We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant with good food”
Review of Istros

Istros
Ranked #37 of 226 Restaurants in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Traditional Greek Grill house specialising in authentic dishes and service with a smile.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed in Kos with 2 friends. Our hotel (Aegean Houses) was next to this restaurant so the first evening we decided to have dinner there. We've always enjoyed traditional greek food and this restaurant served us some of the best greek plates we ever had. Because we liked it so much, we went back there 3 times. Every evening we tried a different plate and they were all delicious. Also the service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. We will definitely come back, hopefully next year!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben0ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your meals with us. Mamma's cooking never lets us down! We really hope we'll see you again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Istros
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I especially recommend the Greek food. It is said to be freshly made each day by the mother of the house, and I do not doubt it. The staff has time for a relaxed chat in a natural way without losing efficiency. Very close to top score.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelWam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spyros K, Owner at Istros, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thanks Michael! Mamma works very hard to keep up with the demand in the summer and your kind words make it all worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We walked into the busy restaurant and were shown to a central table by the waiter. It was very warm and the fan was directly above us, not very comfortable but we were hungry so stayed put. Waiter came back to us after 15 mins and apologised for delay in taking food and drinks order. Drinks came soon after that. Our starters arrived an hour later, and no apology for the delay. No more drinks were offered, and no more apologies for delays. The main course came after another 45 minutes. A young waitress did ask if food was ok, and as i had left most of my t-bone steak, she guessed it wasn't. One end of it was raw, and tough, the other end medium. As I had asked for medium rare, this was disappointing. I didn't dare send it back as i wanted to get out as soon as posiible and was beyond hungry! When i told the waitress, she went into the chef and came back to say med rare was not possible for this steak!! Unbelievable!

Thank lozandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is the only one taverna in Kos my girlfirend and I went twice in, to the others we didn't return. The staff is very friendly, they explain dishes to you if you don't understand something. The prices are comparable with the other tavernas. You can't go wrong with any dish you choose, everything is fresh, nothing is precooked. In the end they offer you ouzo on the house. Another + is free WiFi. Try Istros, you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Slash13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spyros K, Manager at Istros, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2015

Thank you so much!! We're really glad you enjoyed your meal and that we could be of such service to you, thank you!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend decided to eat at here after we read some of the great reviews. We were very dissapointed. We had to wait over one and a half hours only to be served with cold food. We did recieve the offer to have another meal prepared but we had waited long enough and wasnt willing to wait any longer. We Recieved no apology. It seems this place can't cope with the number of customers it receives due to its ranking on trip advisor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istros also viewed

 

Been to Istros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing