We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service, location and cleanliness”
Review of Astron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astron Hotel
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Service, location and cleanliness”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in this charming hotel for one night only on 24 July 2013 and wished we had booked more room nights. Not only is Kos a charming and vibrant island, Hotel Astron was terrific. Not knowing what I was booking, the location was fantastic, on the main street and a 15 minute walk from the ferry terminal. The hotel has recently gone through an upgrade of its swimming pool area and the showers downstairs are very, very clean. The room was good with a nice view of the swimming pool. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Joanna on the front desk at check in was very busy as the hotel was full but extremely helpful with a smile for you. Katerina in the pool area was lovely and runs the pool area in an efficient manner with time for a chat. We had a great time and only wish we had booked extra nights. Thank you George (manager) to you and your staff for making our time very enjoyable and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    117
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
45
128
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Astron hotel is in a very convenient location in the centre of town and an easy 15 minutes walk from the ferry terminal.
This is an old hotel which has had a facelift. Some of the refurbishments appear to have been cheaply done, with mixed results.
The public areas are spacious and quite impressive. Our room, at the side of the building, was not spacious and had a balcony. The balcony did not give much privacy, as we discovered when neighbours on both sides stepped out on to their balconies to smoke a cigarette. Double glazing on the balcony door/window was very effective in reducing noise from outside (there was plenty of it).
The room was a bit cramped with furniture, but was comfortable and clean enough.
The bathroom was small, but had ample space to store toiletries. It was equipped with a very basic hand held shower over the bath. The shower head fell off its hook several times while I was showering, which was annoying. Temperature of the water was just warm. Another feature of the bathroom was a very old hairdryer which stank of years accumulation of cigarette smoke. I did not enjoy using this gadget.
The beds were comfortable, with nice clean sheets.
The reception desk staff varied in their competence and interpersonal skills. The gentleman who worked in the mornings was polite and helpful. The young lady on the desk in the afternoons appeared to have a poor command of English. She was at times abrupt, officious and unhelpful.
Breakfast was a reasonable spread, but the choice of cereals was confined to cornflakes and chocolate flavoured cornflakes. The coffee at breakfast was dreadful.
Wireless internet was not good. We experienced connectivity problems with both our Ipad and laptop. Other guests experienced similar problems.
The pool was good, but opening hours were very limited.
Good WiFi, pleasant, helpful staff and drinkable coffee are important to us. For this reason, we would not stay at this hotel again. If these things are not so important to you, you may well enjoy staying at the Astron. There are some things the hotel does get right.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Hotel is in a very good location on the port/harbour and within a 15 minute walk (with luggage) from the Ferry Terminal. The rooms are very basic, but are clean and tidy. The hotel is close to all amenities, buses, restaurants, etc. The staff are very polite and helpful. The price including breakfast is reasonable value.

The real plus is not only its location, pricing, but it has a good pool, spa and of course you can get someone to serve your drinks whilst you enjoy the sun and a swim.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the pool. Whilst the rooms at the front of the hotel has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

For our one night transit in Kos, we had booked & paid for a Junior suite with a harbour view. On arrival they denied all knowledge, and gave us a family suite at the back of a hotel. Despite much arguing they said they didnt have a sea view room available. So instead of waking up to see the harbour as we expected, all we got was a view over lots of other cramped balconies. Not a pretty sight. After a lot of emails with our agent, the hotel have admitted their mistake and offered a refund. But it was a bad start to the holiday.
Bathrooms are very small, and the rooms at the back of the hotel are dark with intermittent Wifi. The only good thing about the Astron is the location ie close to the bars, restaurants and ferry terminal. The Breakfast buffet at 9am is a bun fight, not enough space for the hoards of package holiday makers. Plus cold fried eggs and stewed coffee. We wished we'd got up early to avoid the crowds.
Best rooms are undoubtedly the Junior Suites (which we had booked following other Tripadvisor reports) which have harbour views : Best of all are second floor rooms 201 to 206. But even if you book them, you can't be sure of getting them.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites with sea view 201 to 206 are worth the extra IF you can get some sort of guarantee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Outdated rooms, but clean hotel, 2 min walk from the center of town, 15 min walk to the ferry terminal (even if you have wheeled luggage).
Breakfast ok.
Staff very polite and helpfull.
I will stay there again if I want to stan in the town, foro a good price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavlosGRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed for a week at the Astron and had a brilliant time..the location cannot be beaten-it is right on the harbour( only one other with the same location-kosta palace)... we ate breakfast every morning on the front veranda watching the fishermen sort their catch out and mend their nets. lovely mixed breakfast with great coffee,rolls,cake,yoghurt,fruit,bacon,eggs,cheese,salad etc. lovely pool area out the back of the hotel with jacuzzi and baby pool too..nice condition sunbeds and shady area with a cafe..well kept outdoor furniture. you MUST get a room with harbour views as thats what makes the hotel so brilliant-its location. all the staff were super friendly and so helpful..the bar at the front is a great place to relax..try the white wine in kos- its fab!

Room Tip: go for a harbour view if you can..or a pool view otherwise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 66min66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Astron is perfectly located right on the harbour front and 50 metres from the central roundabout of Kos Town. Everything is within a short walk. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the lifts swift and efficient. The first room we were given reeked of smoke and reception very swiftly moved us to another, where we stayed for 4 nights. The room was good but the water temperature in the bathroom was seldom above lukewarm. Better storage space for clothing would have helped, and it would also be good to have a safe in the room, as seems to be the norm these days.

The pool area was spacious, well-appointed with plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas, and also toilets and hot showers adjacent. But why on earth do they close it at 6pm, just the time when you have come back from a day's sightseeing, it's still more than 2 hours to sunset, and you want a swim?

Then we come on to the breakfast. It's a really big spread they lay on but why do they spoil it with the worst coffee in the world? An 'espresso' cannot ever be made from very cheap instant coffee! Also the 'fruit juice' was thin coloured water.

Other reviewers have mentioned the roof terrace. I don't know how long ago that was but now it's locked and all that is up there is a maze of solar panels, air conditioning units and pipework.

With a little bit of thought this could very easily be a really nice hotel, but they are missing out on these really simple things, which is a pity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor so your balcony is not overlooked. The front row of rooms are suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#61 of 218 in Kos
508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#22 of 48 in Kos Town
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#83 of 218 in Kos
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kos Town
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#32 of 48 in Kos Town
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astron Hotel

Property: Astron Hotel
Address: 31 Akti Kountourioti, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astron Hotel Kos Town
Astron Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing