We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific hotel where it feels like being at home.”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Americana Hotel
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Chris is a wonderful person and makes you feel completely at ease. The bedrooms are lovely with a great bathroom. Breakfast is plentiful and Ria who serves it is wonderful. I would definitely like to go back,

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2011

Located in a quiet area on the edge of Kos town, but only 10/15 minute walk to town centre.
Warm welcome from Chris the owner, and Lizzie the dog. Very quick check in procedure.
Nice room, very clean and kept that way during our stay.
Good buffet Breakfast both in terms of quality and selection. Can eat Breakfast either outside or inside.
Clean bed linen every two days. Slight traffic noise from outside, but closing shutters reduces this greatly.
Slight problem with supply of hot water in mornings, seems to be intermittent problem. Water in evening very hot.
Another good point near to very good Restaurant “Hirodion” see separate review.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were looking for a cheap place to sleep in Kos for 1 nights. The room was ok, clean. This hotel is held by a american woman. You can notice she imported several things from the US (doors, shower, toilets) are all american standards. She was nice a helpfull. We stay there one night because we weher on our island hoping tour.
You have to walk like 10 minutes to reach Kos-downtown, which is ok.
The Island Kos was not so interesting for us so we didn't stay longer there.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chager77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We had a little trouble finding the hotel once we got off the bus, but that was because we were pointed in the wrong direction by a few different people. Once we found it we were greeted by a smiling host, Chris. She was very accomodating to us and gave us our choice of rooms. Guess this is a perk if you travel off-season. The hotel was nicely decorated and very clean. Breakfast each morning was a treat and she gave us more than enough delicious food to get us through most of the day. The yogurt and honey was my favorite. She told us a lot about the culture of Greece and pointed us in the right direction whenever we asked. It was a wonderful and relaxing holiday weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Kos.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christinak43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Chris took care of us and our 2 young kids perfectly....from scaring the monsters away in our daughter's room to advising us on travel tips and assisting in scheduling a rental car for us on a rainy day. It was a perfect stay for us...the room was wonderful. Our daughter talked about "Lizzie"...her new best dog friend all the way home!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchConnection65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Having checked the recent reviews and seeing a negative opinion we felt that we should have our say. We are looking forward to our sixth visit to this hotel and over the years we have seen many changes (all for the better). Others have said much about the hotel itself so we would like to say a bit about Chris the owner. She is always very welcoming and willing to go the extra mile for her guests like providing breakfast for those who have getting up in the morning, medical help for mozzy bites, sharing pizzas and even buying & freezing our favourite Greek sausages for us to bring home. The previous reviewers must have been very unlucky to have had a bad experience. A stay here is as near perfect as you could hope for, if you are visiting Kos give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikncor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

My husband and I had the most unpleasant experience at the Americana Hotel with the owner Chris.
Based on the Trip Advisor reviews, I emailed to ask about availability a few days before our scheduled arrival. I was told there was only a twin room and I can book directly using their web site. Since I didn't end up booking until a few days later, I check online to see if they had availability and the website still showed availability for a double room with 2 twin beds, so I booked it and then jumped on the ferry from Santorini to Kos. We got to Kos in the evening and decided to walk 8-10 blocks from the port. When we got to the hotel, I greeted the woman at the reception and told her we had a reservation. And immediately she shot back with a "no you don't". We were told she had declined our reservation. There was no sign of empathy, no hint of understanding or a desire to help another person, just simple "it wasn't my fault" appraoch and a great deal of attitude. She told us we should have telephoned. When we explained to her that we didn't want to use our US cell phone service, this time she scolded us with the following line. "Why do you Americans always make it so hard. You Americans always make everything very hard. My brother lives in the US as well and that's what I always tell him, too." That was too much! She had completely lost it. Not only was she willing to help us, she had decided she's going to insult a whole nation. So all I wanted was to get out of there and never to return again. At this point, she could see that she crossed a certain line and offered to call a place around the corner which she did and that was probably the only "nice" thing she did for us.
Maybe under different conditions our experience with Chris would have been different, but they weren't and I think folks should know so hopefully they don't run into her under the wrong conditions, or just not run into her at all.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
3  Thank WildTurkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
2.0 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.1 mi away
Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Hotel Yiorgos
Hotel Yiorgos
#28 of 48 in Kos Town
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#26 of 37 in Kos Town
2,800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
Leonidas Hotel & Studios
#32 of 48 in Kos Town
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elite Apartments
Elite Apartments
#9 of 15 in Kos Town
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 14 Karaiskaki Georgiou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $59 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americana Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel Kos Town
Americana Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing