We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than helpful!”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sonia
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Helpful not once, not twice but three times!

I arrived very early morning on the boat from Syros and the owner's son very kindly picked me up at the port. I suppose I could have queued for a taxi but it was a very appreciated gesture. When at the hotel I expected that I would have to wait for a number of hours before a room was ready for me but before long one was ready for me and it was an upgrade too! So very kind of them.

However, what showed that they were really prepared to go the extra mile and more was the following day after I had left for the island of Nisyros. I discovered that I had left my identity card at the hotel. MAJOR PANIC! Yet again Hotel Sonia showed great service. Not to worry they said - they would send it to me on the next ferry from Kos to Nisyros. Sure enough I got it as promised. This indeed is great service.

What else do I need to say? My room was clean, comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubensatcomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 395 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Sonia

We read the reviews and in some parts agree, though in summary I think the best phase to describe Hotel Sonia is 'you get what you pay for'!

Room.....we moved original allocated room (room 10) because it was too noisy, we could hear other guests having their breakfast early morning. We asked to be moved and was given a bigger room (room 5) which was much nice and quieter. We did have to pay a little extra for the bigger room though. All rooms are quite basic but very clean. The showers are fine and the air-con is good and they did provide a fan when asked which was nice.

Beds.....I've never experienced back ache like it. I aged 50 years 'sleeping' on hard slabs of bedding. Whilst some might like this, it was truly awful leading to sleeping on a lilo! I dreaded bed-time!

Breakfast.....Was ok but not great. You had a choice of toast and 1 egg should you choose it, coffee and orange. The bowl of jam and marmalade with the toast was always served in the same 2 tub everyday which i didnt like, couldnt help but think how many germs were on the bowls. Other breakfast options were available such as an omelette or toastie which you had to pay extra for but these were nice.

Location......as they say location, location, location. This is the prominent attribute of the hotel located nicely behind the harbour but within 2mins walking. It is quiet enough on the street with windows closed. We did have a room with a balcony though in the shade after 10am.

Staff.....Were friendly and helpful. Cleaner was very good!

Facilities.....The rooms do lack a kettle for making your own drinks although all extra drinks and food is available on site but at a cost. Bit inconvenient if you wanted a coffee first thing.

Checking out..... Was good. We had a late night flight and had to check out of our room at 12pm. Sonia and her sons kindly let us leave our bags in their secure office and then let us use a room for a couple of hours to shower and get ready for our flight home. Although we did have to pay extra for this we did appricate it.

All in I'd go back knowing what i know now but only for a couple of days. Kos Town is a lovely place. We stayed for 1 week in August and feel we would have been better staying somewhere with a pool that we could relax by a little as it was very hot, however if you are only there for a few days to explore the area then this is a great hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Room 10 or a balcony room floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulstevens_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was the second time we went to Kos, and the second time we stayed at Hotel Sonia. No reason to think of going anywhere else, because we loved it there the first time, and we loved it the second time just as much! Sonia, Yiannis and Afedoulis, you are the most hospitable and friendly people, and this review comes with a warm recommendation for everyone to stay at your hotel, to eat your yummy feta omelette, to smell the jasmine in your lovely garden and to have a great time in Kos. Thanks for everything! Give Liza a hug.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy: ask for room number 14, 15 or 16. They're down at the garden, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanne_Ruud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

rooms very very clean, positions: central of the city and the most important thing : Sonia's family very very nice and helpful :) breakfast: jam homemade excellent :D a lot of possibilities (greek yoghurth with honey, omelette with feta, bacon or fried eggs with bacon) breakfast on the terrace very very nice :) very good for families and couples and holiday with friends too :D
very very good quality in terms of value for money. The hotel is perfectly in the city center and near there are a lot of bars and restaurants. Parking on the street in front of the hotel :)
I recommed this hotel absolutely :D for us was wonderful :D

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

You can find a very friendly environment, thanks to the owners of the hotel who are really kind and helpful. Even better, prices are fitting the whole service...that means: clean rooms with all comforts at 5 min walk from the city center. You'll like it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The owner Sonia and here family was providing an fantastic and warm hospitality, and you feel that you are taking care of and treated as a special guest from day one of the stay.
Most of the rooms have been refurnished recently and provide a very good quality in terms of value for money.
The hotel is situated perfectly close to the harbor and the old town and just a short walk from the restaurants down town.
We also strongly recommend to order the omelet for breakfast that Sonia is preparing personally for you - and as we did every morning - a great coffy on the balcony.
If you are looking for a genuine greece atmosphere and hospitality - this is the place!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May Britt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great little hotel! Really close to the harbor and good walking distance to everything. Currently the rooms are limited (I think there's only 6) and they're all upstairs but the hotel is in the process of renovating the bottom floor and adding an elevator. As it stands, the rooms are very modern with a newly renovated bathroom. Once again I have a Great little balcony and I can see the ocean! Sonia is super nice and makes breakfast every morning and asks about your plans. She's originally from Kos and has all sorts of tips on things to do. I read in a guidebook this hotel used to be a cheap pension (hence the prices) but since they're renovating and updating they kept the prices the same while they upgrade. Fine by me as it means I can afford a great, chic hotel on a grad student budget!

I do want to make on addendum though. Upon checking out this morning I did find out that they charge extra for Greek yogurt at breakfast, a staple at all other hotels. While it only amount to about an additional 2 euro charge, I was mostly annoyed that this wasn't made clear up front.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyriou, Owner at Hotel Sonia, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you very much Ms Megan for your kindly reply,also we are sorry for the misunderstanding but we explain to all the people the extra costs!!
Now we would like to inform you that we have 13 newly renovated rooms and we put pricelists with all the costs in the rooms and we are looking forward to see you next time in our Hotel.

Kind regards
Afedoulis Argyriou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
1.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
0.2 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#62 of 219 in Kos
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#31 of 48 in Kos Town
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#19 of 48 in Kos Town
279 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kos Town
#6 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $24 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sonia 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing