We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
160
153
66
35
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
160
153
66
35
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar bar staff flintstones bar on an all inclusive basis whole week ice cream smile on her face restaurant manager towels changed every day hard working greek dancing main building walk in shower visit kos greek night aqua aerobics hire bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 434 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Once again the staff were brilliant, the renovations to the hotel will continue next Winter. The chef this year is very good, the duck with lemon sauce is particularly good, if a bit unusual.

A lot of young, happy children. Sylvia at the poolside bar made them very ecstatic with ice creams and pop, she also makes wonderful cocktails. Poppi and Veronika at reception are fantastic as are Maria and Jejan in the restaurant.

The little shop across the road is great too, loads of stuff you need plus a lot of things you didn't need until you saw them.

Another great holiday.

Room tip: If you have mobility problems you can request a ground floor room.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulaMelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleventis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dearest Paula,

Thank you very much for your kind review;
Welcoming you back at Apollon is always a pleasure;it is like welcoming back members of our "big family",
guests who honor us with their trust and choose to spend their holiday among friends!
Your kind comments related to our food on offer has been shared with our team;
Chef is delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our cuisine and looks forward to provide his services again on your next visit!
Sylvia,Poppy,Veronika,Maria and Sejan thank you very much for your kind words and together with the rest of us
look forward to seeing you back the soonest.
with our best wishes to both of you,
sincerely yours
Hotel Management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Best hotel staff in the world?
We planned an inexpensive Greek island hopping holiday starting in Kos and finishing in Rhodes and found the Apollon on TripAdvisor. It suited our requirements well.
It is about 1.5 miles from the centre of Kos town and 10 minutes walk to an excellent beach bar on a sandy beach with crystal clear water. Inexpensive cycle hire is the norm for getting about.
After a long and delayed flight we arrived at 23.00 and after a quick and friendly check in we were pointed to the restaurant where unexpectedly and very thoughtfully a cold platter awaited us with on-tap wine and beer.
Our room, in the recently built block, was a little small but excellent modern design with balcony and everything immaculate. There are other older blocks we didn't visit so cannot comment on standards.
The whole site is spotlessly clean with smiling staff continuously cleaning and mopping the acres of tiling in the public areas.
The restaurant is similarly immaculate, but has the atmosphere of a motorway service station, with buffet style food which is reasonable given the small budget the head chef must have available. There is an outside terrace which provides a better atmosphere.....except when it is inhabited with smokers.
The staff in the restaurant are exceptional with a smile and a chat for everyone whilst working flat out to clear, clean and prepare tables for the never ending stream of guests. Most guests appeared to be Polish but there were guests from many northern European countries. Most guests are on an all inclusive basis and it would not be worthwhile staying on a b&b tariff.
Like everywhere the pool and pool bar are spotlessly clean. The bar is staffed by a whirling dervish who has a smile, a joke and a chat for everyone while serving up to three customers at once. Amazing and entertaining watching her boundless energy at work. Included drinks are local brands and some may not be to everyone's taste but the measured are generous and the continuous queue at the bar was testament to it's popularity.
This is a budget hotel which serves it's client market exceptionally well with superb staff who genuinely appear to thrive on hard work and give their best to the guests. Having travelled the world extensively and luckily staying mostly in up market hotels i have never come across such exceptional staff . Well done to them and also to the management team that put them together.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleventis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear William,

Thank you very much for your excellent review,as well for high rating our Hotel!
We are delighted to know that you had a joyful holiday with us and have greatly enjoyed our facilities;
moreover, we are really happy to hear that the efforts and services of our attentive staff have been appreciated!
It is indeed rewarding as well encouraging when guests like yourselves take time to convey their appreciation.
We assure you that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve our services,this is our aim,this is what we daily strive for!
We really hope to have the pleasure on welcoming you back in the near future,
Once again,thank you very much for your kindest input,
with sincere regards
Hotel Management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. We never had a problem with this hotel. That staff are friendly. The amenities are great. The kids loved the pool and the location is very safe. The front desk is 24hrs.

Date of stay: February 2018
Thank LittleMsTraveler_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleventis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your excellent review;
moreover,thank you very much for high rating our hotel.
We are delighted to know that you had a memorable holiday and have greatly enjoyed our facilities.
We hope to have the pleasure on welcoming you back the soonest,
with sincere regards
Hotel Management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We have been stayed from 2 to 13 September in Apollon.
It was impressive. We were happy and enjoyed all time we've stayed there.
We're surprised how big the hotel was but it's so clean and nice.
Everyone who worked there worked so hard and they're friendly as well.
We wish to comeback again.

Room tip: Clean, beautiful, delicious meals
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rujiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleventis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review and for high rating our Hotel!
We are delighted to hear that your accomodation with us exceeded your expectations
and that you have enjoyed our facilities.
We also thank you for appreciating the services of our attentive staff; it is indeed encouraging,as well rewarding.
We assure you that we will never cease in our efforts to constantly improve our standards and hope to
have the pleasure on welcoming you back the soonest.
with sincere regards
Hotel Management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

We’ve just come back from a 10 night stay at the Apollon Hotel and it was amazing I have to say.

There was only us, two other couples and a family that were British. All the rest were Dutch, German and Russian, but they were very friendly have to say.

Location - you’re bang smack on the main road going into Kos Town and it’s a 30min walk. Beach is across the road. There’s a bus stop right outside and buses go to Kos Town every 30 mins and only costs €1.50pp each way. You have bars and restaurants right outside the hotel. Mylo’s beach bar, Smugglers, Dellon bar, Flinstones cocktail bar. Mylo’s was pricey as it was €4 a pint and €8 a cocktail, where in other bars it’s was €3 and €3.50 for a cocktail in Flinstones and they were very good. You can hire bikes, cars, scooters right outside the hotel from €40 per day.

Rooms - We had a superior/deluxe room which are in the newish block. The rooms are very spacious, modern and plush with very comfy beds and a walk in shower. Balconies are very spacious too.

Food - the dining area is large and very nice. It’s spotless and you have an outdoor area too. It was very British as you have poached eggs, omelettes, beans, sausage and bacon. All delicious. You also have a very large continental selection which was also lovely. Lunch time, you have hot and cold meals and the rolls are lovely. In the evening, you have a wide selection and it changes all the time (but you have your basics like spag Bol and pasta sauce all the time). You also have lasagne and Canelloni all the time. You’ll always have a beef dish wether it’s fajitas or in Madeira sauce and you have chicken, pork and fish dishes all in lovely sauces or plain on its own. All the meat and fish is very high standard and not poor quality like you get in a 2/3* hotel. In fact there is a massive difference!

Drinks - Soft drinks and Beer is ok, could do with being a bit colder in the evening as it was in the afternoon. Vodka and spirits are good quality so is the wine.

Ice cream - unlimited strawberry, chocolate, vanilla, banana and pistachio.

Entertainment - Not every night but the singer on a Tuesday or Wednesday and the Greek night on the Sat are very good.

Staff - Veronika at reception gave us a very warm welcome on arrival (which was after 11pm) and told us to help ourselves to food that was plated up for late arrivals and drink. Veronika was very helpful throughout our stay and was always polite. Poppy was love too.

Sylvia who works the pool bar during the day was so lovely and her husband is English and From Sheffield. She is so friendly and outgoing and always talking to everyone. Everyone loved her and think she should do the evening shift as she’s so outgoing. The ladies who do the evening shift are lovely but they’re not very talkative like Sylvia.

The new head chef is very on the ball and stands in the centre of the restaurant to make sure everything is running smoothly. All the staff can’t to enough for you. Clearly he’s made a massive difference.

The hotel manager is also on the ball and is always walking around and even helps at the bar when busy in the evening. I was told by staff he is a very nice person and looks after his staff.

Qualms - free WiFi is poor and you can only use it by the pool and it doesn’t work all the time. You have the option to pay for the premium WiFi which is €3 a day which I think is a bit naughty.

Beer could also be better and colder.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Leyshond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gleventis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Apollon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your excellent as well extensive review; more over, thank you very much for high rating our Hotel!
It is indeed rewarding when guests like yourselves take time to convey their appreciation for our services;
it is so much encouraging when our efforts are being acknowledged,giving us all the strength to never cease in our efforts and keep up the good work.
It is such a pleasure to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us and have greatly enjoyed our facilities!
Your kind comments will be shared with our team; chef will be happy to know that all changes that took place in his department were well maintained,therefore worths the efforts; I am also thankfull for the personal compliments!
At Apollon we all strive daily to provide quality services and improve our standards; most important of all is to make our guests feel like home and share with us the warmth of a family Hotel and all staff members will be always present for our guests needs.
Veronika thanks you very much for your warm comment, Poppy and Sylvia as well.
Once again,we thank you for your kind comments and hope to have the pleasure on wellcoming you back in the near future.
With sincere regards
Hotel Management and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews