We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"No sleeping by the pooool"”
Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicon
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cant really add to any of the other reviews apart from this place is fantastic, friendly, helpful and great all round value, wouldnt hesitate to go back - remember wakey wakey - arthur is a star and the rest of the gang are like your own family!!!

There is a bike hire place next door for 4 euros per day and its a great way to get around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toonmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have read the views and comments below and find that some people can be just too picky. This is the 2nd time i have visited nicon and once again have had a fantastic holiday to the point where i didnt want to leave.
The staff are brilliant and always so friendly and helpful. Phillis (the woman who works in the morning) makes the best tzanziki you can buy! I had it for lunch almost every day. Then costa who works in reception is always willing to help if you have any problems all you have to do is ask! Nico who works the bar at night knows all the best places to eat and visit and the places to go to get your moneys worth! The two boys artur and romeo are always happy to entertain and work so hard! They are such friendly boys and once again always willing to help!
The cleaners are also fantastic and clean your room every day except sundays! The apartments are what you pay for and for the length of time you stay in them they are brilliant value!

The greek night is something you shoukd definitely try when visiting the nicon. The price is great for the food and greek dancing as for the comment about the two girls belly dancing 'inappropriatly'. I can beg to differ they were doing belly dancing and quite frankly they were brilliant! The dancers for the greek night certainly know how to get you up and dancing and enjoying yourselves.
I recommend getting the bus in to kos town for only 1 euro 10 cents.
Another reccommendation is the blue ocean restraunt which is down the road from nicon and is accompanied by friendly owners. The lady who owns it hands out homemade cake after your meal and it tastes brilliant!
I hope this has helped anyone wishing to visit the nicon. I will be booking for next years holiday straight away! Cant wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koskosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have just returned from one of the most memorable and relaxing holidays ever with a friend.
The place, the people, the apartment owners, Spiros, Tina, Costas, Niko, Arthur, Romeo - All majorly exceeded our expectations in every way. The Word "Chill" has another meaning on this beautiful island. There is no rush, no fuss, no problem for anybody to help you or do anything for you. We arrived early hours and had a really informal no pressure welcome party by the Thomson rep - Liam. The pool was so clean and comfortable, plenty of shade, hammock, comfy sunbeds with mattresses and pillows, apartments were cleaned daily and nothing was too much trouble for anyone. We went to loads of great places to eat in Kos Town, Elia in the old part of the town is brilliant, Matromantis around the corner from the apartments do the best moussaka on the table with tablecloth and the sea lit up next to you, carafe of house wine, the sunsetting and the prices were so reasonable, our first night cost us 29euros between us - excellent value. Greek Night is a must at the apartments for 10 euros you get half carafe of wine and a great barbeque - dancing you can get involved with if you want or watch and enjoy. We walked in to town along the beach to the marina but you can hire bikes really cheaply from the place next door and theres safe cycle paths everywhere, Paradise Beach at the bottom of the road, for 6 euros in total, you get beds umbrella, showers, loos, and an ice tea or ice coffee thrown in, lying amongst a beach flower garden of hundreds of sunflowers - It truly was paradise, Even though its a bit shevelly in parts the owners put down sand bags so you can walk safely into the sea, theres a top breeze which is very welcoming - I have done some travelling and normally go to Ibiza as my destination of choice, This place takes some beating, I didn't expect to do as much as we did - Its up to you to find your own part of Kos that will make you want to go back time and time again. I am looking at booking my holiday back there again already, I only landed back in Manc this morning - Don't hesitate : )

Room Tip: The room we had was on the front - I think they all have good sized balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided last minute again to go back to Kos (something we don't often do, that is visit the same place two years running). The Nicon came up again with one room remaining so we booked it on the Thompson website saving on what we paid Directline last year. The room was a two bedroom apartment with huge terrace that could be accessed from both rooms and a view over it's own little quiet garden. We were in room 14 well away from the bar area which can get a bit lively. There is plenty of hot water a half bath, shower curtain, The kitchen diner had just the two ring hob and fridge but we eat out anyway. Beautiful gardens and all well kept. Clean pool and lots of sunbeds,mountain backdrop. The bar is great value cocktails still 3.50 euros and the food is quite good too. The staff are superb and Arthur is such a character, Romeo is friendly and helpful and Nicos is still a gold mine of information. I love the atmosphere of this place and the way it feels so warm and inviting. Everything is clean and well looked after. Close to a good supermarket and a short walk to the beach. Glad we went back and we got a warm welcome. Greek night is great value at 10 euros each. You get a big sausage, a pork souvaliki, piece of chicken, help yourself to salad, bread, and traditional Greek side dishes, plus half a carafe of the wine.of your choice and water melon pieces. Greek dancing was perhaps not as good as last years performance and we did feel a bit uncomfortable about the two small girls in belly dancing costumes doing an adult style dance with what may have been their Mother. Perhaps we were being over cautious and protective having a daughter of our own.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seshenviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Nicon Apartments agree with other reviewers very nice clean apartment complex. Nice rooms food and drinks inexpensive and the people who work there are very friendly. Complex is about 30 to 40 minutes stroll from Kos town with its bars and restaurants. Nice location beach and supermarket close by. Most people we met were returning customers and I can understand why. Overall a good experience we may well return. Quick tip we took a small desk fan and managed well without the air con which will cost 10 euro for a 1 bed apartment and 8 euro for a studio per day. luckily we paid to keep our room until 1800 hrs for 20 euro as our flight home was delayed for 4 hrs. Stayed in room 30 which was lovely and quiet although the complex was full always plenty of beds around the pool no matter what time you get there.

Room Tip: Room 30 1 bed apartment quiet and cool large patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Overall, Nicon was great, the room was nice, cleaned 6 days a week to an excellent standard, everyone was lovely and helpful. There is a really good supermarket 30 seconds away where my partner and I did all of our shopping, and it's a 2km walk in to Kos town, although there are some great restaurants along the walk in (which is straight along the main road, left as you arrive at the junction).

What annoyed my partner and I the most was the entertainment each evening. We are not party people, and like to stay in after dinner and read, or watch a film. The music and voices you can hear from the inevitably open windows and doors are fine, but when it gets to midnight and it's all still going on, it grows tiresome. Especially since it happened every night we were there, and didn't finish until around 0100-0130 in the morning.

The bar food was okay, not the best food but it was cheaper than eating out for lunch, and served the purpose (the tzatziki was actually pretty good). We never tried the cocktails from the bar unfortunately, but the deal they had on while we were there seemed great, basically 2 for 1, whereas everywhere else we'd had cocktails charged about 6 - 7 euros a pop.

Room Tip: The safe is pretty small, don't expect to fit a laptop in it. Hide that somewhere else, in the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Yes, I completely agree with the majority of reviews about the friendly staff and excellent maid service. Low rise blocks in spacious, well kept grounds. Plenty of space around the pool, and we could get loungers no matter what time we arrived (Mid June but I think the place was full) Well stocked supermarket nearby, pool bar was reasonable and the food was good. So that's the good bit. Kitchen was basic but adequate. 2 hob rings, no oven. One saucepan, one frying pan, no sieve or colander. Location is only average - the nearest beach is a narrow and dusty shingle beach, and it's 30 mins walk to the harbour, although this is a pleasant walk with plenty of nice places on the way. Be aware the Thomson map location is wrong.
Can't rate it more highly because of the poor sleep quality, though. Our room (43) was right next door to the bar. In fact, our bed headboard was a few inches away from the serving area, meaning we could hear fridge doors being opened and shut, bottles thrown into recycling etc. as well as general music and chatter noise. We weren't that early to bed but caught the end of the quiz one night and could answer the questions from bed! And then we could hear the restocking in the morning.
The children's beds (one bedroom apartment sleeping 4) were an L shaped bench with thin mattresses - about the thickness of a sunlounger pad - on plywood. Not comfortable. Although the patio doors had shutters, the kitchen window and front door had no way of blocking daylight so their room was very light from dawn. I imagine this would have been even more of a problem when they were younger getting them to sleep in such a sun filled room. Overall, I'd love to visit Kos again, but the Nicon wasn't ideal for us.

Room Tip: Room 43 is right next door to the bar and therefore noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank PembrokeshireBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
2.1 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nefeli Hotel
Nefeli Hotel
#24 of 48 in Kos Town
275 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Elite Apartments
Elite Apartments
#9 of 15 in Kos Town
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#27 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing