We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Kos Town”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Kos Town”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My first stay at Sonia's. A great location, very near to the port and town centre so easy walking to all the shops, restaurants and cultural sites in town. Sonia and her 2 sons are very friendly and welcoming. They provide maps of the town and are happy to answer any questions you have. We had a good sized very clean room for 3 with a nice balcony. The breakfast was simple and well cooked.

Good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    87
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
172
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Hotel located in an excellent location - few minutes away from the port and from city centre - agora. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. Rooms are really clean and comfortable. Highly recommended, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Would recommend to stay in the second floor - rooms have balconies with a partial view to harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karolis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed one week in September 2013.
Good , clean, basic rooms, with nice bathrooms. Little in the way of toiletries, so bring your own soap.
Simple breakfast, but can be upgraded for small extra cost.
Sonia and the lads very pleasant and helpful, especially with cases. Very near Kos Town cemtre, but in a fairly quiet area. Good value for the price.
Not good for anyone with walking difficulties, as there some stairs to climb.
They are not too keen on credit cards, although they take deposits via the internet by card.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollandNorthDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My first stay at Sonia's, lovely people, very welcoming. Location is central with easy walking to lots of sites, beaches, restaurants etc. My family has stayed there many times & I would definitely book again!
I loved relaxed breakfast on the terrace!
We were treated like family & they went to extra trouble to make our stay even more memorable with my niece getting married & leaving from the Hotel! Lovely!

Thank you Sonia & her sons.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I stay at hotel sonia for 5 days it was amazing, thw rooms are new and full comfortable. The hotel is very near to center. The owmera are very friendly and helpful always like to help any time. I strongly recommend to anyone for pleasant holidays in kos island!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akapetanios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have just had our fourth stay at Hotel Sonia. This is a terrace style hotel run by Sonia and her family. The suites were refurbished in 2011 to a high standard. Sonia and her family made us feel so welcome and nothing is a problem - from recommendations of where to eat, what see and do on Kos, transport etc. Hotel Sonia is ideally located just one block from the harbour foreshore which is lined with restaurants and a very short walk to the Old Town Kos for some fabulous shopping. Our room was lovely with ensuite, flat screen TV, mini fridge, airconditioning, double glazing and super comfortable beds. Each morning Sonia does the most fabulous breakfast made with local fresh food and her omelette is delicious. All served on a fabulous terrace. Sonia and her family always make you feel so welcome she will go to great lengths to ensure that your stay is perfect.

Room Tip: Most suites have a balcony with views. Corner suites are large and sunny with a wrap around balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorellanBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Mrs Sonia and her son are the most welcoming hosts . The Hotel is very well located just behind the harbour. Rooms are well appointed with all what you need and a beautiful terrace. Mrs Sonia is very helpfull also on sightseeing and informations about Kos. I will certainly come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manfred h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#23 of 48 in Kos Town
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 48 in Kos Town
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 48 in Kos Town
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.8 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#69 of 217 in Kos
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Property: Hotel Sonia
Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing