We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everybody must eat here!”
Review of Aegli

Aegli
Ranked #40 of 216 Restaurants in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Everybody must eat here!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Aegli, in the market square of Kos Town, is so new that it hasn't really sorted out its own name yet, so it is variously entitled in its documentation and signage: "The Women's Co-operative of Kos" or "Local Gastronomy Women's Co-operation" but you get the picture. The Co-operative employs 16 women, either previously unemployed, single mums, old women or those with four children and, using only produce from the island, turn out fantastic dishes from every corner of the place at stunningly low prices.

So, right in the centre of town with Friday's evening bustle all around us we shared mixed olives and then preserved fish roe, a plate of mixed starters and a monumental platter of cheese with unlimited bread, but the menu was vast, offering every variety of vegetable, cereal and meat in every particularist combination, including Epiphany crumpets. We chose a delicate white wine and a robust red, neither bearing much relationship to the usual hybrid wines usually on offer.

The service was charming but necessarily a little diffident and we wrote in the comments book and left a large tip to support the cause.

Every visitor to Kos should eat here for the fantastic food, the superlative value for money, the unusual wines and the good cause! I would give this a higher mark if the system allowed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wonder Women!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stopped here for lunch on a trip to Kos Town. The fact that this is run by a Women's cooperative really appealed to us and we weren't disappointed. Lovely Greek salad and homemade meat pie, plus tzatziki and bread - all delicious. Good views of the square for people watching and prices are reasonable. Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunnyday2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was our best meal on Kos!
We, a family of 5 visited this spectacular restaurant on a Nice, fun and family- freindly square in the middle of town.
As we walked by earlier that Day, our nitratets was caught by the difference in atmosphere from the other restaurants.
We looked at their menu and found that the restaurant was a cooperative project for woman in Kos.
All of the fod served at the restaurant is homemade, and all products from the island.
We were met by a servile, proud and very gentile woman, who was clearly proud of what the restaurant Could offer.
We ordered mezes to share after her advice. We were two parents, two young men and a teenage boy, and her rekommendation on the amount was right on the spot.
The fod was excellent, the service the same, and in all our bill for plenum of fod, drinks for all of us and 3 large and tasty was 60€.
Go there, enjoy the fod or one of their funky drinks, the square and the competente and respect the proud women working there - and thet will treat you with warmth and lost of smile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgo val di Taro, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, lovely staff and wonderful atmosphere.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed by the food and the knowledgable staff. Will certainly come back next time I'm in Kos.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annalucia556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langholm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awful Service and bad food.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I stopped here once during our honeymoon. It always looked busy and as it is apparently run by the 'housewives of Kos' we expected that they'd be able to make some decent Greek food. We won't make that mistake again.

We stopped by during a quiet spell and were met by the moodiest, rudest waitress I think I have ever met who even snapped our heads off for daring to order in Greek.

The food wasn't much better. It was overpriced and awful. We had eaten baklava at a couple of other places and really enjoyed it so we ordered a piece of baklava and a coffee each.
The baklava was like extremely oily tasteless compacted cardboard (I wonder if they just used oil instead of honey or syrup) and the coffee tasted as though the milk had soured.

I would advise anyone to avoid this place. It is a disappointing waste of money. We will be going back to Kos but we won't make the mistake of visiting here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyrithys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aegli also viewed

 

Been to Aegli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing