the meals mainly offer the same wonderful greek Food.

The beach is only minutes away ,with a good choice of water sports
George has plenty of entertainment in the evening
Entertainment

The Barby is great fun-with wonderful food George even gave me some of the herbs he uses to put on his pork chops,for our barbys at home
Already used it and its a fantastic taste-Thanks George

The new comedy night is not to be missed- everyone is welcome even if your not staying there,very funny

We visited the aqua park and while it wasnt the biggest we had been too it had plenty of slides to keep you amused and it wasnt too busy either.its about 1/2 hr away in the car.

I dont think anyone could fault this hotel for there hospitality,they work so hard to please us all.

p.s Look out for Alice and her 2 new arrivals-that should keep you guessing!!!
have fun if you decide to go-i dont think you will be dissappointed

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank smileyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We had a fantastic time at George and Barbaras lovely hotel.Perfect location, You are made so welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble.We stayed in a 2 bed apartment overlooking the bar,This was a great spot.
Everyone at hotel was really friendly and I can see why so many people return to stay year after year.
It might only be rated as 2star but the service is certainly 5star.
We would definitely return and join in the fun.
Dont miss the BBQ its great entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Plymouthtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

George, Barbara, Elias, Maria, Baby Barbara and Rita make you feel that you are one of their own from the moment you meet them. The apartment we had was basic but well kept and we had clean linens and towels every day. The pool is great and our daughter practically lived there any time we were at the hotel. They organised car hire for us and the legendary barbie is a must. I would definately recommend the Alice Springs for a relaxed and friendly break. So much so that we had visitors from the adjacent hotel who would rather have been where we were!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Dawnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

I travelled to Kos with my boyfriend (we are both 20 yrs old) and stayed at the hotel alice springs. It is the most welcoming hotel i have ever been to, as on the first morning we were introduced to the family who live and work at the hotel and were asked about ourselves. They always greet you and nothing is too much trouble for them. The owner is George, his wife Barbara and George's sister Rita plus numerous other members of the family! We stayed in a self catering appartment, which was spotless and cleaned every day and you get fresh towels (one day we also found a vase of flowers which had been picked from the garden). The appartment was spacious with a large bathroom which had two showers. The bedroom was also in a seperate room in the appartment which was nice. The pool is medium sized (but definately big enough) with plenty of free sunbeds (beware if George walks past when you are sunbathing because he tends to squirt water over you!) The bar is a reasonable size with all the drinks in fridges and some beers on tap. They also have a massive sky tv with all the sport on. The bbq on the monday night is a must and a great laugh! There is also a lamb night is also brilliant on a thursday. The appartment is off the main busy road so there is no trouble with sleeping, and literally a 2 min walk to the beach which was great! There are loads of restaurants and bars in the area but Kos town is a good 20 min walk so wear flat shoes (although you could always get a taxi). Do not hesitate to book up at the alice springs it is lovely! Brilliant hotel, run by brilliant people in a great location. Definately 5 out of 5 all round!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank charlStoke_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
772 reviews
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
4.8 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $25 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing