We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendlyand helpful, beautifully appointed, centrally located.”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super friendlyand helpful, beautifully appointed, centrally located.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Sonia met us on arrival, introduced her family and made us very welcome and at ease. Lovely air conditioned rooms. Minutes to the port and souvenir shopping, very good greek restaurants within a couple of minutes walk and a 10 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Despite being very close to the main dining and shopping areas ofKos town the hotel is very quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    87
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
171
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in May on our way to patmos.we were helped with our luggage,without which we could not have managed the steep stairs,and offered welcome drinks.......we're then offered advice in where to eat ,clearly friends !we had visited many times,and knew where was good already,but we were assumed to be new.the beds were very comfortable,shower good and extremely clean.the breakfast left a lot to be desired!stale rolls,pre packaged croissants ,boiled eggs either rock hard or not cooked and slimy.in a small room covered in in polythene blinds....not good for claustrophobics!!coffe o.k. But in big mugs,prefer cups and saucers.Generally helpful family,but made big mistake adding assumed "welcome drinks" to the bill!!there are other hotels with good views for the same price,and much better breakfasts.

Room Tip: Room overlooking sea........wi fi does not work in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located yet quiet, and with balcony, WiFi, air conditioning, comfortable bed and a modern bathroom, we were very happy at the Sonia. Breakfast on the terrace was a great start to the day - no shortage of good strong coffee, lovely toasties, and even home made marmalade. Great value too - thank you; we hope we will be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank captainpigsfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Sonia and John for a very pleasent stay at Hotel Sonia.
The room/bathroom were fresh and clean wlth a nice balcony .
Always hot water , and the A/C functioned very good.
The Hotel is located right in the center of Kos town however the neighbourhood is very quit.
We are coming back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kjelleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

As others have already stated, this place is handy to the foreshore but don't think you'll get views of the harbour; what you'll get is trees, walls and roads. The staff are very friendly and helpful but, if you need a ticket on a ferry, it's just as easy to buy them at the wharf on the day. Vouchers aren't any advantage at all.
The breakfast was what let this place down for us, it's very limited if you're used to something more substantial.
The room was very good; clean and enough space. It is upstairs though but someone was on hand to help us with our luggage so that's not a problem.
Overall, happy except for the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I came without a reservation and they ensured me a place to sleep! So close to the harbour, only about a 5 minute walk away. Also for English travellers they can speak English! Clean bathrooms and showers which was pleasant! And a lovely sitting area outside!
Would definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

An excellent family alternative to a resort hotel. You will feel highly welcome from the first minute. Well maintained and clean rooms, and the staff make this small hotel to a hidden diamond. You are only two minutes walk from the downtown by the waterfront, but almost secluded.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnarHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#20 of 49 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#7 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.9 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#12 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#82 of 218 in Kos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Property: Hotel Sonia
Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing