We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicon
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
Reviewed August 20, 2009

stayed for a week . owners and staff very friendly . prices average . found kos prices quite high due to the euro . went to harbour and booked own trips it was half the price of thomsons . walked into town a few times it took about 20 mins . its seems most customers have been to the apartments before . .only bad points were our patio which was below ground level it was like sitting and eating in a pit and the noisy beds and fridge which kept you awake

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gasman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    64
    16
    15
    8
See reviews for
79
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2009

This is a nice complex - smaller than any we had been to in recent years (only 30 odd apartments). There was a total mix of residents from those with young children, those with teenagers; young couples, older couples and young groups. There were a number of residents who had been many times to the complex.

The pool/bar area is nice with enough loungers and umberellas. There are also a number of inflatables which previous residents have left which are fun to use. The main pool is 1m deep at the shallow end and 2.5m deep at the deep end, so a nice combination. The kids pool is 0.6m deep. Both pools were lovely and clean. The play park area is right beside the pool on the grassed area (some of the loungers are on this area too).

We stayed in a studio which was compact but big enough for our purposes. The people we met who were in the 1 bedroom apartments seemed happy with the size of their accommodation also. The decor is a bit worn and my major niggle was the lack of black out cover on either the door into the apartment and the kitchen window (there were shutters on the balcony doors) - thus the apartment was very light from quite early on (around 0700 hrs) which is not what you want when you are on holiday! We ended up draping a beach towel over the door but this only helped a bit as the light still filtered through the light curtain on the kitchen window. There is a two ring stove and a kettle in the room.

You don't have to pay for the tv remote - you have to leave a €10 refundable deposit for it and €10 for the safe key. You do have to pay for the a/c which was €8/day for a studio and €10/day for 1 bedroom apartments which does work out to be a bit pricey if you are there for 2 weeks. And you are only allocated 2 toilet rolls per week so take a couple of spare ones with you!

You can hire bikes to take you into town or you can walk or get a bus. We walked most nights with our daughter and then would get a cab back (€6). It takes about 20 mins and is okay - it is along the main road, but you are on a separate walking/biking path (but you do have to look out for the cyclists!).

The Nicon organises its own Greek night on Tuesday nights for €10 per adult. We can heartily recommend this - plenty of good, tasty food and the 2 Greek dancers were fun. A good value evening. Otherwise the food at the bar is mainly of your snack variety. We went to the Garden BBQ restaurant on our first eveing at the complex as it is just next door, but we weren't very impressed with it. Our favourite restaurant was one of the Greek ones on the main road (turn right and it was the third one along with orange windows and a lovely decked area).

We had no problem with the management, but I know a few residents did (they got shouted at for leaving the a/c on when they weren't in the room - the electricity in the room is turned on an off by putting the key fob into a holder on the wall but they managed to bypass this somehow), so beware!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

recently returned from nicon after reading rave reviews. only been self catering a couple of times but these are the worse as far as self catering facilities are concerned. the one and a half rings belong to an antequated oven top with greasy plug and taped up electric cable. there is no toaster but you can hire one for 10 euros a week. you can also pay 8/10 euros a night for air conditioning which you definately need. the majority of guests content to leave doors/windows open to let air through room rather than pay for air conditioning. unfortunately because of the current economic climate the supermarket was exceptionally expensive eg a sliced loaf 3 euros.imported bottled beer 3 times the price of british prices so wisest to drink local beers/spirits. average price of meal in restaurant was about 15/17 euros a head. nicon supplied best breakfast/snacks/drinks at reasonable cost. i would suggest you frequent local restaurants such as blue ocean all along seafront to the right of apartments. we had a few really expensive meals/snacks in kos town that were so disappointing that you may as well eat locally as all lovely meals .the entertainment at nicon is just a time filler although the greek night once a week is very good. the twosingle sons behind the bar , both in their late thirties , seem to be the main attraction with the young girls. for us there was an ex thomson rep named nudge who is employed there who works extremeley hard and manages to hold entertainment with very little resources. kos is a beautiful town which like everywhere has been hit by economic climate and is very expensive. the nicon apartments are for those who travel light as lack of drawer space, do not mind old worn out acommodation, just like to sit around a pool and drink and talk to owners and sons all day/and sunbath i would advise you to book a 1 bedroom apartment rather than a studio as far superior size wise and worth the extra expense. there is a fridge in the rooms. ours was all cracked and old but it did the trick to hold a few drinks etc. if you like a family run complex are not fussed about acommodation, have no intention of cooking and have bundles of money for restaurants than this is the place for you ! for us it held no magic at all. i wish it did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laviniabexley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Me and my partner stayed here and enjoyed everymoment of it!!

The rooms are a little basic but how much time do you stay in them!!

The pool area was great, always clean and plenty of sunbeds, pool bar served food until wuite late and always had the latest sport on! (It was the Football World Cup and Wimbledon when we were there!)

The location is set back from the main road giving it a peacful location and its very eqqasy to get to the main road where the local bus runs regualarly to kos town. The history is the area, mainly Kos Town was amazing and mostly free!! You have to be adventerous and wander as it isn't sign posted. We hired car for 2 days which was worth every penny. You can get from one end of the island to the other in about 30 mins. There is an amazing castle just outside Kardamena, which again is free and offers the best views ever!!!

Would go back anyday!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2008

2 Adults and 2 Kids (2 and 4 years old)

A truly genuine hotel. Staff are pleasant and helpful, particularly the bar staff around the pool area (Elli, Nikos, Kosta, cheeky Tollis) - they absolutely LOVE kids. The grounds are immaculately kept, watered every night and swept every morning.

Facilities are basic, rooms are very simple, including the bathroom, but again, all is spotlessly clean. The swimming pool is well kept, not very big but fine, around 20m long. A 2m kids splash pool was perfect for our little one. There is a small playground which is a little tired but OK.

Food is a little limited at the pool bar, the usual brit food of omelette, cheese toasties etc, but a few greek salads and skewered kebabs etc. make it better. Prices for food and beer is not unexpectedly high, about 3 Euros for a 500ml Greek beer and 6 Euros for a meal. Three local supermarkets are within 2-5 minutes walk away.

Local restaurants are nothing short of superb. We stayed near Rhodes town last year and are well aware of bad Greek food. A 5 to 10 munite walk reaches the main road where turning right brings you to a strip of 5 restaurants on the front and 5 or so on the inland side of the road, however the latter are more sports-bar stylee (not our stylee). We ate at all the sea front restaurants and all were excellent, particularly the Omerta and Mavromatis. All very reasonable prices. All welcomed the kids.

I have only two ingredients for a good place to stay, they are Happy Staff and Clean Accommodation - Great on both counts. This is the first holiday I can remember that I truly relaxed for the entire two weeks.

  • Liked — Cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Lower ground floor apartment balcony view blocked.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gav_the_Plumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAST HAM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

My husband and I have been staying at the Nicon for the past 14 years, our son was very young when we first went, he's now 21 and still loves going to Kos for holidays,the owners Tina & Spiros always greet us with kindness, it's fabulous. The rooms are clean and are kept clean, the surrounding gardens are just beautiful. the walk into Kos town is great, walking through the new marina and along the beach on a warm evening is great. of late we have been lucky enough to go twice a year in May at the start of the season and again in August and we love it. Big 5* hotels are fab but you are just a room number, at the Nicon everyone knows your name. We have recommended the Nicon to many people, there is not one person we know who hasn't returned !! that says it all really doesn't it ! Try it, just once, my guess is if you like small and friendly, you'll love the Nicon

  • Liked — clean friendly and fun
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank koslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

The Nicon apartments are one of the best I've stayed in and I've been on holiday on many of the greek islands. They are spotlessly clean as is everything round the pool area. the cleaning ladies start at the crack of dawn sweeping, mopping and washing all the floor area and beds around the pool. The rooms are cleaned nearly every day and the atmosphere is very relaxing.

The boys on the bar at night are brilliant as are the ladies during the day. The menu caters for people who want english snacks with pizza and greek salad thrown in for those of us who don't.

There are quite a few places to eat nearby (on the main road) but many on the way to Kos town which is 5 minutes in a taxi or bus ride . Loads of good places to eat in Kos town...mammas kitchen is one of the best. If you want to try greek food (but not the tourist stuff) look where the greeks eat. They won't eat anywhere that's not got good greek food and that's not reasonable e.g. mammas kitchen.

if you want a nightlife other than the main bars and tavernas you could go to bar street which is open until you've had enough.

We're going back at the end of august for 2 weeks and can't wait. This must be our 4th/5th time!!!!!

people who moan about the size of rooms/cooking rings etc need to get a life....you're on holiday and the rooms are for sleeping in. although saying that, our one bedroom apartment was great.....so much room we could have had a party!!!

We met some fantastic people the first time we went to the Nicon....Nev, Linda & Tommy from Epsom, Dan, Michelle & Connor from thornborough. We went on holiday to the Nicon again with them a couple of years ago and had the best holiday ever. When we go to the Nicon in august, they'll be there again.

I wonder who'll win the pop quiz this time and if everyone gets up for the Greek dancing....probably!!!

Definately recommended!!

  • Liked — Everything. You're on holiday so chill!
  • Disliked — A little slippy round the pool so you just have to watch your step
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lutchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 21 in Psalidi
231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 21 in Psalidi
801 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
607 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Property: Nicon
Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing