We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value in a family hotel”
Review of Hotel Afendoulis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Afendoulis
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Wonderful value in a family hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is family owned and run and that is its real value proposition. Alexis is superb, efficient but friendly and very helpful. It is all so unfussy and yet satisfactory from the booking right through the entire experience.
We had a medical crisis with one of our party and they arranged for a doctor and followed progress with more care and concern than you would ever receive in the usual run of hotels. It was almost as though one of his own family had taken sick. That says a great deal about the standard of the hotel and their client care.
By the way, the medical service here in Greece was excellent too, better that we would have got in the UK on a Friday evening, they were quick to respond, very professional and effective too. Top marks to Greece!

The rooms are small, but very clean, air conditioned and with all the necessary facilities. They do not do evening meals but opposite is a small and efficient and satisfactory restaurant. The breakfasts were of that great Greek standard and very relaxed.

You will not beat Afendoulis for satisfaction and value for money.

Than you Alexis, you and your family, we shall not forget you and you wish you every continued success.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
125
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is really more than I could have expected. All the positive reviews are 100% correct. The cleanliness, the calm atmosphere of the hotel and hospitality of Alexis' and his family made sure I will definitely stay here the next time I visit. Alexis was very helpful with advice what to see around the island. If you are looking for cosy, clean, quiet hotel close to the center – Afendoulis has it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgneNyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great find just a few blocks from the hustle and bustle of the waterfront, and town centre. Quiet tree lined street with a beautiful jasmine hedge in front. Family run by Alexis, his wife and daughter who were charming and very helpful. We rented bikes from a place a block away for very little--best way to get around, bike lanes and trails throughout the town and environs. Great breakfasts with home made jams and marmelades.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docshox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was my favourite hotel in Greece. Family run by Alexis, his wife and daughter who are all very welcoming and full of good tips on what to see on Kos. Located in a quiet tree lined street, a short bike ride or walk from the town centre and close to the water. There's a good restaurant next door for lunch or dinner. The hotel breakfast is fantastic with homemade jams made with fruit from Alexis' garden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We loved our stay at the Hotel Afendoulis. We arrived tired and hungry and were fed homemade feta omelets with fresh bread and five kinds of homemade marmalade by Alexi. Thank you! The room was clean, beds comfy and it had a little balcony overlooking a quiet street just a block from the waterfront area. The personal touches and warm welcome from Alexi and his family make all the difference in unfamiliar surroundings. I would return in a heart beat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

10 mn walking distance from the busy and noisy center, a perfect peaceful hotel. Not many rooms, quiet area and nice people to welcome you. Family atmosphere. Breakfast is gorgeous (homemade marmelade & jam). Perfect combination and reasonable price. Very authentic, very rare on this island...

Room Tip: Ask for front accommodation maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benirama_Benoit-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My daughter and I arranged to meet a long-standing good friend from Australia who is touring the Greek Islands for a 7-night stay. We booked the Afendoulis blind. We were all delighted with this choice. Alexis and his family are charming, nothing is too much trouble to them - we were made to feel like celebrities in the most beguilling and humorous way. Every aspect of the hotel and its service were excellent. We feel that we have uncovered a Greek jewel. We will most certainly make a return visit and would thoroughly recommend a great value stay to anyone seeking a break in Kos close to all the town's amenities.
Many thanks Alexis and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kos Town
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 48 in Kos Town
369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
1.2 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#20 of 48 in Kos Town
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afendoulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afendoulis

Property: Hotel Afendoulis
Address: 1 Evripilou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed for its friendliness and informal atmosphere, Afendoulis Hotel is a family owned and operated hotel, conveniently located in a quiet area very close to Kos town center and the yachting Marina. The beach is only a hundred meters away. Shops, restaurants, bars and night-life activities, car, bicycle and motorbike rental are all very close by. Located on a tranquil, tree-lined street just off the beach road on the eastern part of town, Afendoulis Hotel is perfect for families as well as the more discerning back-packing traveller. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afendoulis Hotel Kos Town
Hotel Afendoulis Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing