We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as last time.”
Review of Bahamas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahamas Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just as good as last time.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks at Bahamas from 4th to 18th September. This was our 2nd time to Bahamas and this time had "4 hangers on" Claire and Alan and Janet and Alan. Weather was spot on averaging 85f each day never seen a mozzie all 14 days. At the Bahamas you always get value for money, clean and spacious rooms, very good cleaning ladies, excellent pool area and pool with good choice of meals for lunch. Probaly best bar in town with Billy and Costas in attendance.The hotel is in a really good position for Kos town which is one of the prettiest and interesting towns in Greek Islands. We all think that Thomsons should look after The Bahamas and ensure that they are available to us in the UK for years to come.
Would go back tomorrow.
Best wishes to all the family. Steve,Fay,Claire,Alan Janet & Alan.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve1elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    60
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
39
383
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews about this hotel we decided to book into the Bahamas for this years visit to Kos.After a long flight we arrived late met one of the owners, had a drink and went to our room which was clean and tidy. Next morning we over slept by a few minutes and missed breakfast, we asked for a cup of coffee and we where charged 5 Euros, a small thing like a complementary coffee on our first morning would have been very much appreciated.
A very poor thing we thought was the breakfast, it never changed
from the day we got there to our leaving, VERY watered down fruit juice, ham, cheese, bread
toast, and the same two cereals every day was a bit too much, a small change like boiled or scrambled eggs would have made a pleasant change,a lot of people started going into town for a cooked breakfast and we joined them a couple of times.
We spent a couple of days around the pool, and I must say that the snacks were very good, we had a couple of bottles of the local beer which was very tasty, but when we came inside to the bar we where refused bottled beer Costas saying they only serve draught beer, what a load of rubbish, after some debate Costas gave in reluctantly and brought us two bottles from the pool side bar this was a minor but unpleasant experience.
We never say anyone cleaning the pool and there was a lot of dead fly's floating about on the surface of the water, on the last few day's I noticed a lot of debris was lying on the pool floor this was still there when we left.
A couple of days before our holiday ended, as we had an evening flight, we asked if we could have a shower as we where going out for the day to see friends.This didn't seem to go down to well as we didn't wish to pay 25Euros just for a shower Costas said he would sort it out and come back at 17-15.When the time for our shower we asked for the shower room keys(every hotel has a shower room for departing guests), they claimed to know nothing about our request. They gave us a key for an upstairs room 216 and said use that.Well what a shambles, it was obviously a room some guests had just left and it was in a right mess dirty towels on the floor,dirty bedding lying around, empty bottles and used fruit juce cartons littering the place, we deceided not to have a shower got changed and left.
Our honest opinion of this hotel was poor, as we have visited Kos since 1989, I think if you where prepared to spend lots of money at the bar you where made most welcome but if like us and use the hotel as a base and only spend a limited amount of time and money in the hotel your welcome is rather luke warm.
We shall be going back to Kos again next year, but I'm afraid that the Bahamas Hotel will not be on our list of places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want a simple, clean chilled out, friendly hotel, then this is the place for you. We went with my parents and some friends. My parents had been to the Bahamas before and were more than happy to return. The rooms are very clean and airy and have a decent sized bathroom. Billy, Costos and the rest of the family make you so welcome and nothing is too much for them and the maids are lovely too. The location of the hotel is great, a 5 minute walk from the centre of Kos Town makes it ideal to get away from the hustle and the bustle. This is our first time but definitely won't be our last. Many thanks to all at the Bahamas for a great two weeks

Room Tip: If you can get a room either over the pool or round the side these rooms are great. We were over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent a great, relaxing week at the Bahamas. The location is superb, a 10-15 minute walk to the town, harbour and beach. A simple but adequate breakfast was included or you could have a full English cooked at the poolside (for around 6 euros) or wander to the many other bars and restaurants close by. The pool was peaceful (no children allowed) and there were plenty of sunbeds so no need to get there early. The brothers Billy and Costas were welcoming and friendly and greeted us by name from the first day. They were always polite and enjoyed a chat. Their mum Sula cooked the ever popular meals at the poolside kitchen.
The whole place was spotlessly clean and although the rooms were basic they were spacious enough and each one had a balcony. The fridge came in handy to keep your water or snacks cool. The bar was always busy later in the evening and you could watch every football match possible if you wanted and sit inside or out.
Overall for a 2 star hotel it was fantastic and was better than many 3 star that we have stayed in.
Would definitely recommend it and will be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goonerjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Bahamas Hotel, we will be returning again next year.
The family make you so welcome, a big thank you to Costas, Billy, Sula and George.
We must also say a big thanks to the staff Billy 2 the bar man,and the cleaning ladies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyeth4346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We've just had two weeks here. It's a simple hotel on a rather scruffy. littered street off one of the roads which lead to the harbour and old part of Kos Town. It's surrounded by overgrown land and half finished buildings. However the house across the road is very attractive. There is a small reception area which leads to a bar. This doubles as the breakfast room. There is also an outside section to the bar which shows football on Sky Sports. Our bedroom was clean and simple with all we needed. The aircon was easy to operate and effective, costing 90 euros for two weeks. Well worthwhile. Shower room was small, but good, and NOT a wet room. Always had hot water. There is a good pool are with sunbeds readily available. Mattresses cost 1 euro per day. There is a pool bar serving drinks , and snacks. We also attended the BBQ night, costing 14 euros each, which included entertainment. One plus was that you were served, rather than having to queue. Breakfast is a modest affair with two cereals, water melon, bread, jam, cheese , ham, yoghurt and honey, although not all on the same day. The fruit juice was thin and tasteless, and we could buy good juice at the local supermarket very cheaply. Which is what we did. Our last four days were spoilt by the old owner(manager?) who accused me of damaging a toilet. I didn't, told him so, but he wouldn't let go, and became more aggressive. As well as being pretty insignificant, it's probably not a good idea to talk to a paying customer as he spoke to me. I told our rep, and also complained to one of his sons. In fairness both sons sent me a written apology two days later with a bottle of wine which I refused. Damage done. This hotel seems to attract a good number of returning customers. My wife and I won't be amongst them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our 5th visit to the Bahamas. The family once again made us so welcome. Thanks to Costas, Billy, Sula, George and the new staff including the very sweet cleaning/breakfast ladies and Billy 2 – the barman. We usually visit the Bahamas with friends but this year we were on our own (but not for long!) – all the guests were so friendly and welcomed us with open arms. Once again a great holiday with lots of laughs in the bar and around the pool.Brilliant base for fab.Kos Town(see previous reviews).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobjean269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
1.1 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#7 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#6 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.4 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahamas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahamas Hotel

Property: Bahamas Hotel
Address: Pamfylon, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#5 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bahamas Hotel Kos Town
Bahamas Kos Town
Bahamas Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing