We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time even better...”
Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicon
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our second visit to the Nicon (July 2012) and even though I knew it would be good it exceded all our expectations. We are a family of four - two adults and two children (15 and 12) and had a one bedroom apartment (number 28). Basic room but everything you need. We got the aircon for the second week as it was getting really hot at night. Excellent patio area and probably the best shower we have ever had in Greece (in terms of water pressure and hot water lasting). Room was spotless and cleaned every day.

The Pool area is also extremely clean and tidy with plenty of sunbeds available.

What makes the Nicon though is the staff. You just cant fault any of them - Nikos, Costa, Arthur and Spiros...they cannot do enough for you. Always friendly, pleasant and polite. Costa looks after you in the day - food, ice creams, drinks etc and then Nikos and Arthur (and Toni) take over in the evening. The drinks are extremely cheap and we loved the Greek Night (went both weeks!) and the quiz nights (champions).

Kos Town is only a 20 minute walk away (5 mins on the bus) and is bursting with bars, restaurants and tavernas. My advice is to follow Nikos recommendations - we did and found some real gems we probably would never have stumbled upon. Kos Town is great but the old town in particular is lovely.

Having slightly older kids we did the Paradise Beach trip (great for watersports) and the Water Park...however next year I would probably just hire a car and go under our own steam.

Once again a great holiday. Kos is beautiful and Kos Town is buzzing but once again top billing goes to the Nicon itself and the wonderful staff. Thank you guys. Loved it.

Again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mildred_Pierce_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

This holiday was the best ! Nicon apartments was outstanding , I would recomend this to everyone.
The poeple who worked their were amazing and very friendly. We felt welcomed ,the moment we arrived. I would personally like to thank Costos, nickos and Arthur and also the women who cleaned our rooms out. we really appreciated this. I hope People choose to stay at Nickon when their on holiday because they will never regret it. The only thing I regret is leaving. But hopefully I will come back.
I and my aunties loved every momnet at Nickon apartments.Aswell as being in beautiful greece.
This holiday was an amazing experience. And the Greek dancing was Brilliant. The beautiful culture and tradition .
I would love to come back for another holiday in the future.
Thank you very much nickon 's staff for your hospitality and we apprecciated it. Everything was first class. We hope your business is successful in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nazia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from Nicon Apartments and really enjoyed our stay there. We were made to feel welcomed and the general ambiance of the place was far more family friendly than some of the bigger hotels you may stay at. It is situated a distance from Kos Town but this is a pleasant walk. We only did it once as it was a little far for our 4 year old to manage. We did hire a car though for a couple of days and this was arranged through Spyros the owner and was really reasonable about 30 euros a day. The car was dropped off at the apartments and collected so no worries there. We had plenty to do and it was definitely one of the best times we have had.

The place was very clean, no sign of any bugs (well maybe an ant or two) and the cleaners came in daily. They were all friendly and I got the impression nothing was too much. My sons birthday fell on the Greek night which I would really recommend - loads of fun - and Spyros ordered a cake for him (at our request) which was brought out after the BBQ with everyone singing happy birthday.

The apartments are small and a little dated, but to be fair we expected this from reading the reviews and looking at the photos on the review sites. If you are looking for a base to use for your holiday I don't think you can fault it - if you are looking for somewhere to spend your holiday indoors look elsewhere.

The pool area is lovely and there were lots of similar minded people there with kids to make this a really enjoyable time. We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pippleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We read approximately 30 reviews before booking to go to the Nicon, and it really is as good as most reviews suggest. We arrived at 1 o'clock in the morning following the flight from Robin Hood in Doncaster. There was no-one on reception, but we were met with our keys and shown to our rooms and helped with the luggage (thanks Arthur). We were told that if we needed anything, the bar was open, so we went down for a bottle of water. We stayed until 3 drinking water and Mataxa (not mixed obviously). A special mention for Nicos who runs the bar at night, a genuinely friendly guy. But having said that, everyone was friendly, the other guests, all the bar staff, even the cleaning staff stopped to ask how our holiday was going.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for seven nights and it was such an enjoyable stay. Warm, friendly genuine staff, great value and good simple, clean rooms.

I can't praise the staff and owners enough for the welcoming and friendly atmosphere which is obvious from the moment you arrive until you sadly have to leave.

The bar area is great with TV's, a free pool table and darts. The drinks are also great value too.

If you're looking for a budget holiday I can't recommend anywhere more highly than this lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andyrob89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had never been to Kos and needed a break so saw this at a bargain price while searching Directline Holidays. Only downside was the flight times. We arrived at 1.30 am Greek time and the owner had kept the bar open near the pool. We went down for a bottle of water and a few people were sitting around and it was so friendly we forgot how tired we were and stayed up till 3.30 am chatting. As a rule it is not something we normally do. It is family run with very friendly and obliging staff. Buildings two story, rooms clean and comfortable, set in nice gardens with a mountain backdrop. The food at the poolside bar is good, varied and very reasonably priced as are the drinks, cocktails 3.50 euros. The pool is small but clean and well maintained with a little kids pool and a playground, lots of comfortable sunbeds and brollies (free). The have quiz night, Greek night and karaoke night but it is not noisy at all. Small supermarket just down the road, beach ten minute walk and the lovely historical Kos town a twenty minute walk and along the way there are bars and tavernas. You can take a bus which stopped outside the apartments and takes ten minutes (they are frequent). The Greek night was good too. Nicon works at night and has a great deal of local knowledge, speaks perfect English and loves everybod. Down the harbour you can choose from a variety of boat trips (cheaper than the holiday companies). There is also a sort of road train service which does a city tour and will take you to the ruins of the aesclepion healing centre. It is much nicer than going by bus. All in all we have travelled a lot over the last 32 years and this was a great experience. Yes the apartments are basic but we spent most of our time outdoors relaxing or exploring. Also lots of bicycles you can hire and cycle lanes all through Kos so it is safe (average around 3 euros a day). Everyone seems to use them young and old. Weather superb sunny every day with a slight balmy breeze.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seshenviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Basic clean apartment. The owner was a bit grumpy. But we met some great people, H&P, JMagz, Mankini Vince and family. We had a great time, the two sons were good guys especially Nicon the one that works in the evening. Highlights, Karaoke(bit short though) quiz night(champions) and of course the Greek night. One of the reviews said it took them over an hour to walk into town ?? Did they walk backwards ??? 20 mins end of, nice stroll or 7 Euros in a taxi. The bars in the town were great depending on what you were after. We ate out every day and had some great food. Check out the water melon drink at the Tarzen bar ! Lol I would recommend the Nicon apartments to anyone, few small issues but life's to short to moan. Lee Rogan and the boys

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leerogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#17 of 19 in Psalidi
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#4 of 19 in Psalidi
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing