We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at the Aqua Blu at the beginning of June. I can't think of enough words to describe how beautiful it is. We booked through SLH which meant we had a complementary room upgrade and daily free cocktails. The room had a private pool and jacuzzi bath. What can I say? It was perfection.

Everyone who works here is very professional and beautiful, including the housekeeping staff. Towels were replenished twice a day, bedding changed at request and the turn down service added that little bit of extra luxury. The whole hotel has a sense of calm. I'm still dreaming of the pancakes at breakfast. The pool and cocktail waiters made us feel very special and helped make this wonderful holiday perfect. The pool area is just heavenly!

The hotel is a short walk from the bustle of Kos town which meant we didn't miss out on anything. I would recommend Mike's taverna for reasonably priced traditional food and Mylos beach bar for a relaxing drink in beautiful surroundings. Both a five minute walk from the hotel.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank L_H60Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 732 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Staff at this hotel are very good. The Hotel is modern with modernistic features such as glass doors on the toilet and open shower space. My son booked the Family into this hotel( 6 people) .He received an upgraded room for the entire holiday which was very nice. However although rated as a 5 star don not expect a welcome bottle of wine in your room on arrival ,and do not expect any Tea/Coffee facilities in your room. The breakfasts were good if you ordered freshly cooked eggs ,otherwise the buffet scrambled eggs were invariably cold . The Manager Maria was around most of the time it is a shame she could not have have spent less time walking around and a little more time ensuring that things like breakfast hot buffet were in fact hot.and the pool bar service was always very slow. Additionally my favourite Greek wine was not stocked and although the barman said he would obtain it never arrived .If these minor issues do not bother you the one one thing that should is the fact that KOS airport is dis-functional, unfit for purpose, and should be avoided at all cost.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the sea overlook an abandoned Bar which is visited by travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 943Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad you had an overall great stay with us and really sorry we didn’t manage to totally fulfill your expectations.
We unfortunately do not provide bottles of wine into the rooms upon arrival. We do provide welcome cocktails upon check in to all our guests and a little treat in the room from the Chef. We also provide a cold plate in the room to our late arrivals, after 23pm when the kitchen is closed, so as not to leave our guests arriving very late go to bed without a bite.
We also do provide tea and coffee station facilities in the room upon request. We are working on placing them in all rooms, but for the moment we do provide the service upon request at the reception for any guest that wishes to have his tea or coffee in the room.
About the breakfast buffet and the slow service at the pool, I deeply apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced and wish you shared with me your observations while you were still here. One of the reasons I am so often around and the most important one is that I seek for your feedback in order to make things right according to your observations. Unfortunately you came at the exact period we went through an important change in our service department. The food and beverage manager left and we have since only a few days a new person at this position. Nevertheless, if our guests do not mention to me or my service staff or the food and beverage manager that the buffet items are not warm enough, we will not be able to advise the kitchen about such thing and take action. We never though had a complain of such kind about our breakfast buffet and we also offer a complimentary a la carte breakfast menu for the guests who prefer their hot breakfast to come straight from the kitchen instead of the buffet.
For the wine you requested to the barman and we did not manage to provide, i am really sorry. There is no excuse for that.
About the abandoned bar in front of the hotel I am really glad to inform you that it was recently taken by Aqua Blu, which means that it will, by next season, become part of our outlets, as a result it will look and operate as one of our departments.
Thank you once again for your time reviewing our hotel and hope we get the chance to welcome you back and manage to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Best Regards, Maria Strati, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Set away from the hustle and bustle of the bay, Aqua Blu is tranquil, serene yet hip. The room is perfect with every convenience, wonderfully thick gowns and great toiletries. The views of the sea are beautiful from everywhere with a western view from the inviting pool of a spectacular sunset. Best of all was the wonderful dinner served impeccably at Cuvée by master chef Stamatis Marmarinos. Every course was spectacular. Thank you Aqua Blu for a great experience and great service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakshmi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Having just returned from a weeks stay at the Aqua Blu it was perfect in every way. Having looked at previous opinions on Trip Advisor before booking our expectations were surpassed .The well managed staff were so attentive and helpful and nothing was too much trouble .
The rooms ,restaurant ,pool area which had the most comfortable sun beds with their extra thick mattresses , and communal areas in the hotel were as seen in the brochure and immaculately maintained..A truly relaxing experience which we will be repeating.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a front sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We are mid-way through our 2 week stay here, and to date it has been excellent! The hotel has as many have said an ambience about it that just relaxes you almost instantly

Check in - Faultless
Rooms - We have a suite with private pool (105) - excellent
Staff - Presentable, Knowledgeable, Friendly, Courteous, Well Trained - First Class and take great PRIDE in their product.
Food - To date we have only eaten in the restaurant once, and the bar area once, both experience were first class - The reason we have not dined there more often is that we like to go out and about and have been into the many bars near by watching the world cup. That said the staff at reception are very helpful in advising us where is good to dine out in KOS Town and to date their recommendations have been excellent.
We lunch at the pool bar - my wife ordered hamburger and I had Kleftiki both meals were fantastic - hamburger never tasted so good and presented so well!!
We have met the Manager Maria a number of times and been introduced to the hotel owner twice - they clearly have the guests interests at heart and will address any issues you may have.
I have read some of the negative reports on the hotel and almost wonder if they actually stayed in the same hotel as us!!

The only down side for us is that the private suites do not have a sea view - an original design error but nothing can change that now.
We are looking forward to another 7 days here on the beautiful island of KOS, in August we go to New York and the Waldorf Astoria to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday - I hope the hotel can match the standards we have experienced her at the Aqu Blu

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHNARLENESCOTLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Many reviewers have commented on the excellence of all aspects of this boutique hotel and we fully endorse their remarks. Little to add to the range of positive views - this is truly a lovely place to be if you are looking for a quiet, refined and unhurried experience, with a respective and attentive staff team, led by an exemplary manager.

What made it different for us was that there had been a human error in our booking which resulted in the hotel being fully booked when we arrived - no room at the inn! However, the manager (often spoken of in dispatches in the reviews) greeted us when we arrived late evening and did all she could to ensure the occurence minimised our inconvenience. She had booked us into a neighbouring 5 star hotel and upgraded us from bed & breakfast to half-board, offered us complementary spas at the Aqua Blu and, when accomodation did become available, arranged for us to return to complete our holiday. Additionally, we were offered dinner on that first night of our arrival.

So, believe the comments. We have been round the world and stayed in many fine hotels. This one thoroughly deserves its membership of the Smalll Luxury Hotels of the World and it has something extra on offer - an ambience and elegance as good as any!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daviren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

From the moment you enter Aqua Blu Hotel you know you are going to have a luxurious experience. The structure, the design and decoration of this boutique hotel is one of the most impressive I have ever experienced. Impeccable taste from the lobby, to the pool furniture, to the room, the art and carpets and the fabulous small boutique with luxury swimwear, sandals and jewelry. Everything tells you this is all done in detailed thought.

Welcoming procedure, one of the best I have experienced. The hotel manager Maria came out to greet and welcome us (I have never been welcomed upon arrival by the hotel manager anywhere else). The cute receptionist went through a perfect check in procedure, welcome cocktails were at the same time offered by a smiley lady from the service staff, we had a tour of the hotel and were escorted to the room where we got all the information about the room and the hotel and finally within 5 minutes we had our luggage brought up by the professional and very polite bell boy.

So first impression couldn’t be a better one for Aqua Blu.
We had only 4 days with my girlfriend to enjoy this magnificent hotel, so we tried to get the most out of it! We went out of the hotel for dinner only once, as the gastronomy in Aqua Blu is another separate experience to describe. We arrived on Friday and they were having a weekly manager’s cocktail organized. After that they were organizing a special gastronomic fish evening, the kind receptionist informed us upon check in so we booked for both of them. At the cocktail, the bartenders where offering two different types of cocktails, there was a buffet with delicious canapés from the Chef and live saxophone music! All the management team was present. Maria the manager and hostess of the event was greeting and chatting with all guests ensuring they were having a pleasant holiday, she welcomed us once again and thanked us for the honor of our presence, she introduced us to the front office manager and the executive housekeeper making sure we knew who they are and ensured that they were all available for us in case we needed anything during our stay! We ended up meeting other guests, which were staying already for a week and were having a fabulous time, so we felt we were at the perfect place for our holiday.

The dinner after the cocktail at Cuvee restaurant was a real gastronomical oasis for all our senses! The presentation of the plates, the taste, the quality of the products, the wine, the ambience (with the saxophone again) and the service left us speechless. Michelin experience we thought..and requested to meet the Chef..did not really expect it on an island! More cocktails were to follow at the bar, where Spyros the bartender took great care of us and our first night was ended with a great smile of satisfaction in our face.
The next morning we woke up late, because of our gorgeous luxury suite, with the comfortable bed and the amazing private pool. There was direct access from our suite to the pool and we couldn’t miss a fabulous morning swim. So we missed breakfast, but luckily the lazy breakfast option was available with a reasonable charge. So we had our complete breakfast by the pool of the hotel and went straight afterwards to enjoy some sun at the amazing pool area. The pool boy was always around making sure we have everything we need, fresh towels and drinks, he actually at some point came out and offered to all guests a little treat from the chef, just after the girls from the spa had left giving to everyone cold scented face towels and 5 minute head and hand massages! We thought paradise did not exist until that point!

Lunch at the pool restaurant was great, there was a great variety from salads, to snacks and main courses, Greek options and the service was good although it got quite busy at some point.

Spoiled by the spa ladies we thought let’s try the spa this afternoon and luckily they had a spot available so we went for the hot stone massage. AMAZING! Tamaris spa as they call it is a beautiful and spacious spa. We went 15 minutes before our treatments, enjoyed the relaxing area with an indoor heated pool, then we had our treatments and after that decided to use the sauna and steam room and finally relax at the pool again. The use of the spa is complimentary when you have a treatment, so we took advantage of it! There was also a fully equipped gym and a beauty salon, but we didn’t get the chance to use those.
Sunset time at the pool area, comfortable loungers, more cocktails and the best views of the sun going down behind the palm trees.

Dinner, we couldn’t resist but booking to Cuvee again, after our first experience. We went for the degustation menu, a 5 course meal, with the little offerings from the chef before and after it becomes a 7 course, but anyway it is supposed to be the best ways to get to know the menu as you try more dishes in less portions. Once again we were not disappointed. Excellent presentation and description of the plates from the very knowledgeable Chris, unbelievable tastes and a great wine selection. We asked the maitre that seemed to know his way around wines and he proposed to us one we couldn’t resist a second bottle.. Overall another special dining experience and for that I will place a separate review on the restaurants page.

The next day we made it for breakfast and we were really impressed with the selection and variety. 2 buffets to choose anything you want an a la carte menu with all the egg and pancake hot options, and the service of the coffee and juices at the table. Perfect! Strawberry fresh juice, really good quality of filter coffee (hotels normally fail on that), Greek omelet and all kinds of egg options, pancakes, fresh fruit, seasonal fruit, local products. What more could we ask for?

Spent the day at the pool once again, tried the beach, not the best we have experienced on the Greek islands, but we were told at the reception that if we wanted to explore the nice beach areas of the island we had to rent a car. They also explained that the beach in front of the hotel is for the use of the guests but not a private one. With only 4 days available we just wanted to relax as a result we didn’t visit anything else except a fish restaurant for one evening which was an excellent recommendation by the receptionist after our breakfast. And that was our only experience of Kos town.

The next day we had some more treatments at the spa, and decided to join the BBQ event at the pool. Great food, easy going atmosphere, a different cocktail list for the event and overall a great value for money relaxing evening at the hotel.

Overall Aqua Blu for us was a hotel that makes you want to stay there forever. The ambience, the efficiency of the staff, the friendliness of Maria the manager who was always around making sure everything was perfect and everyone was happy, the spa, the food, the pool, the music..We didn’t want to leave.. But we promised we ll be back and this time for more days.

Well done to everyone in Aqua Blu for making our holiday a special one. We are coming back soon!

Room Tip: Suite with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FMan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
4.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#6 of 48 in Kos Town
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa

Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $144 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel & Spa is the ultimate destination of luxury and contemporary design, and the only proud member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World on Kos Island. The hotel is a beautiful corner property right on the waterfront, and one of its greatest assets is the white sandy beach just steps from the hotel. A short, landscaped bicycle and car road to the center of the harbor and the historic town of Kos serves as a connection to the nearby town and its various attractions.With guest rooms with sea view overlooking the Aegean Sea and the Turkish coast, the hotel emits a sense of light and serenity, while visitors will be enchanted by the incredible sunsets. The hotel’s luxurious and contemporary guest rooms have been meticulously designed by renowned professionals and provide innovative features that use the latest technology and attractive design elements.A state of the art Fitness Center staffed with talented training experts, a beauty salon, and a revitalizing Health and Wellness Center are a perfect complement to the hotel’s enticing rooms and ambiance. A wide selection of spa treatments and facilities such as a Turkish Hammam, a heated swimming pool, and relaxing massage rooms provide the ultimate body and mind escape and relief.The stunning location, proximity to town, and beach access coupled with exceptional service and ambiance make the Aqua Blu the ultimate boutique hotel for the most demanding traveler of Kos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing