We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in August and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is run impeccably and I can't praise the staff highly enough-the management, house keeping, reception and good and beverage teams were brilliant, non of them could be faulted for their hard work, welcoming smiles or chat. They take the effort to know all their guests and their preferences!!!

Food and drink is served throughout the day around the pool and in the beach. Cuvée restaurant serves a fantastic meal, the bar food is also good for something less formal and lighter. The wine was great-we were fortunate to receive a mini wine tasting one night before dinner! Breakfast was good everyday-hot food menu as well as a wide variety of fruit, breads, yoghurt, cake, cereal....

The hotel is spotless-rooms are cleaned twice daily, shower products were lovely and clean towels (for the room and pool) were in abundance.

The spa is good but be warned there is a 15 euro charge to use it each day-this put us off considerably, surely in a spa hotel the use of the spa should be included in the room price? The gym is free for guests, not massive but well laid out and very clean. We had a manicure/pedicure and they were both excellent - the staff in the spa were professional and good company.

Kos town itself is not the most picturesque holiday destination-the hotel is a 30 min walk away and not particularly nice, taxis are a bit of a nightmare to come by and can't be pre booked. The hotel make some good recommendations for where to go for dinner - a good idea to check as there are some dreadful places in Kos town.

It is worth hiring a car for the day and exploring the island-there are prettier beaches further afield. We did the three island boat tour recommended by the hotel with tigaki tours-it was fairly hideous, 91 people on a boat being choked by diesel and eating over cooked pork kebabs that had been cooked early that morning and wrapped in tin foil to keep them warm for lunch. I'd personally avoid this.

All in all though a fantastic hotel with excellent staff and service who made our stay hugely enjoyable-a big thank you to them all!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEB955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    78
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
454
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely week at this fabulous hotel. The hotel lives up to its five star status. Service was impeccable from the outset. We arrived to beaming smiles, a warm reception and welcome drink even though it was midnight. We were shown to our room and were offered a complimentary platter.

Every aspect of service from the hotel staff was exemplary. Noticeable features were their willingness to go out of their way to help, their knowledge of the guests and their totally positive demeanour, especially given the long days and hours they work. Throughout our stay the hotel was spotless and beautifully presented and it is true the towels are changed three times a day!

As of August 2014 the beach opposite the hotel is being currently developed by Maria and her team and is much improved from previous reviews. One development is that there is a direct service of food and drink to you on the beach. The sand is clean and the sea is totally inviting.

All in all a perfect hotel. Faultless and highly recommended in every way. Thank you to Maria and her staff for a perfect holiday. We have since recommended the hotel to our good friends and have just learnt they have booked their own Aqua Blu experience in September 2014. We are very jealous!

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with full sea vow that faces west, you will get a spectacular sunset every nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2014

My husband and I only spent 2 days there on our way to Patmos. The hotel itself is very new and definitely beautiful. I've read that some people didn't enjoy the beach, but I can't imagine why. It is quiet and secluded with beach chairs and umbrellas just for hotel guests. The sea was warm and salty and we really enjoyed swimming in it. The pool was nice as well, but we spent the majority of our day at the beach directly across the street. The food was delicious and the complimentary breakfast was AMAZING. We had french toast and a Greek omelet that was incredibly delicious. Most of the staff was so kind and helpful. Most, I say. The model woman who is the manager treated us with such disdain and as we watched her pleasantly greet other couples, she went out of her way to avoid us. Whatever her personal issue was, we couldn't have caused it - as we were there for such a short time and very friendly to everyone. Whatever the deal was, she was rude and not at all helpful, but everything else about the place was wonderful. Maybe we weren't wearing our "we are loaded and totally rich" t-shirts, but we certainly didn't do anything to cause her disdain. Her attitude kind of put a damper on the situation, but otherwise a really wonderful place to stay. The hotel is definitely located further away from town, not near the town center at all - but we usually prefer it that way. The only thing that would have made our stay better was a ride from the ferry port to the hotel. We tried getting a cab for almost 20 minutes and eventually gave up and just started walking to the hotel. It took us about a half hour to walk there, which wouldn't have been so horrible, except that we were carrying our luggage. When we arrived, they offered us a lovely complimentary drink and immediately checked us in. All in all, I loved this spot and would have loved to spend more time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIssusClown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay in Aqua Blu. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the staff, the service and the facilities of the hotel. It seems that you had an overall really good experience and this gives us great pleasure.
I am sorry to hear you wished more attention from my side. I welcomed and greeted you upon arrival, and we had a nice chat one afternoon that I found you sitting at the pool restaurant, you actually made some nice compliments to me! During the 2 days of your stay, in a fully booked hotel, it could be I did not get the opportunity to spend a lot more time with you, but I can assure you I do not choose who I talk with neither for how long! All guests are the same for me as they are all guests of Aqua Blu.
Thank you once again for your kind review on the hotel and I hope I get the chance to welcome you back in one of your future journeys and manage to offer you the personal attention that would be of your satisfaction.
Best Regards, Maria Strati, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

Cannot fault this place, staff, hotel, service, food, pool, bar all fantastic!
Stayed here in August for our honeymoon, greeted with a huge a smile outside, escorted in and the fab service continued, free reception drinks and champagne & dessert in room, escorted to the room to be showed how things work etc, waiter service around the pool & beach all day.
Michelin star chef producing fabulous food!!
All the staff ensuring you are ok on a regular basis, a very personal service!
Very modern hotel too, staff are very proud so it's always very clean! Cannot fault it, will defiantly be back!

Room Tip: Any room is fab, they are all open, so don't be shy when sharing or you could fund it embarrassi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkyrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

This Small Luxury hotel-branded hotel is apparently in its third season and still has teething problems, not least no emergency fire exit instructions or evidence of actual emergency exits, which SLH and the management say they are getting sorted out. It is 30 minutes walk from Kos town. The location is opposite a scrawny beach and military camp. The pool area and restaurant are stylish. The breakfasts good. The rooms on the small side and low ceilinged for a "suite". Only some have what you would term a direct sea view. We found the manager assiduous in sorting out problems. Kos itself is lively and well worth a visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cammy1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

When I started writing this small review, I am enjoying a fresh brewed espresso at the bar (always served with a big smile and a good morning by mr Vanghelis). This is part of my daily routine now. Just waking up, having coffee and having some breakfast. All year I am travelling around the world for work. I see a lot of hotels but in none of them I allow myself to enjoy the place, the luxury of the hotel and the hospitality of the professionals working there. Last year we discovered Aqua Blu. Now (August 2014) we were back for the fifth time. Normally me and my wife do not visit destinations and hotels twice when we spend leisure time. Aqua Blu is the exception to the rule. Hotel Manager Maria Strati (for those of you who read all the other reviews she is already well known) gives her upmost to fulfil the promise of a 5 star boutique experience. She understands what exceeding expectations is really about. Combined with all the other reviews in which Mrs Strati and Aqua Blu are described, it is not necessary to point this out in more detail. For those who really like luxury, a real 5 star experience and for those who allow themselves to enjoy it: Aqua Blu is the perfect destination.

For those who are interested, just a small overview of what we do during a day at Aqua Blu. After we have breakfast we go to the pool. The pool area is one of the main relaxation areas of the hotel in which you can enjoy the sun, a swim, drinks and amazing food. The host at the pool (Maricel) makes live even more convenient. All day long he serves us with drinks and food on the large sunbeds. In the afternoon we go to the spa to enjoy some treatments. At the evening we prepare ourselves for dinner at Cuvée Restaurant from chef Stamatis Marmarinos (If you are interested, please see our review about Cuvée itself). The following days we repeat this again and again. This is a real holiday for us. We adore it and we will be back in October!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JordiLoef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The Aqua Blu Hotel is a small and very unique hotel. Within one day most of the staff members knew and welcomed us. Whenever we needed something we could be sure that someone would be around and happy to help us. The hotel is very clean and modern. The rooms look great but everything is really open. People sharing a room should know each other pretty well since the bathroom is an open part of the whole hotel room. Only the toilet is separated.
The staff is always keeping their professionality but even though this is a 5 star hotel the atmosphere is not to stiff and cold but friendly and open.
Special thanks goes to Sev, Maricel, Erik, Cristos, Annes and this young women who is always welcoming the guests in the morning and who's name we sadly forgot. We had a very nice talk with her at one of the manager nights. You guys are doing an incredible job. Our stay in kos was really relaxing and fun because of you and the other staff.
It would just have been nice to get to know Maria Strati a bit better to see what the manager of this great hotel is like. Sadly she was pretty busy talking to the other guests. Maybe next time.
We enjoyed being your guests and friends!
See you.
Your germans

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fliptowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
384 reviews
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#8 of 52 in Kos Town
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#6 of 52 in Kos Town
673 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mitsis Blue Domes Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa

Property: Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel & Spa is the ultimate destination of luxury and contemporary design, and the only proud member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World on Kos Island. The hotel is a beautiful corner property right on the waterfront, and one of its greatest assets is the white sandy beach just steps from the hotel. A short, landscaped bicycle and car road to the center of the harbor and the historic town of Kos serves as a connection to the nearby town and its various attractions.With guest rooms with sea view overlooking the Aegean Sea and the Turkish coast, the hotel emits a sense of light and serenity, while visitors will be enchanted by the incredible sunsets. The hotel’s luxurious and contemporary guest rooms have been meticulously designed by renowned professionals and provide innovative features that use the latest technology and attractive design elements.A state of the art Fitness Center staffed with talented training experts, a beauty salon, and a revitalizing Health and Wellness Center are a perfect complement to the hotel’s enticing rooms and ambiance. A wide selection of spa treatments and facilities such as a Turkish Hammam, a heated swimming pool, and relaxing massage rooms provide the ultimate body and mind escape and relief.The stunning location, proximity to town, and beach access coupled with exceptional service and ambiance make the Aqua Blu the ultimate boutique hotel for the most demanding traveler of Kos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing