We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Hotel Sonia in Kos and as always it was like 'going home'!The hotel is excellent and the rooms also are very clean and comfortable with air-condition,fridge,hair-dryer,free wi-fi and lux bathrooms!!The first Greek hotel I have visited that the shower water was hot all the time day or night. Would recommend it to any all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 397 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in July whilst touring the Greek Islands. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was everything we desired. Sonia and the rest of the staff were very friendly and made us feel really welcome. Our room on the first floor had a small balcony with a view of the harbour. The room was spotless. The bed was so comfortable and the bedding was first class. We found the shower to be perfect. The free internet was very fast and reliable. Being close to the old town meant that everything was just a short walk away and we could even come back for a rest in the afternoon. We highly recommend the Hotel Sonia for your stay in Kos town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on the way to patmos. Good location, friendly staff. Room was small and bed also, not completely silent surroundings but didn't bother me. Renovated WC, minor design issues in WC like shower cabinet is too big for the room. It's a good budget choice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my vacation, from the 7th until the 11th of June 2013. My original plan was to stay there for the weekend but I liked the place so much that I extended my stay for three more nights. The hotel is located in the centre of the city of Kos and very close to the ferry port. It was very clean and the prices where excellent for the services offered. Our hosts were friendly and helped with problems that their guests faced during their vacation; they were able to accommodate me for three more nights even though the hotel was heavily booked and they arranged accommodation for a guest who lost his flight. Due to the last minute change on my plans I changed room twice. The hotel was refurbished recently so all three rooms I stayed in were in excellent condition. The available room types balance between the facilities offered and price, and can accommodate a range of personal tastes. Just be sure that you book the correct room type in the booking site. Overall it is a very beautiful place where someone can relax and enjoy his/her vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kafanas_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Sonia for a couple of nights at the end of May and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mrs Sonia and the rest of the staff were very friendly and made us feel really welcome. We had a room on the first floor with a nice balcony which gave a partial view of the harbour. The room was very quiet and the beds very comfortable. The location of Hotel Sonia is very convenient, a short walk of the town's centre with all shops and restaurants. Parking was easy and free just outside the hotel. Continental breakfast (toasted bread, butter and jam, fruit juice, tea/coffee, egg) was included in the room rate but it was possible to buy additional things from a menu. We highly recommend Hotel Sonia for your stay in Kos town.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a nicer view and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbles2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose Hotel Sonia as we were arriving from Bodrum on the ferry and the hotel is only a 10 minute walk. Walk to the right when you disembark and there will be plenty of people to point you in the right direction after that. Sonia was helpful and kind. We had paid for an inclusive breakfast and this was just continental but did come with a boiled egg - done to our particular liking. The hotel is close to the centre of everything, including some marvellous archaeological sights. There is just one downside to this place - the huge flight of steps we had to navigate with all our luggage. Not suitable for the disabled or elderly, and frankly we struggled with our 20kg suitcases. I would stay again but only if I was travelling lightly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keziah_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Sonia will do anything she can to make sure you have a great stay. Its clean, quiet , and in the centre of everything. I would def stay here again. She can help you organize anything you need in kos or even on other islands. Her 2 sons are there to help as well. Thanks sonia

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotttpizzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.7 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#29 of 48 in Kos Town
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#9 of 48 in Kos Town
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#19 of 48 in Kos Town
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peridis Family Resort
Peridis Family Resort
#18 of 48 in Kos Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $34 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sonia 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing