We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th visit to this superb little hotel”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americana Hotel
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“4th visit to this superb little hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Gets better everytime we go. Relaxing week made extra special by the lovely owner Chris and her little dog Lizzie. Ria cooks a great breakfast to order if that is what you want but the continental offering is equally as good. Chris is now baking cakes for the hotel guests to sample.........talk about personal service.
Small 2* hotel with similar pricing should be 5* rated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    26
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
67
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ferrara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The owner of this small hotel is Mrs.Chris, a lovely person who helped us in many cases; she knows a lot of people in town and in the island and this is a very helpful thing. We had very pleasant talking and chatting with Chris (and with her funny dog Lizzy...) and that made our time there agreable. We did appreciate the family athmosphere. We also liked the garden in front, and the breeze always full of oxygen and sea scent. The sea front is very near by, and the side walk along the gulf is wonderful with its large open view. Also the assistant Raya, she is a nice person. In short we liked our staying very much.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

I am unbelievably satisfied by my choice: very spacious & clean room, great view (the room is in front of a big tree park which is almost next to the sea) from our room (second floor), tasty breakfast with big variety of fresh products & above all the atmosphere was friendly & cosy. Needless to say that the charge was nothing compared to what to hotel was giving us. The location is perfect since it is in the town next to all of its sighseeings & nightlife.

Room Tip: Second floor, sea view-front part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
1,063 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Chris is a wonderful person and makes you feel completely at ease. The bedrooms are lovely with a great bathroom. Breakfast is plentiful and Ria who serves it is wonderful. I would definitely like to go back,

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Located in a quiet area on the edge of Kos town, but only 10/15 minute walk to town centre.
Warm welcome from Chris the owner, and Lizzie the dog. Very quick check in procedure.
Nice room, very clean and kept that way during our stay.
Good buffet Breakfast both in terms of quality and selection. Can eat Breakfast either outside or inside.
Clean bed linen every two days. Slight traffic noise from outside, but closing shutters reduces this greatly.
Slight problem with supply of hot water in mornings, seems to be intermittent problem. Water in evening very hot.
Another good point near to very good Restaurant “Hirodion” see separate review.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were looking for a cheap place to sleep in Kos for 1 nights. The room was ok, clean. This hotel is held by a american woman. You can notice she imported several things from the US (doors, shower, toilets) are all american standards. She was nice a helpfull. We stay there one night because we weher on our island hoping tour.
You have to walk like 10 minutes to reach Kos-downtown, which is ok.
The Island Kos was not so interesting for us so we didn't stay longer there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had a little trouble finding the hotel once we got off the bus, but that was because we were pointed in the wrong direction by a few different people. Once we found it we were greeted by a smiling host, Chris. She was very accomodating to us and gave us our choice of rooms. Guess this is a perk if you travel off-season. The hotel was nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast each morning was a treat and she gave us more than enough delicious food to get us through most of the day. The yogurt and honey was my favorite. She told us a lot about the culture of Greece and pointed us in the right direction whenever we asked. It was a wonderful and relaxing holiday weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Kos.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinak43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#94 of 218 in Kos
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#26 of 48 in Kos Town
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#5 of 48 in Kos Town
411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Esperides Apartments Kos
Esperides Apartments Kos
#7 of 33 in Kos Town
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Property: Americana Hotel
Address: 14 Karaiskaki Georgiou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Kos Town
Americana Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing