We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Grecko/Aussie hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We chose this hotel simply by reading the revues on trip advisor. Believe us this place really is as good as the revues would have you believe. Our holiday could not have been bettered , so much so that we are already booked for a two week stay in May next year. A huge "Thank You" to everyone at the Alice Springs and we look forward to seeing you again in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 909 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the 2 weeks ending 12 June.
There is not a bad thing to say about our stay. The hotel staff are very friendly and are always willing to the extra mile. Barbara and Elias were the perfect hosts. Always had a smile on their face and always welcomed a chat.
The rooms were as expected. However be prepared for a very hard mattress. Very unforgiving.
We were staying in one of the apartments and even so the rooms and linen were cleaned and changed on a daily basis and the standards deserve more than the current ratings that they have been given.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and made to feel welcome as part of the family. Even down to "killer"the dog. The only thing he killed was time.
Would thoroughly recommend a stay here as it is close to the beach (2 mins) and a walk to kos town (15 mins)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beswayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having never been before, I chose this Hotel based on good value and excellent TA reviews. I emailed the Hotel with a room request a week or so before we flew out, and received an unexpected, pleasant surprise phone call from the owner, George, a few days before our arrival!, I had read on TA that he has a healthy sense of humour, so we shared a joke or two about my room choice before he told me he was calling me from Brisbane in Australia!! At the time I did think he was pulling my leg but went along with it. George did assure me he would do all he could to accommodate my request. On arrival and checking in with, and being introduced to Barbara and Elias, we were indeed given what we asked for. And it also transpired that George was indeed in Brisbane, on business, yet he had taken the time and trouble to phone me in the UK. Now that is service!! I did get the chance to speak to him on Skype also one day when he was chatting to Barbara. This customer service approach and ethos is clearly the family and staff 'mantra', as it continued for us, and others throughout our two week stay. Being one man down as it were, you might think that the remaining 'team' might show a weakness. Not a bit of it. The family and staff from cleaners, cook, grounds man (watch out for their supermarket laundry sweep round the pool!) night watchman, to Elias, Maria and Barbara all work hard and well together as a team, clearly enjoy their work, give helpful advice on recommendations on tavernas, and ensure all guests are happy and accommodated. The atmosphere on complex, day and night, is wonderful, brilliant varied music selection played.(Many thanks Elias for your very kind and generous gift, by the way!...our secret!) As I don't eat meat but enjoy fish, I have a tendency to go 'off menu' and create my own adaptations of lunch menu, Barbara and Ellie were always more than happy to oblige and if no one has ever tried Aussie Omelette with Tuna instead of Ham , I can highly recommend it!! I can also recommend Elias's, and now my, favourite drink of Amaretto with fresh ice and diet lemon!! On the subject of Elias, watch out for his favourite funny party trick round the pool. Its amazing the hilarity that a simple leaf can create!. If you've been, you'll know! I'm convinced that young husband and father is really a cheeky 10 year old boy in disguise! We had such fun on our holiday, met some lovely people, some first timers, who would return, some who have been returning for years, decades even, and will come back again ourselves. George and Barbara work hard, are clearly a very devoted couple who have committed, strong family and business values, are dedicated to running a tight ship and are determined to succeed at all costs. They have the right formula and balance, should be very proud of themselves and each other and deserve every success they make.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mishapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We booked this holiday after asking Thomson for somewhere in Greece that's quiet, close to the beach and not too expensive.

Not knowing anything about the area we looked at the brilliant reviews of the hotel, but weren't expecting it to be so perfect for us. It was busy but quiet at the same time! Every room was occupied but you could go down to the pool or garden at any time of the day and no one had reserved a sun bed, and there was always plenty free. The bar area was also fairly busy but not rowdy, and the place seemed to attract nice guests looking for a nice peaceful holiday.

The location was great, a stones throw from a lovely beach, and we even had a sea view from our massive balcony. There's a nice taverna across the road called Efkalipty, a few more round the corner and some nice beach bars which served good and also reasonably priced food - we found the best restaurant in the area to be Filarakia, about a mile away on the beach. On an excursion to the beautiful mountain village of zia we passed through Tigaki, Marmari and a couple of other resorts, and the hotels looked okay but in the middle of nowhere and not really In walking or cycling distance to anything any good, so We found Lambi very good being far enough away from Kos town to be quiet, but close enough if you want more shops and nightlife at just a 15 min walk away. There was a good and cheap supermarket called Konstantinos at the end of the street.

There were two hard working cleaners that cleaned the rooms every day. We found all of the staff lovely and friendly, we didn't meet George but Barbara, Elias and Maria were great, and the cook Ella was particularly nice and attentive. Everything was clean, the pool was lovely and well kept, and the facilities were very good and food nice.

Kos was a fantastic holiday, something for everyone, and at Alice Springs it's peaceful but close to the beautiful Kos town and harbour. You can hire a bike for about 3€ a day or a car for 25, although the crazy Greek driving put us off, it's still very cheap!

Overall we had a brilliant time and will hopefully be going back to Alice Springs next year, maybe for an extra week because one wasn't enough!

Shaun and Natasha from Daventry

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank St190212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the amazing Alice Springs. Had a majestic time food was brilliant especially the lamb and steak nights. Barbara and Elias and all staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. Would recommend the Alice Springs to everyone was such a relaxing holiday. Cant wait to return again next year to meet up once again with friends we made whilst there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at Alice springs the hotel was nicely situated 5 minutes walk to the beach, supermarkets and a nice stroll into Kos Town. The layout of the hotel was nice the apartment was very clean and a nice size. The food was good along with all other amenities. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you Barbara, Elias, your family and staff for a brilliant stay. Would recommend this place to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillndash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed a week at the Alice Springs and it is a beautiful hotel - pool, gardens, rooms, all lovely and clean and well kept. It's only a short walk to the beach where we spent a lot of our days - the newest beach bars were just opening up while we were there and they were very good - twenty minutes walk will get you right into Kos Town which was also perfect. We had the platter for two people when we arrived on a late flight as the kitchen and bar were still open which was very handy - we hadn't expected that. The changing room for last day was more than adequate - it was very nice indeed. Would highly recommend both hotel and resort and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
4.8 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
668 reviews
5 mi away
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
Dimitra Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,563 reviews
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $25 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing