We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
Review of Apollon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk along the main road to the Harbour Area passing some interesting shops and bars on the way, in the baking heat it may be a bit much but it was about 30 degrees when we went and it was a comfortable walk in the morning and again on our return in the evening.

The hotel lobby is very clean and spacious and the reception staff were friendly enough.

We went to our room in the main part of the hotel as there are some seperate blocks around the hotel grounds surrounding the pool. The room was clean and spacious, we had 2 single beds and also a third fold out bed which we had to ask for a mattress topper as it was a little uncomfortable for an adult to sleep on but may be ok for a child.

We had a balcony with views of the mountains, there was a fridge in the room large enough to hold a few bottles of water and supplies.

We went All Inclusive and the selection of drinks was fairly good in the pool bar. There was always a good selection of food at meal times and was of a good quality and taste. We never had any trouble in getting a table as they were constantly being cleared away. There was limited seating outside the restaurant during the evening meal time.

There was entertainment in the evening but we felt it started a bit late, 10pm and was finished by 11pm, having had dinner by 9pm which was the time the restaurant closes it seemed a long wait for the fun to begin and it was soon over. They had a Mr & Mrs type contest which was funny and also a Miss Apollon contest.

The pool was cool but bearable and is a decent size and depth. There were Aqua Aerobics and Pilates classes and music playing around the pool.

The beach was only about 10 minutes away with various watersports available which I tried, such as Jet Skis, Parascending and Sofa Rides. There are plenty of Sunbeds available, some are FREE, try Papas restaurant and Watersports, they are really friendly!!

We even had a daytrip to Bodrum in Turkey on the Hydrofoil which is a 20 min crossing and costs 20 Euros Return. There are also boat trips around the islands available in the port.

We would love to return back to to Kos and would certainly consider staying here again. I found the best price was on Booking.Com.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 351 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in this hotel. The room was ok, very clean, hotel stuff was great and food ok. The Tv is an old make (14 crt) and only 5 channels, the AC/ Fridge was not working properly. Wi-fi was working only near the reception/ bar - poor signal. The toilet was making a loud noise - you can hear the noise made from the other rooms. The hotel is at the end of Lambi, you have to walk for about 30 mins by foot and 10 mins by bycicle to get to Kos town. Plenty of taverns and street bars/ club - recommend Mylos Beach Bar. Also great restaurant - Mike's taverna (near hotel) - very good food and nice people. For 4 days we had the same food - fish.
In the end great island but not a four star hotel

Room Tip: Rooms starting with 300 and 400. Rooms starting with 100 are near the pool /entrance and you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Constantin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have been there between 10th and 17th of July. It was a hot period but the constant breeze was helping a lot. Our punctual comments are:

Hotel: standard building, 3* classification from our point of view, but we were very pleased for our 3 person room, being only 2. It was probably the biggest hotel room ever for us, even if we had the chance to experience 5* hotel level. Otherwise, basic pretty-old furniture and bathroom facilities, but for our demands was OK enough.
(+) beautiful garden with exotic trees, big room, no waiting time for check in, they have some sweet deers (around 15), individual A/C, one supermarket at 15 minutes’ walk, close to the Kos city- 40 minutes’ walk or 5 minutes by bus
(-) total lack of luxury, no “do not disturb” cards

The see: you have to walk 5 minutes to reach the seaside, passing through another hotel. It is nice; the ground is sand+small rocks
(+) some shadow provided by the trees, clear water, very few people on the beach, not a lot of noise
(-) strange cold water in mid-July, some brown dead algae when the water begins

Food (half board) it was a pleasant surprise, good and different enough for a 7 days holiday. Still, the breakfast was pretty basic but covering all the basic needs- eggs, ham, cereals, yogurt, honey, 2-3 vegetables, 2-3 cookies, 1 type of cheese, 1 type of olives, small variety of tee, poor coffee, 3 types of jam with a lot of flies around them, good hotdogs, cooked tomatoes with a glance of cheese. For the evening, you have free water, white/red wine, light beer, juice
(+) tasty food especially in the evening (delicious cooked vegetable no matter of their type), good soups, attractive gyros every night, nice personal, delicious baklava, enough food for everybody
(-) a lot of flies, not enough glasses for clients (you want to drink, but there are no glasses anymore), to motivated to take back your plate :)

What we liked to visit: thermes (finally some warm see water), the mountain village Zia (we liked better the products sold there- variety and price), Kos town- very small, the Plane Tree of Hyppocrate’s, Tigaki beach- more fine sand, Kefalos town- more authentic and less tourists on the streets..we saw even a funeral .
We preferred to rent a small car for 35 EUR/day to visit what we described.

We were not interested by:
- the Bodrum trip- colleagues described like a failed option->to hot, difficult to reach cultural and archeological objectives, expensive souvenirs
- greek night- a forced event, you can go by yourself to a nice tavern if you want
- 3 islands boat trip: we have see sick, we were disappointed by a previous proposal in Corfu island

All in all: it was a nice holiday, medium budget needed; it was not a crowded island, happy with the hotel (the previous chronicle were pretty clear and we adjusted our expectation), not delighted by the entertainment, but we appreciate the effort (we always like the aqua gym!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Turistdeplacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel has a nice pool and animation team for day and night activities. The location is excellent offering easy access to both beaches and Kos town, reachable by foot in 15-20 minutes, or even faster if you rent a bike. Unfortunately these are the only positive aspects of spending a holiday here. Even the hotel is rated 4 stars it hardly reaches 3. The bathroom was rusty, and the air conditioning had to be fixed upon my arrival. Food was quite diverse, but not as tasty as expected, no fresh fish dishes are provided.
The overall impression is poor, the services are certainly not in line with a four star hotel as this is advertised by the travel agencies.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kristinae81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for a week from the 8th of July 2012 for my birthday. The Hotel is very well presented and looks very inviting as it does from the pictures. The rooms are very nice the best I have had going overseas comfortable beds and nicely finished inside. The food was very good in my opinion plenty of choice and fairly varied and there was always plenty of it, again the best I have had in an all inclusive hotel. Only quibble would be nice to have had bacon instead of fried cooked ham. The staff were friendly and always happy to help you. Also the guys doing the entertainment did an admirable job of keeping us all entertained in the day and evenings. The pool and pool bar was clean and i could not fault it. It is possible to get a sun lounger if you get up about 8am which is not too bad. Kos town is about 20 min walk or a 8 min bus ride away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marc982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel 23-30/06/12, was a bit scared to go after bad reviews written here. But to our suprise it was a very nice and no complains what so ever. We stayed in the room 432, its a separate building of 10 or so rooms if there are more then 2 people. Very nice and quiet side of hotel. Food was good as for all inclusive budget holidays, lost of vegies and every day different variety of meals, which was nice. Hotel staff very nice and polite, rooms cleaned every day no problems and towels changed every day. Every morning in the swiming pool some classes for everyone, then during the day animation team keeps you busy, there were childern hours where they were dancing and singing and realy enjoying there time, every evening events going all in english language. DJ Max is excellent and keeps everyone entertained. Beach is about 5 min walk through the hotel oposit the apollon, town is within 20 min slow walking. To eat in the town is not expensive at all, they offer deals everywhere. Two coctails 7 euros in the restaurant. We took a trip by boat round other 3 islands, cost per person 30 euros, that includes lovely meal on board. They will stop at every island and let you wonder around for hour or so. Then the other day we took day trip to Turkey - Bodrum, cost 30 euros too, including turist visa. Apollon in Kos is a very nice place for families, couples and all others if you want relaxing holidays. There are lots off night clubs in Kos town, ask DJ Alex if you want to go there he will recomed best places, we went to the night club and had realy good time, no drunk people everyone was enjoing there holidays. Hopefuly that helps to make your mind :)
Jurgita

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough. The hotel is spotlessly clean and beautiful. The food and service is top class and the pool area and sunbeds an absolute delight.

There is a good balance of nationalities and as the hotel is relatively small there is a great ambience and easy to get to know other guests especially during the animation sessions of Aqua gym (such fun!). The entertainment in the evening starts with a mini disco for the children which they love followed by various programmes that are always entertaining and sometime quite interactive with the audience.

I would recommend this hotel for all ages including families with young children.

The hotel is a good 20 minutes walk from the main area of Kos town but is a pleasant and easy walk with lots to see en route. However, there are regular buses that pass and taxis are cheap and easy to hail down or book.

It is also very easy and cheap to hire bikes and there are cycle paths everywhere.

Do visit the old town of Kos as this is a lovely area to wander around with lovely gift shops.

I will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
776 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
Eurovillage Achilleas Hotel
#6 of 16 in Mastichari
810 reviews
2.7 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#20 of 48 in Kos Town
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel

Address: Nea Alikarnassos | Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $67 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel kós
Apollon Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing