We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meet us again!”

Prepon Restaurant Cafe Bistrot
Ranked #136 of 218 Restaurants in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Kos Town, Greece
1 review
“meet us again!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

excellent dinning experience.
totally good value for money!!
chill out and enjoy.
looking forward, see you soon again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prepon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    17
    2
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere...and WiFi!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for a drink on our first day in Kos town and on recommendation of kensmithsf, decided to return there in the evening to eat. The staff are very friendly and if you take some time to talk to them, you will find yourself having a great evening.

Beer is 3.00 small, 4.00 large draught. Mythos 330ml is 3.50. Wine glass is 3.50. Food is 8-12. Fries (homemade with fresh potatos) just 0.90!

We drank and ate starters and mains all for 40 € for two. We even got brought Ouzo before we left.

Free WiFi too. All the locals eat here. That is a good sign. A++ would visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imdsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful - authentic and sophisticated”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is really top notch, and distinct from any of the other restaurants aimed at tourists. Our server told us that they make an effort to serve Greek food the way the locals eat it, and this is very clear. He gave us a thorough description of many of the dishes on the menu and told us about how they source all ingredients locally, as well as use local recipes. We started with a wonderful salad, which I believe he said was a recipe from a local monastery. Because we'd been in Greece for over a week he suggested we try this salad, as it was different from the traditional Greek salad.
Next he told us about the day's selection of fresh fish and I asked him to bring me whatever he thought was the day's best while still a reasonable price. He chose sea bream (€13), which was served whole, and he filleted it at the table once it was brought out cooked. It was served with fresh steamed greens, which were incredibly fresh. A welcome change of pace from the fries served at most of the other tourist restaurants, and he said this is the way Greeks would pair the meal.
The wait staff was great and very knowledgable about the ingredients and preparation. Just a splendid experience, and a great price too. House wine, salad, fish, and a calamari dish for €38. Easily the best meal I've had here in Greece.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Really lovely place to dine”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I went here last night for dinner based on TripAdvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. The setting is wonderful on the square in front of the church in Old Town, away from the noisy main drag. The staff is amazingly sweet (it's like being a visiting friend) and the food delicious. I want to go back again tonight but feel I should try something else!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kensmithsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kos, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoy the silence of...Taste !!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Restaurant Café Bistro “Prepon” is situated next to Kos most visited area.The old market.Beside the church of “Saint Paraskevi” a bedrock square with numerous guests walking through every day and night.
Below the beautiful trees experience our local delights combined with special service.Our philosophy is to highlight the local products through simplicity and quality.
All day long,starting early in the morning with refreshments till late in the night with splendid food and deserts.We expect you to leave having with you the flavours of the island’s culture.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IouliosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prepon Restaurant Cafe Bistrot also viewed

 

Been to Prepon Restaurant Cafe Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing