We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Run Hotel that was Great for the Family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family Run Hotel that was Great for the Family!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My family and I stayed at Alice Springs in July and had a spectacular time! The owner George and his family made us feel right at home and provided us with great advise and anecdotes about the area.

The hotel grounds are immaculate and comprised with a lovely pool, restaurant, bar and games. George's pool was the highlight for my two younger daughters. The rooms were also very comfortable, large and very clean.

My only regret is that we did not stay longer, but this gives me a reason to go to Alice Springs with my family in the future. Truly a great stay!

Room Tip: While at Alice Springs, you must have their Moussaka! Also wash it down with a Fosters beer fresh o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TCulotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    83
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
298
367
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked a week with Thomson at the Alice Springs Hotel and Apartments in late October to catch the late Autumn sun. As usual we booked "self catering" allowing us to prepare breakfasts and lunches as and when it suited us. On our arrival, however, it became apparent that we had been booked "room only" by Thomson and there were no "self catering" apartments available. Unfortunately and obviously my fault for not checking the paperwork, the Thomson booking form sent to me did indeed detail "room only". It was only on further investigation that I discovered another couple staying at the Alice Springs Hotel with Thomson had also booked "self catering" and been given "room only". In addition,on the bus transfer to the airport at the end of the week, we spoke to another couple with an identical problem. I find it difficult to believe that three couples made the same mistake! I wrote to Thomson on on 18th October asking them to investigate these three identical issues but after some 9 weeks I still await a reply.

However, the Alice Springs owners went out of their way to ensure that we and the other couple had a really good holiday.

The hotel is run by - as the name might suggest - two Greek/Australian families providing a truly excellent and well run facility, with a restaurant and bar providing a friendly service of well-cooked food and reasonably priced drinks.The various "food-themed" nights are great fun and well worth booking. There is a pleasant swimming pool with plenty of sun beds and a variety of sitting-out areas. Nothing is too much trouble, the facilities and rooms are clean and tidy and it is obvious that regular maintenance and some upgrading is carried out during the closed season.

The hotel's location is some 200m from a long sandy beach, there are several restaurants almost adjacent to the hotel and others within a 10 minute walk and the hotel is an easy 15-20 minute walk from Kos town centre.

The Thomson representative calls at the hotel on a regular basis which is a most useful service, as it provides details of the various events and tourist opportunities available on Kos. However, with only a little homework it became obvious that the Thomson prices were quite a bit higher than those charged in the town itself - as an example, the "3 island boat trip" when booked downtown, was nearly 20 euros cheaper than the price quoted by Thomson - so do your homework before booking with the rep!

Altogether a very pleasant week in the sun made especially enjoyable through the efforts of the hotel owners and their staff, so many thanks to George, Barbara, Elias and all the staff .

To Thomson - I still await a response to my letter regarding the accommodation issue and you should probably have a look at your pricing of the various holiday events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just about to go home after a lovely Autumn break in the Alice Springs Hotel. Room clean and hospitality excellent! Good location near to Beach and walking distance to Kos town. Thank you George, Barbara and Elias

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank PennyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

George,Barbara and Elias run the friendliest Hotel we have ever stayed in.
The Lamb and BBQ night are fun and the food is excellent.
They all spend time, happy to give recommendations and directions to make your stay with them
the best experience possible.
We would recommend a stay here to anyone, and will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WS46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent two weeks here last year and it was probably one of the best value for money holidays I have had. Clean comfortable accomodation and the hosts, George and Barbara were brilliant. The food they served was excellent and the themed nights ( I don,t normally partake in these events) were great. We are going back in June next year and we cannot wait.

The hotel is well situated near to the beach in Lambi, but not to near. George has got loads of local contacts and can give you leanty of advice on where to go and what to do. He runs the place with a very relaxed approach and this just adds to the total holiday experience. The pool area is great and is very relaxing (until George does his daily walkabout)! You have been warned.

If you enjoy the frredom of self catering then this is definately the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

After reading TripAdvisor reviews for Kos, we booked the Alice Springs hotel. We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children aged 10, 10 and 8- and this hotel was perfect for us. From the moment we arrived, we knew we had booked the right place. We had two interconnecting rooms which were simply decorated but very clean and comfortable. George, Barbara and their son Ilias (and family) were fantastic hosts and made us feel incredibly welcome. They are all wonderful to talk to and we enjoyed spending time with them. They did everything they could to make our stay memorable. We loved the pool and the food was great. Our kids enjoyed the pool table too and were very spoilt by all the lovely attention they received from our hosts. We were lucky enough to enjoy the BBQ night and we would definitely recommend that! I can honestly say that they treated us like family and we can't thank them enough for their hospitality. We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oz_familyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Didnt have long to research the hotel as we only booked the day before. We relied on what was said by other travellers and we were not let down. Would definitely recommend the Alice Springs and have already done so to my travel agent. Barbara and George - great people who have a son Elias to be proud of. They all made us feel welcome and part of the family. Well worth the visit. It is a short 15 minute walk to Kos Town which also gives it a peaceful location which is a couple of minutes from the sea.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveG1653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.3 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#6 of 52 in Kos Town
673 reviews
2.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 21 in Psalidi
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Property: Alice Springs Hotel
Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing