We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute treasure”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americana Hotel
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An absolute treasure”
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Found the Americana by chance, our luck must have been in. Chris the owner is the perfect hostess who made us feel welcome from our first contact (Lizzie her very friendly little dog was the very first to give us a warm welcome). The hotel is small and was completely renovated last year to a very high standard. It's the first time we have every had a kingsize bed in Greece! Bedrooms are comfortable, made more so by the provision of free air conditioning, there is also a tv in each room, bathrooms you only dream about in England let alone Greece (I'm still envious of the jet spray shower). Clean towels were provided everyday by Chris's extremely pleasant helper, bedding was changed every other day. Rhia cooks very good English breakfasts (all included in the price), there is also a good continental choice available with unlimited tea or coffee. The hotel is stituated in a quiet mostly residential area but has good restaurants close by (try the family run Hiridos Sp?) but only a stroll away from the sea front and busy town. All in all a wonderful hidden gem and a credit to Chris and her staff. High recommended. Teresa & Stuart from Shropshire, England.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broseleyites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
67
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for a week and throughly enjoyed our stay. Chris the owner was a great host and really made all her guests feel welcome. The rooms were standard and did the job. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivsta29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Excellent hotel and owner! Chris makes you feel at home in this gem of a hotel. I love how she sits outside on the veranda with her frappe and her guests, returning from a fun evening out, continue their evening on the veranda with her until after midnight! One couple even brought back a doggie bag for her pooch, Lizzie. Everyone LOVES Lizzie! Fantastic staff! Can't say enough about this hotel! You are definitely treated like a valued guest and not just another tourist! Thanks Chris and we look forward to another visit soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2009

The Hotel Americana is the freindliest Hotel ever and the owner Chris and her right hand girl Rhia(sp) are the best. The Hotel has been refurbished since we went last( this iwas our 4th visit) and it has been done to the highest standard. The rooms are comfortable and very clean and would die for a bathroom and shower like theirs. the breakfasts are wonderful, thanks to Rhia. you can be as energitic or as relaxed as you want to be. The Hotel is sitated well for all the attractions \\\\\\\kos has to offer, with some excelent tavaernas nearby. Just don't let Chris order you a takeaway, you'll burst

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We came upon Hotel Americana by chance thanks to Trip Advisor. We had to vacate out hotel in Kos town as we had decided to stay on for extra days and they were booked out. Chris (and Lizzy the dog) are great - amazing value, very clean and in excellent condition, has a LIFT(!), split system AC and plenty of car parking (a must to see Kos island and no parking spaces in town) and a home away from home. Chris is very helpful with suggestions and directions etc. Not far to walk into town and plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Would be great if you have kids in tow. We can highly recommend Hotel Americana - we were there only last week and still haven't come down to earth since returning to Australia!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly4619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Saw the great reviews on tripadviser so booked this hotel in KOS. Cannot speak highly enough. Rooms fantastic. Recently refurbished. Power shower great.
Breakfast cooked to order. English Sausage and Bacon whatever you want. Nothing too much trouble.
Owner Chrissie is a delight.She has a liitle dog called Lizzie who decided to follow us to a restaurant one night. After that doggy bags were a must.
Never been to a hotel like it for personal service by some lovely people.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayd for 7 nights in this hotel and it is a greate Hotel.
We still missing Chris and Lizzie.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.2 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#24 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#26 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#99 of 218 in Kos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#139 of 218 in Kos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperides Apartments Kos
Esperides Apartments Kos
#7 of 30 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thomas Hotel
Thomas Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 14 Karaiskaki Georgiou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Kos Town
Americana Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing