We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not five star”
Review of Blue Lagoon Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Resort
durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not five star”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited this hotel as a party of 8 with a 1 & 2 year old 20th October for a week. The weather was fantastic which was just as we'll as even though the hotel is massive there is little for young children to do.
There are two nice small pools with small play areas but if the weather had been poor there was no indoor facility like a soft play area to occupy younger children.
The hotel itself is clean and well presented with the rooms being average but clean.
My main gripe was the food and drink.
Firstly the food breakfast was always Luke warm at best with the evening meals all buffet style suffering the same fate. Only the main restaurant and Greek restaurant were open during our stay and a lot of the hotel had closed down.
Block 9000 was empty but the pool area was open and we spent most of our holiday in this part of the hotel and had it to ourselves the drawback being having to walk to the main hotel or adult pool area to get a drink but it was a small price to pay for the peace and quiet.
The food as mentioned apart from being barely warm was to say the least average but edible.
The drinks were also poor one night I drank 4 cocktails 3 beers and two glasses of wine and hardly felt the least bit drunk.
One barman we spoke to said that the drinks they were serving were cheap and what he would serve in nightclubs as free shots to get customers in.
The beer was also cheap and nasty.
This hotel will be hell in the main season as there are about six hundred rooms and although the main pool area is vast the bar area and restaurant areas are not that big with stories of people queuing for about an hour in July and august.
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere with a half hour walk to Kos town and apart from a small shop and petrol station there is nothing else in the area and I mean nothing else.
The beach across the road is probably the worst beach if you can call it that I have ever seen
All in all a typically all inclusive 3 star at best with average rooms food and non alcoholic alcohol drinks. Looks good at first but soon shows its true colours.
It was summed up by one of the barstaff who said that dispute complaints the hotel is still receiving guests on a large scale and the managements view is that why change things when they are still getting the bookings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARLHOPPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    700
    342
    118
    59
See reviews for
1,409
630
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in the Blue Lagoon. The staff were very friendly and cheerful.

We stayed in block 1000, which is the closest to the reception and main restaurant. The room was very clean and bright. It had a TV with sky News and local channels, tea and coffee making facilities and there was a fridge containing two bottles of water. The bath was only half length, but as I had a shower over the bath, I was happy. The room was serviced to a high standard.

The main restaurant had an enormous selection of interesting food, they even had a section for those who wanted bland food. The buffet was constantly being replenished. We tried the Greek restaurant which was excellent but mainly ate in the main restaurant as it has such a great variety of interesting and excellent dishes. The staff were very attentive to clear away used plates and to replenish our wine glasses.

The gardens were magnifient and well maintained by a friendly and cheerful staff. As the brochure will tell you there is a huge pool plus an adult only pool and a couple of pools for kids. I also found another pool near block 9000. This block is the furthest from reception and restaurant but I walked back in just under 10 minutes.

We used the spa and gym and found it to be quiet and restful. It seemed to be under used as most people want to lay on sunbeds around the huge beautiful pool. Free food and drinks were available somewhere in the resort from 7am to midnight.

I was very pleased with the hotel and holiday. I was there in October the weather was great, never going above 30 degrees and staying in the mid-20s. There were no crowds in the pools or restaurants. The bus to Kos Town stoped outside the hotel and cost 1-60 Euros.

On the downside: The Thomas Cook reps. were useless. They didn't know the bus times, which numbers or the cost and handed out black and white photocopies of a coloured map which made it difficult to find anywhere. They also told guests they needed a visa for the day trip to Turkey (not true) and if they paid them 40 Euros for their trip they would get the visa for them. The boat trip would cost 15 Euros if booked in Kos Town. I heard that the Thompson reps did the same. The reps are hardly the hotels fault.

My only disappointment with the hotel was that I had I to pay 5 Euros for one hour WI FI and 15 Euros for the key to the safe in my room, but all said it really was an excellent hotel and a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaxababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

May I start by saying as one of many people using this website as a way of rating there holiday destination DO NOT pay any attention to the petty/poor reviews, we flew out on the 3 of october which is pretty late in the season!! and from the second we arrived we have had the best treatment and experience on a holiday ever. The resort is an impressive sight at 0100 and the check in was quick and easy, the bell boys have golf buggies to get you and your baggage to rooms and if at any time you dont feel like walking anywhere just give there a call n there very happy to come and pick you up and drop you where ever you want, we arrived just after the all inclusive had finished but were given a drinks voucher for the bar, save paying!!. We were greeted by bubbly and a fruit basket in our room, lovely roomy room, plenty of room for 3 of us and a load of wedding baggage, you never need to worry about missing a meal as there really is ALWAYS somewhere to eat breakfast, late breakfast, crapes, lunch, more crapes, dinner, all day bar, if you cant find anything you like then you have to be the worst eater in the world, the entertainment was as good as it gets to be fair, the animation team are great with the kids love to stop n chat or go away when you want piece n quiet, loads to do if you want to or just spend 12 hours a day on a sun lounger as we did!! I recommend hiring quads or dune buggies from the hire shop in front of the resort shop!! Loads of fun and good value, also don't book your 3 island boat trip with your reps, spend the 1 euro 50 get the bus to town n book with mario, on the nikita, we payed 25 euros per adult and 12 for our daughter and the reps were charging 46!!!!( huge saving when we had 20 of us go in total!!) we had the most amazing day AND got to see the dolphins!! We (as were others) got married here at Blue lagoon Resort, we wanted the sunshine wedding on the beach with all our friends and family, and this is exactly what we got, It was amazing, the staff were fantastic, the place was fantastic. We reserved the bbq restarant for 300 euros before we even left england, and after speaking to another couple that where also getting married Im glad we did they payed £400, book with venessa and save yourself money, I had several emails to and form her and shes was amazing and more than happy to help. DO NOT do your paper work translation through anyone but kos weddings, you'll be getting robbed and emma from them brought all our paper work to us at the resort, saved me loads of time and was super helpful, and as for our wedding co'ordinator, she was fab did everything we asked and more. There is a comment on this site about tattooed brides, this i feel has nothing to do with anyone and as a well tattooed person i can only say that maybe the narrow minded people of the world should perhaps spend less time looking at us tattooed people if we offend you, just because we have them DOES NOT mean we are chav's, you clearly spent plenty of time looking to pass a comment!!! all in all us and our 23 other guests had the time of our lives, amazing place, people and island, a must visit place for all ages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate311Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After booking this on a last minute deal and reading other reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about what we (my friend and I) would get as part of the AI deal and whether it was going to live up to the star rating. I can happily say that the food was not only delicious, but varied, plentiful and consistent. you get a lot of drinks included, though the cocktails are cheap mixer types and the wine a bit acidic after a few days - however, nothing is too much trouble and it is possible to have a change for a relatively small fee. I did not think the Greek or Italian restaurant were 'different' from the main restaurants but as you can book them in advance, free of charge, it was nice for a change and to be served at your table in the Italian. The food was so good, I can't find anything negative to say. It might be worth mentioning that as we went out of season, it was not as busy and I would imagine in peak season there would be a lot of queuing, resulting in cold food. (not that this would ruin it much).
The staff are very helpful and on the whole friendly. They clear your plates quickly and nothing is too much trouble for anyone you ask for anything. It is a very clean hotel - spotless in fact - and extremely impressive with its 5 pools, 4 restaurants, numerous bars... I went for a week away from children and as it is a family hotel, there were a lot of these around. However, we asked for a room away from the children's play areas/ pools/ activiites and that is what we got. (We could even see the sea). There is an adult pool that was a bit of a walk from our room (8mins) but well worth finding as it has cushioned loungers and is extremely peaceful.
The animation team who provide the entertainment are exactly as you would imagine - hard working, cheesy, smiley and the children seemed to love the activities they provide for them. If you like sports then there are so many classes to attend which the animation team join you in/ run and some silly games. They do not force you, however, so you will be left alone if you say no. Each evening there was a show of some sort. Not my cup of tea and a bit cheesy but sociable and an opportunity to meet others and take advantage of the al la carte cocktail bar, which has everything at not too high price.
Kos Town is a 25min, easy walk away or 8 mins on the bus (every hour) for just under 2 Euros. They reception will phone taxis which come within a minute and cost 8Euro per trip. The markets in Kos are excellent and we found everything we could want without having to go over to Turkey. Though the trip is very interesting. If you just want to go to the markets in Turkey for 'fake' desginer stuff etc then it's much cheaper to do it from the harbour than through your tour company. If you go through the tour company, you see a bit more but it depends what you are going over for.
The Spa was expensive for treatments and the sauna was cold as was the indoor pool. The outdoor pools were freezing. Unbearably so. But that is because it had cooled down and they are not heated. It didn't bother me and it didn't seem to bother most people, I am just more of a wuss than most. The weather was great (29 degrees and cloudless most days) but it obviously is 10 degrees more in Summer so the pool would be warmer then.
Overall, I had a superb time and would go back, always off peak season. If you like/ have children and want a safe, fun, interesting, easy holiday then this is perfect too but if you, like us, want to avoid them then it is possible here too - just about.

Room Tip: block 1000 is nearest the main restaurant and bars and more central. We had no problem with noise de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday in Kos with my wife and two sons.
3 star, 4 star, 5 star....who cares what badge it has. Its what the hotel delivers that is important.
And the Blue lagoon certainly delivered as far as i'm concerned
The family room we had was excellent, the hotel is spotless(cleaners constantly around), room service excellent, the grounds are beautiful and well kept(gardeners weeding and cutting grass daily), pools very clean and lifeguards present at kiddies pool every day(also main pool when i was there). The food was excellent in all restaurants, didnt have one bad meal. And the added bonus for my wife and kids was the crepe station, fantastic.
The animation team deserve a special mention. They are very talented and work very hard. The evening shows were OK and the kids loved playing on the stage and watching the shows.
Gemma, donna and teresa from the animation team derserve a special mention. They also run the kiddies club beside the kids pool and do a FANTASTIC job. They are brillliant with the kids and nothing is too much for them. My kids loved them(especially Donna).
found all staff friendly and helpful.
The beach is not very good i agree, but its not a factor for me when choosing a holiday.
What i do think needs improved is the standard of drinks available. The cocktail selection is poor and serving wine in a plastic tumbler is not ideal.
i would cetainly recommend the blue lagoon.

Room Tip: higher a bike(5 euros for the day) and cycle into Kos harbour and better beaches. The cycle path is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyjen131199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from our second visit to Blue Lagoon. Since we first went 2 years ago it has become a major wedding venue, but otherwise is unchanged.

We stayed in the annexe which was fine- spacious rooms, nothing to complain about. We didn't find the hotel crowded, as it was near end of season. Breakfast restaurant busier after 9 am though. Hot food barely warm, odd food choices for breakfast ( sprouts??) and bacon was awful. Usual frankfurter sausages. Orange juice like diluted Sunny D.

Lunches were variable- lots of salad/pizza but not so much nice meat- pork souvlaki is bad quality, gyros OK. small burger/meatballs nice tho.

Greek restaurant is nice in the evenings, bit more authentic, although as others have said men have to wear long pants, whereas a lot of the women dressed up like pikey chavs.

At least 3 weddings per day, many brides seem to be competing over who has the most tattoos.....

We went to the adults only pool which is a fair walk, next to the italian restaurant, but much quieter and has mattresses on the sunbeds.

BBQ/grill restaurant served much the same as at lunch- couple of nice cats seem to be based here which is nice if you like cats.

Good Points- Hotel is clean, nicely presented, friendly staff,
Bad Points- food not great, drinks watered down, chavvy weddings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

As a family who have been to Egypt for the last few years we weren't sure what to expect from this holiday. It exceeded our expectations. Our 7year old daughter was entertained all day and absolutely loved the animation team special thanks to Gemma , Donna and Teresa in the kids club. Didn't bother with the first choice kids club as he hotel's own was much closer to the main pool area and the girls were great. Food was good - not for the egg and chips brigade but that suits us fine. All in all a very relaxing holiday in a great hotel. Rooms were fab plenty space. Would recommend to others although think it would be overcrowded in the summer.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank The Partridge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
15.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
2.0 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#6 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Resort

Property: Blue Lagoon Resort
Address: | Nea Alikarnassos, Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Lagoon Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Lagoon Resort is a recently built complex with 662 guestrooms. This all inclusive hotel is situated in Lambi, only 75m from the sandy beach, 2 km from the centre of Kos, 1.5 km away from the nearest shopping area and 22 km from the airport. This beautiful hotel has got a 1-storey main building, six 2-storey accommodation buildings at the main complex and 3 satellite buildings. The facilities at the Blue Lagoon Resort include the main buffet restaurant, the Greek buffet restaurant, the Grill / BBQ restaurant, the Poolside show cooking restaurant as well as the Italian a’ la carte restaurant for adults only, in which once per week also families with children are welcome. Have an exotic drink at one of the numerous bars; the Pool bar, the Piano bar with live music, the Lounge- or Sports bar or at any of the others waiting for you. If you long for something sweet, visit the crêpes and sandwich station at the main pool island. Our guests can choose between five pools; the 4000 sq meters main swimming pool for adults and a smaller of 200 sq meters for children at the main complex as well as two swimming pools for adults and one children's pool at the satellite buildings. Activities like football, tennis, mini-golf and beach volley will help you keep fit during your holidays, while the Votsalo Spa is the perfect place to relax and rejuvenate your body and skin, offering a variety of beauty treatments as well as a fitness room, an indoor heated pool, sauna, steam bath and whirl pool for guests over 16 years of age. Special attention is given to the children at the Kid’s Clubs during daytime and at night professional entertainment is offered for all ages. The hotel also offers conference facilities of high standard as well as romantic venues like a Greek church or the beach for weddings. There is also a minimarket and a shop with accessories on the premises.The resort offers room facilities for everyone; no matter if you travel with friends, as a couple or a family; standard garden view rooms, pool view and sea view rooms as well as two- bedroom family rooms are available. There is also the alternative of a comfortable junior suite or a pool view room at the more quiet Adults-Only area. All the rooms are provided with air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini fridge, hairdryer, telephone, internet connection, tea/coffee facilities, bathrobes and slippers. Ideal for those who need an escape for reloading their batteries, but also for those who like to entertain themselves with or without their family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Blue Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Kos Town
Blue Lagoon Reort kós
Luca Blue Lagoon Kos
Luca Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing