We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect little family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect little family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I came without a reservation and they ensured me a place to sleep! So close to the harbour, only about a 5 minute walk away. Also for English travellers they can speak English! Clean bathrooms and showers which was pleasant! And a lovely sitting area outside!
Would definitely recommend!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    86
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
57
168
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

An excellent family alternative to a resort hotel. You will feel highly welcome from the first minute. Well maintained and clean rooms, and the staff make this small hotel to a hidden diamond. You are only two minutes walk from the downtown by the waterfront, but almost secluded.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnarHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

After traveling for some time, I passed through Kos town for 1 night. Ironically, this was the best Accomodation I had stayed in months at a reasonable price. The rooms were large. The beds super comfortable. Linens very clean and crisp. The bathroom, large and very updated with a great shower. The balcony was a bonus but the room alone was excellent. If only all the places I've stayed in could be like this.

Very nice family. One of Sonia's sons came to pick me up at the port which was great because I had a lot of things with me although they are a near walk to everything. He even mailed out a package for me after I had left. Just a very welcoming and genuinely helpful family. And for once, I felt like the room had really been cleaned well.

Great place. Stay here.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Island_Paradis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My first stay at Sonia's. A great location, very near to the port and town centre so easy walking to all the shops, restaurants and cultural sites in town. Sonia and her 2 sons are very friendly and welcoming. They provide maps of the town and are happy to answer any questions you have. We had a good sized very clean room for 3 with a nice balcony. The breakfast was simple and well cooked.

Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel located in an excellent location - few minutes away from the port and from city centre - agora. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. Rooms are really clean and comfortable. Highly recommended, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend to stay in the second floor - rooms have balconies with a partial view to harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karolis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed one week in September 2013.
Good , clean, basic rooms, with nice bathrooms. Little in the way of toiletries, so bring your own soap.
Simple breakfast, but can be upgraded for small extra cost.
Sonia and the lads very pleasant and helpful, especially with cases. Very near Kos Town cemtre, but in a fairly quiet area. Good value for the price.
Not good for anyone with walking difficulties, as there some stairs to climb.
They are not too keen on credit cards, although they take deposits via the internet by card.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollandNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

My first stay at Sonia's, lovely people, very welcoming. Location is central with easy walking to lots of sites, beaches, restaurants etc. My family has stayed there many times & I would definitely book again!
I loved relaxed breakfast on the terrace!
We were treated like family & they went to extra trouble to make our stay even more memorable with my niece getting married & leaving from the Hotel! Lovely!

Thank you Sonia & her sons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
1.2 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#5 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#20 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#85 of 224 in Kos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Property: Hotel Sonia
Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kos Town
#6 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing