We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best greek studio accommodation we've had!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice Springs Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“best greek studio accommodation we've had!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

Just returned from Kos and we can only confirm what the others have written and add that the studio option was great...the usual fridge and hotplate..PLUS electric kettle, toaster, microwave, hairdryer, (all working well) Above and beyond what we expected. We were concerned about how the weather might be the first two weeks in October..but "no worries", wall to wall sun from the beginning to the last day, when we had a shower which quickly passed, apparently the first rain since March.
George and the whole family are lovely, cheery, kind hosts and willing to help out if you have any problems...he even took my sunglasses to be mended.
He is a mine of information (check out the taverna opposite the fire station, lovely food) and a great joker!
All in all a great fortnight, hopefully we'll be back.

  • Liked — close to beach,tavernas, laid back, but easy access to Kos Town.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank skilancashire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    83
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
298
367
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

We had a late break to Kos and stayed at the Alice Springs,this hotel is run by George and Barbara who are from Australia they made our stay so comfortable and relaxed that we felt like we had a 2week break instead of just the one.i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone as there is something there for everyone old and young.we will certainly go back and for longer next time.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank davenportsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Just got back yeaterday from a week at the Alice Springs Hotel. Great apartments, probably the best self catering accomodation I've stayed in for the money. The family that own the place are lovely and very friendly, making you feel really welcome. Room was cleaned daily and nice and spacious with a good sized balcony. One of the best things about the apartments are their location - the beach is at the end of the road and Kos town is about 20 minute walk away (or 5euros in a taxi). The beach is shingle but very nice with good views of turkey and the harbour of kos town. There are loads of fish too so quite good for snorkelling - we even saw an octopus!! There's a great beach side restaurant called the Blue Phoenix, I recommend their kleftico, and if you eat there or have a drink you can use their sunbeds on the beach for free. Was a little worried about going in october, but the weather was beautiful all week, and you could always get a sunbed by the pool or on the beach, so a good time to go if you want a nice relaxing holiday. Also recommend the 3 island boat trip (you can check the boats at the harbour out and then decide which one to go on) and the Castle of the knights in kos town which was only 3euro to get in and has some nice views of the harbour. I prefer to go to different places on holiday, but if i were to go to Kos again i'd definately stay at the Alice Springs.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h0lidaysrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

Just got back from another trip to Alice springs. Although we arrived late last saturday we were still greeted with a very warm welcome. From the minute you get off the coach everyone makes you feel at home. Infact half way through the week i already started planning when i can go back for my third time
The hotel is spotlessly clean and George, Barbara Rita and Elias cant do enough to help, and they take the time out to talk to all of there guests.
There are two nights at the hotel which cannot be missed, firstly there is the Barbeque night on a monday, the foods beautiful and there is some great entertainment, and it puts the week off to a great start. Then at the end of the week you have Kleftiko night, which a nice relaxing meal by the pool, and its rounds the week up nicely and trust me you wont go hungry.
The pool bar serves some lovely snacks and Rita makes the best milkshakes!
All in All its a fantastic place to stay, in a great location just a few moments from the beach and a short walk into the nearest town and harbour.
I would definatley recomend people going there, i will certainly be going back!!

Natalie Andrews

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BlueSpirit0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

I don't know where to start!
This is our second time at Alice Springs this year and we have already started planning our returns for next year!

When we arrived late, it was late at night, and there was George, Barbara, Rita and Elias standing there waiting to greet us. Big smiles and hugs - it was as if we had never left!

We made sure that we got our bookings for the Barbeque Night on Monday. I won't spoil the surprises of the night, but it is a definate MUST DO!! The food is fantastic - the Greek Dancing is amazing - and the rest of the night is in a league of its own!
We also booked up for the Kleftiko night where you have a dinner for two next to the beautifully-lit pool. We couldn't even finish our lamb! There was so much to eat!!!

In short, we had another fantastic time. My parents also celebrated their anniversary along with Mum's birthday there and they were made a big fuss of which I am grateful for from the bottom of my heart!

George and family are warm and caring, and love to interact with all of their guests to make the holiday that more special!

Thank you all for another brilliant week....and the only bad thing I have to say about the holiday was having to come back home!

Adam Parnell

  • Liked — Spacious, Clean, Balcony
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank AdaM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

As a family of 2 adults & 2 teenage kids we stayed at the Alice Springs Hotel in the first 2 weeks of September on a room only basis. George, Barbara, Elias, Maria and Rita all looked after us very well…their friendliness each day made our holiday a memorable one. Even little baby Barbara always had a smile for us. Our 2 rooms were by the pool area – they were basic but very comfortable, towels were changed daily; rooms cleaned daily and the linen was changed twice a week during our stay. Also, we can’t remember anywhere we visited in Greece where we could flush the loo paper down the toilet-here we could!!! For a 2 star hotel we received ‘5 star’ service topped with a great atmosphere from the family and staff of the hotel. In the fortnight we were on Kos we attended the BBQ twice, The meat (the best pork chop I ever had) and salads were very tasty cooked to perfection by George and his brother Michael..talk about authentic!!! It reminded us of our previous visit to Australia where we enjoyed those BBQ’s alot. The comedian on Thursday nights was worth attending, Kleftiko nights are not to be missed either. We had breakfast @ the hotel each day during our stay and some lunches also eaten by the pool bar…we can’t complain about food & drink prices at the pool bar in comparison to other places in the area…we found they were to be very reasonable. George on numerous occasions gave our kids free games for air hockey and pool. We hired bikes on George’s advice…don’t believe him when he tells you that Tigaki is only 10 mins away…it took us an hour up and back, but enjoyed the ride all the same!!! Only jokin’ George, it was well worth it. While we were there we met a couple from Surrey who have been going back to this hotel for the past 24 years, 3 times a year (also with their children and grandchildren)…that says it all…looks like we’ll be back too for the next 24 years!!!!

  • Liked — family owned and operated...never fails
  • Disliked — not enough brochure pictures on Thomsons website
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Hebe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2007

We stayed here for a week in September 07. George is a nice enough bloke, but only because you are paying his over inflated bar prices. The BBQ, reviews say not to be missed. We got a fat ridden, grizzly pork chop and some potato salad, and I thought the Aussies were good at BBQ's!? The games are good and it was a good night, but we needed Gyros after George's lame food. The rooms are basic but fair play, cleaned immaculately each day. Ilyas is probably the nicest Greek you could ever meet, but he was the only good thing about the place. It’s a 20 min walk to the centre, which isn't that far really. The pool is cold, but in that weather it’s needed. I wouldn't stay there again, but we went on the Kalypso boat trip from Kos Town, €15 including lunch for a 3 island tour and it’s was worth double the money. Just don't be fooled by George and his friendliness because as nice as they all are, it’s just a show for your €€.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Prices of everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank ManchesterEurotourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.6 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.4 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#4 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
11.6 mi away
Nissia Kamares Hotel Apartments
2.7 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Property: Alice Springs Hotel
Address: 100 Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Hotel Class:2 star — Alice Springs Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing