We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs an update!”
Review of Astron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astron Hotel
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, needs an update!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Astron Hotel is ideally located at the harbour of Kos which gives you a great view whilst having breakfast in the morning or a drink in the afternoon or evening.
However, it could do with an update of the rooms!

Furniture is old, somewhat worn, beds and the 1 chair in de room are very low. For elderly people this will cause a problem when getting up. Beds are VERY hard.
Bathroom is really sad.... dark brown/orange tiles, bath with repairs in another color, grouting had seen better days too. Shower gave only 3 tiny beams of water, took me ages to wash my hair. Toilet is really a disaster - your "produce" doesn't flush but stays in the bottom of the bowl. Sometimes I just emptied a bucket of water into it to make sure that it would go, otherwise you could still smell it.

I was first put into room 111 but this had a VERY tiny balcony (I first had to pull back the chair into the room, step onto the balcony and grap back the chair to sit on) and more importantly, I couldn't feel any wind coming into the room since it was located in a corner of the building. It faces the elimentary school so you are woken every morning at 07:45 by children playing there - and they are just as loud as children here! :-)

Bathroom there was light and airy and with a large washbasin area - had a much better feeling about it than the room (27) into which I was transferred after 3 nights. However, room 111 still has (blue) carpet on the floor whilst the new room had white tiles, that gave a cleaner impression.

Breakfast area is small which causes a queue almost every morning. Routing is not to the best of the possibilities so that sometimes you are just "stuck" between other guests.
Assortment is okay for Greek standards. However the scrambled eggs are a bit rubbery, the fried eggs are cooked in oil, the boiled eggs are always cold and green. Mushrooms, bacon and sausages are not crispy but just swimming in oil. A little bit more love and attention wouldn't do any harm. Everything is always replenished quickly.

If you accept all this and just want a well located hotel for a holiday where you spent most of your time outside it's okay but the hotel could definitely do with an upgrade. As soon as that's done, I'll be back.

3 positive "points" I should mention: Tony, Joanna and Adam at the reception are wonderful people that will help you with any questions you may have and make you feel welcome! Thnk you for being so kind to me!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    116
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
44
126
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived late on a wednesday night greeted by a lovely receptionist ionna and found our room was exactly what we booked, twin room overlooking pool with aircon and balcony. After reading other reviews i was surprised how good breakfast was, it included mushrooms,eggs,fried,boiled and scrambled,bacon or sausage and the usual bread, fruit, ham, cheese,coffee, juice etc, angela was always on hand to help. The pool is served by katerina who was excellent,even brought drinks to our sunbeds. There were no towels reserving beds, everyone came and went and we never found a problem getting a bed. Parking was free in a secure car park at rear of hotel. The location is spot on for kos town and we will return to this hotel next time we visit greece.

Room Tip: quieter facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NTP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night at each end of our holiday to Leros. Got exactly what we booked. Fabulous balcony view overlooking the harbour. Breakfast was fine with good lean bacon. Helpful reception. Yes the hotel is a bit worn but we had a fridge with complimentary water and the much needed air con was included. For the money and convenience of walking to & from the port, no complaints from us.

Room Tip: We thought it worth the extra for rooms overlooking the harbour, in our case 202 & 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went to the Astron under no illusions, the breakfast was more of a token gesture (complimentary i think they describe it) often cold, slowly replenished & aimed mainly at the scandinavian market who enjoy cornflakes,cucumber, topped with yoghurt....Johnny foreigner eh!.....apart from my wife & myself we met one other english couple in a fully booked hotel, scands, germans, dutch & eastern europeans making up the numbers. I found the hotel & pool area spotlessly clean. the room was small but functional with a small fridge and a not much bigger bathroom, no bath but a modern shower cubical. The hotels situation is perfect turn right to the old town left to the beach area...just one final thing that i found quite amusing was the strictness to the rules, people bringing their own food & drink to the pool area or letting children play in the pool unsupervised or worse still talking a bit loud on their balcony after 2300 hrs are not exactly shot at dawn but made to feel that they could be....bit OTT but it works The Astrons OK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNYHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Clean and functional are two words I would use to describe this harbour side hotel. Great seating area at the front, which overlooks onto the hussle and bussle of Kos Town. The bar area lacks charm, and the waitress a smile, but don't let that put you off because, it's clean, and plenty of seating if your ever after just taking 'two' and watching the world go by.
The pool area is busy, the music a little 'tacky', and there is a Jacuzzi area.
The reception is always on hand, and all receptionists are very helpful, (which is more than can be said for the barwoman who struts around determined not to put a crack in the pout that will never smile. She's a difficult one). Now, onto the real nasty stuff, the breakfasts. Get your armour on, your elbows ready...because the breakfast run is a must. Herded like cattle into a really small area, too small for five people. The breakfast is a good mixture of continental and UK, but the seating area and initial gathering to get it just make the whole experience rather disappointing.
Overall, nice little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillerman93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Astron is a nice family-style hotel overlooking the harbour in Kos. It is not flashy or new, but I like it and go back there every time I am in Kos. The position is nice, having breakfast on the harbor is nice, and the restaurants are but a minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour - but numbers are limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

we were at astron at june 2013,and enjoyed our stay very much.me,my wife and 2 daughters (7,16years) all was satisfied by the location and also great surprise was that room was very silent.brekfast was basic but good enough. poolarea was clean and at that time of year we got sunbeds easily for all of us. cleaning of the room was super! we make a comeback soon...
actually in september 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akipetteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#70 of 217 in Kos
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kos Town
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#20 of 48 in Kos Town
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astron Hotel

Property: Astron Hotel
Address: 31 Akti Kountourioti, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astron Hotel Kos Town
Astron Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing