We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Atlantis
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arrived late on the 26th August.Our transfer coach managed to offload one of our cases at a prior drop off. The Hotel Staff were so helpful and made calls the following day to the company and we were reunited the following afternoon with our luggage. Our travel Company Travel republic had also failed to inform the hotel that we required one of our 3 booked rooms to be close to the room that had our elderly Father in, due to him using a wheelchair and may have required assistance. The Hotel tried to rectify this as far as was possible considering they were nearly full. I can only praise the reception staff. The Hotel is beautiful and very well laid out, right on the beach. Always plenty of sun beds by the pools even though it was peak season. The food was fairly good, we always managed to find something. Breakfast time was pretty chaotic and not the calm experience one would wish for. Our rooms were all cleaned to a good standard. The A/C was definitely more efficient in our apartment than in the other two rooms on the 4th floor of the main hotel. The hotel is well located, a 30 min walk into Kos town. There is also a regular bus service that stops right outside the hotel.The excellent staff were a godsend. Thank you.

Room Tip: We loved our quiet apartment. Good size, Good A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sueandkevin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    206
    111
    60
    41
See reviews for
225
185
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from a week All inclusive here. On arriving about midnight we were told Bars & Restaurant were closed, but we could buy a drink from the main bar if we wanted. We were shown to our room,one of the bungalows alongside the hotel, upon opening the door it was quite a fusty smell which we said we would sleep here tonight then asked to be moved in the morning. Beds were very hard also. In the morning everything seemed better Beautiful weather, we asked for a matress topper and the beds were fine, opened the doors and gave a good blast of fresh air and spray of deodorant and no more smell.My 12 year old daughter loved the pancake bar for breakfast. The food was as good as any other hotel we have used & we ate out two evenings at lovely tavernas in kos town, The pools and entertainment during the day are really good and the beach is beautifull, there are stones to get in to the sea but we took beach shoes and not a problem at all then, lots of shade from the trees and grounds are very flat for anyone with walking problems. You can walk along the beach in about 10 mins to kos town.Lovely & quiet for sleeping at night, also was very handy having a fridge in the room. would definately use this hotel again. The staff were all very friendly. For the price we payed we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ameliabunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We travelled to this hotel for 2 weeks from 8th August 2013. This is the 7th time we have visited Kos so we knew what to expect. What can I say lovely hotel, with wonderful hardworking under appreciated staff. Nothing too much trouble for the staff despite the treatment they received from some of the rude horrible guests. The room we were allocated was a bungalow in gardens just across from the beach, nice and quiet. Nice and clean. Food was okay although after two weeks was a bit repetitive. Meals were catered for Russians. Down side to the holiday were the rude arrogant, pushy Russians. 98% were Russians. We are very tolerant and tended to ignore them. They treated the staff with contempt and were really rude, barking bar orders at the lovely bar staff. Manners cost nothing but these Russians had NO manners at all, it took your breath away. Still on the up side we met two english families and enjoyed conversation with some lovely German people.
We made the most of our holiday using the pool and going to the nice sandy beach. It is a nice clean hotel with a friendly entertainment team with all the usual ammenities, nothing really to moan about. The hotel owns the Waterpark which you can visit free as many times as you want, but be prepared for the scrum to get on the bus going. In nice location near to Kos town which is well worth a visit. First time we have come across so many Russians outside of Turkey.
Only reason we would not revisit this hotel would be because of the majority of Russian visitors.
A big thank you to the marvellous reception staff who handled all our queries brilliantly. Also the bar staff who had our drinks memorised and who were fantastic even though very overworked. Don't let negative reveiws put you off trying this hotel just go with an open mind and learnto say " push off" in Russian.

Room Tip: bungalow room 13 overlooking beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dsue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were in this hotel from 23. August till 30. August 2023 and it was great. We had luck with room, and could see childrens poll from terace. The hotel really is on a beach. The food is good. We missed only some fruits in between courses, and maybe the variety should be better. Main courses wew diferent every day, but other - like salads were a bit dull.

My milly likes music so maybe we missed that at the pool area, but it is understandable, that not everyone likes music to be on all the time. Animation team was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spelca82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel is in good location walking distance to kos town with all the bars and shops. AI was good with plenty of choice. room was clean and spacious. Easy walk into kos town in the evening with plenty of bars to stop off at on the way. wi-fi in reception only that you have to pay for. I think this should be free on an AI holiday. other than that we had a great week with beautiful weather.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cackleCroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am usually a very tolerant traveler, willing to close an eye on minor hotel hitches and give rather positive than negative feedback. This is why I would have included this hotel in the ‘very good’ category had it not been for an incident on arrival which put me off for the rest of my stay. On the Atlantis in Lambi/Kos I have therefore chosen to start with the negative impression, leaving the positive points in the latter part of my review.

My complaint refers to management of first night late arrivals due to plane landing hour and particularly to receptionist supervisor’s mishandling of complaints – arrogant and superficial. When you pay your accommodation and meals 6 months in advance through a travel agency you expect that the hotel (particularly when 4*) shows you respect by providing all services for which they have already got their money and not the least by carefully avoiding arrogance and offence towards their guests. It’s also a matter of health and safety as some of the tourists, such as diabetics, may have various health conditions that require evening meals. From previous experience in Greece in case of plane arrival after dinner time we were used to getting a decent plate with reasonable food in compensation from the hotel –. Of course we never expected them to re-open the restaurant for us, but we have never been turned down as the Atlantis did on the night of our arrival (25 June). After we insisted on getting something that we were entitled to, instead of fumbling around for a pub at that late hour, the only thing they agreed to give us – as if we were mere beggars – was 1 single sandwich. That was a real offence and when I demanded explanation from the management team, a curly blonde young lady (presumably a ‘supervisor’) showed up smirking and arguing drily that ‘the policy of the hotel is to never provide meals to its guests outside meal time’, whether they had been prepaid or not; moreover, the hotel considered that they had done more than their duty by giving us 1 sandwich and if we claimed any further damages or expected additional compensation we should liaise with our travel agent. I might have forgotten this offending incident if the blonde supervisor had not added with a supercilious smile – just to close up the conversation and send me off – ‘ I wish you a pleasant stay in our hotel’. That was the last straw, the utmost offense that I could take. Dear young lady, however many customer care training courses you might have taken, you must remember that you never calm down complaining customers by refusing them and simultaneously wishing him happiness. On the contrary: this is taken as a most infuriating arrogance. I personally, as a paying customer, do not care about what I consider a rather internal hotel policy - whether it was the hotel’s or the travel agent’s fault – such things should not concern your paying customers. As long as other hotels in Greece have a better customer-care policy, I certainly will not accept any justification from the management. All they need is CHANGE – CHANGE of policy, CHANGE of reception supervisor’s attitude or, even better, CHANGE of the blonde impertinent altogether.

Now coming down to the promised brownie points:
Hotel location: excellent to both nearest town (in Lambi, which has virtually become an extension of the capital – Kos town); and to the sea (on the beach); in a nice, large beautiful garden – a pleasure to walk around as in a park at day and night time alike. Congrats to landscapers and gardeners! Downsides: rather kitschy statues inside the hotel and in the garden….
Beach: sandy – with only a narrow strip of pebbles on the sea front and in the water. Wonderful view of Bodrum on the Turkish coast just opposite of the hotel. Cooling trees all along the hotel beach, so plenty of shade if you do not stand direct hot sun; nicer, more protective than under an umbrella. Sunbeds and umbrellas available at c. 2 euro/each/day (payable at hotel reception). Downside for non-swimmers and children: deep. steep waters, water currents; windy area. No water sports, unfortunately, maybe due to the strong winds.
Hotel pools: 2 large pools (c. 25 metres long; and a small one for children). Excellent hotel policy: sunbeds (free of charge) are freed up and stacked away around 8 p.m., so guests cannot ‘book’ them for the following day. Downside: too crowded - many people prefer the pool to the beach, maybe because of the deep sea & currents.
On premises entertainment: free shows for children and adults on a special stage start at about 7.45 pm. every night. Bar-restaurant near the pools.
Hotel rooms: spacious, well maintained; tiled; cleaned every day; towels and bed sheets changed every 2 days. Good cleaners. Excellent facilities management. Downside: 3 tiny little soap bars provided on arrival
Hotel restaurant-food: fair daily assortment of food (vegetables, meat, fish, salads), but rather limited variety of dishes from one day to another. Vassilis was the nicest waiter-supervisor: cheerful, extremely helpful & understanding; good English. Downsides: bad coffee, stale bread; poor quality salami; few fruits (only water melon throughout our stay); sweetener available only on request from waiters.
Around the hotel: Lots of supermarkets. the hotel has its own supermarket .– as have most hotels in Lambi - open till about 11 p.m. Lots taverns – acceptable prices – starting from 5 euro/dish. Lots of car rental & bike rental shops; reasonable prices, eg a bike 3 euro/day; 1 small car c. 35-40 euro/day.
Way to Kos town: within walking distance (c. 2.5 km away). Bike lanes all along the way form hotel to Kos town. Bus stop in front of hotel (only 2 stops away from the centre /port of Kos); 1 one-way ticket = 1.20 euro.
In Kos: nice combination of ancient, mediaeval buildings; a Turkish mosque and a Greek agora. Also a mini-train offering 20-minute tour of the centre of the town (5 euro/ticket). Lost of taverns where waiters politely invite you inside. Cohorts of shops – reasonable prices. The small chic port. 1-day voyage to nearby islands; Also boat return trips to-from Bodrum – daily; c. 25 euro/ return trip/person; 1 single timetable for all ships, i.e. dep. 8.30 a.m., return 5 p.m.; crossing = c. 1 hr. Downsides: there are no shorter trips within this interval, i.e. there are no offers for tourists who you want to go to Turkey later than 9 a.m. and come back after a couple of hours; you simply have to spend the whole day in Bodrum.

Overall impression: ignoring the arrival incident, an excellent hotel for families, especially with children, and for senior travelers. Well maintained, wonderful land- and seascapes.

Room Tip: • bring rubber shoes for the water edge and in the sea • bring your own soap and shampoo • if acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amapica_gabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (both 18 yo) stayed here for a week (13th-20th July). The price of the hotel is very reasonable and you do get your money's worth. There are a few things I could complain about and the food is one of them. The breakfast was poor and there isn't much choice so if you're a fussy eater I would suggest getting some food from elsewhere incase you get hungry. The lunch and dinner are also below average and although there may seem to be quite a lot of variety the quality is pretty poor and everything is coated in salt or vinegar. One thing good about going all inclusive is the free drinks. they serve beer and wine from 10:00am and they serve cocktails and spirits from 7pm. They are very generous with the amount of alcohol in the cocktails so if you do decide to go out in the evening, I would suggest drinking in the hotel before. For a nice meal and a good atmosphere I would suggest going to the Mexican restaurant (el paso) in the main part of the town. It is quite pricy but the food is worth it and it is very filling and tasty. For a decent full English breakfast I would recommend...... The man who runs it is very friendly and makes you feel very welcome. The rooms are nice although the mattress is quite hard but it wasn't much of a problem for me as you get used to it after a while. The staff are the hotel are quite miserable and don't seem to try and make you feel welcome and just seem to be there to 'do there job'. There are a few things to do in Kos and I would recommend going to the Hamam massage (about a 20 minute drive from Kos town) and transfers are available if you ask. its about €10 there and back (€16 one way in a taxi). Overall, my stay here was lovely and relaxing although I would make the most of the island rather than just staying in the hotel all week.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillieKieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Apollon Hotel
Apollon Hotel
#17 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gaia Royal Hotel
Gaia Royal Hotel
#10 of 15 in Mastichari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
The Aeolos Beach Hotel
#10 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Property: Hotel Atlantis
Address: Kos Island, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlantis 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built directly upon a beautiful stretch of sandy beach Hotel Atlantis is a modern hotel complex. Accommodation can be provided in its main building and in Bungalows. It is situated at an ideal location with a unique view of the vast blue Aegean Sea and the shores of Asia Minor, from one side, and the island of Pserimos on the other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Kos Town
Hotel Atlantis Kos, Greece
Atlantis Kos Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing