We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Afendoulis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Afendoulis
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

There is always a sincere welcome from Alexis and family when arriving at Afendoulis, Late or early, arriving by air or sea, nothing is too much trouble to ensure you are comfortably ensconced as soon as you step through the jasmine scented patio into this small and comfortable hotel. Situated just five minutes walk from the centre of Kos, the Afendoulis is in a quiet residential street just a stroll from the sea and views to the Turkish mainland.

Alexis' breakfasts are justifiably famed featuring conserves made from fruit grown on his own farm, after a comfortable night's sleep in air-conditioned rooms each with their own balcony.

Afendoulis gets a great many visitors from Europe and beyond. Everyone appreciates Alexis' encyclopaedic knowledge of Kos Island and the ways and means of getting to the smaller islands of the Dodecanese.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treynetta h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
125
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We agree with other reviews listing Hotel Afendoulis as excellent. Arrived late in the afternoon from Athens. Alexis was very welcoming and informative. We had dinner across the road that night - many good restaurants close by. Hotel Afendoulis location is excellent. We hired bikes for 3 consecutive days - riding generally flat, with a few hills (and great views) to the thermal springs. Good designated bicycle paths in Kos Town. We rode to Asclepio ruins, which was amazing.

Room Tip: We were at the front - looking down to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimChrisGladigau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay of three nights at Hotel Afendoulis in May 2014. Breakfast was delicious. Alexis and his family were very hospitable and we greatly appreciated being dropped off at the wharf for a ferry to Bodrum/Turkey and being picked up from the Greek ferry from Rhodes and Symi. Location is central in Kos town.and in close proximity to great restaurants (H20), bars and cafes. Enjoyed the Greek Taverna across the road too. Incredibly easy to hire bicycles around either corner, right on the bike path and very close to a variety of beaches. Kos is easy to explore on a bike. This is a great location for independent travelers, families and those who don't want to stay in resorts. Rates were very reasonable and great value for money. It deserves its 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. Thank you Alexis.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMc002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our ferry arrived at 5:30 AM and when our taxi arrived at the door Alexis was there waiting with our key and the words that when we awoke hours later, we should come down for breakfast. Our week at the Afendoulis was defined by the care of their family including their mid-twenties daughter Sunday (we called her Sunny) who will be a wonderful manager in the years to come.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We've just come back from a mini trip in the Greek Islands with my wife and two daughters (aged 15 and 10). We spent one night in Kos and we were very lucky to stay at Alexis' lovely place, hotel Afendoulis. The hotel is located within 10 minutes walk of the city center, is very clean and has the level of comfort that one needs for a family. But above all this, what is really worth mentioning is Alexis and his family's hospitality. We really felt like staying with old friends. That's what we like about Greece, especially about Greek Islands, the friendliness of its people. And that is what we loved about Hotel Afendoulis. Oh, let's not forget to mention the delicious homemade breakfast. Yummy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel and we love it. The room is clean and spacious, with a balcony which we can relax and sit for a cup of tea. It's hosted by a warm family, they provide helpful services such as laundry and restaurant recommendations. Their breakfast is delicious, cost extra 5Euro per head and it's worth it. The pumpkin jam and tomato jam are the must try, taste great with yogurt. There are two things which needs to be improve. The curtain doesn't block much of the sun light in the morning, and the bed which has squeaky noise - Not too good for some couple.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StepByStepExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I thoroughly recommend Hotel Afendoulis for its hospitality, location, comfort and professionalism. Alexis and his family are masters of hospitality. Throughout our stay they were incredibly generous with their time, and very accommodating of our requests for specific rooms, 3am arrivals, and extensions to check out times. Easter eggs and a roast lunch (Easter Sunday) were a definite highlight! A great family; a relaxing and joyful place to stay.

Our room was modest, clean, comfortable and good value. Breakfast is excellent, with relaxing and sociable common areas. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our third floor room had a nice balcony and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kos Town
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.2 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#20 of 48 in Kos Town
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afendoulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afendoulis

Property: Hotel Afendoulis
Address: 1 Evripilou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed for its friendliness and informal atmosphere, Afendoulis Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel, conveniently located in a quiet area very close to Kos town center and the yachting Marina. The beach is only a hundred meters away. Shops, restaurants, bars and night-life activities, car, bicycle and motorbike rental are all very close by. Located on a tranquil, tree-lined street just off the beach road on the eastern part of town, Afendoulis Hotel is perfect for families as well as the more discerning back-packing traveller. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afendoulis Hotel Kos Town
Hotel Afendoulis Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing