We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed there for a week and found that it is a very nice and stylish location. The restaurant is the week link of the hotel: too expensive compared to the offer ... but there are excellent restaurants in walking distance (20 min). Special thanks to Nadia and Nikos! Some evaluators mentioned that there were children disturbing the silence - I personally would encourage the hotel management to make it a place where families can enjoy a good time together including children (we have not been there with children) as it is really a very charming place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolf6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 735 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

We booked a sea view suite and, in our opinion, we had no sea view and no suite. We were in the four floor but the only way to see a little bit of sea was to put the head out of the balcony. The staff could not explain the difference between a room and a suite as they only have suites!
There is not a separate bathroom which is not very confortable when you travel with friends. Besides when you enter the room you have the open bathroom before the beds and sofa.
It is a very modern styled hotel but it is not a real 5 star small luxury hotel as rated.
Only part of the staff was friendly and efficient. At breakfast the food was good (except the tea) but the service needs to get better.
The location was very windy and therefore there was no one in the beach. We rent a car and found nice beaches to enjoy the sun and the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Aqua Blu during September 2012. Since the way this hotel is constructed has the view of the sea from 3 different sides, we decided this year to separate the types to sea view double suites and double suites. This doesn’t mean that the non sea view rooms do not have any sea view. Actually the ones on one of the three sides facing the sunset are spectacular as you can see the sun going down from your bed! Nevertheless it makes it more clear to the guest when booking that non front sea view is expected when booking a simple double suite. There is also a small difference in price because of that. We call our rooms suites and not rooms as they are spacious and almost all of them have a sofa inside giving the feeling of space and comfort. As for the bathrooms, this is a design modern hotel. The bathroom itself is always separated with a closed door. The modern lay out of the bathtub/shower and sink/mirror partially separated by the rest of the room gives a feeling of more open space and was constructed like this as this hotel is mostly targeting couples.
We do apologize for any inconvenience experienced from staff that has been unfriendly in the past. Opening for the first season is not always easy to find 100% the right people for the right position, but we have made the necessary changes this year and fortunately all our guests are complimenting us about is our happy, smiley and friendly staff.
About the wind during summer, it is very well known to everyone who visits Greece that the “meltemi” wind is expected on the islands, which most of the times is what keeps sunbathing pleasant from the heat of our high Greek summer temperatures. Truth is the best month to visit Kos-weather wise-is October! The sea is warm, the temperatures not too high but still warm, the wind is completely gone and the rates and services everywhere on the island always better from the higher season. (also valid for April and May)
Thank you once again for your feedback and hope we get the chance to welcome you back once again in the near future. Best Regards, Maria Strati Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

spent 1 week last July, overall a fine hotel, but what persinally myself found appaling was the outside view of hotel during the day. it a disgusting faded green, make the hotel looks like a military camp!Fortunately night lighting brings everything back in order!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank friends929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The Aqua Blu hotel is styled in a contemporary way giving you a true feeling of luxury. It’s a 25-30 minute walk away from the center of Kos town, away from the hassle and crowded tourist area. Rooms are spacious and the bed is one of the best I have ever slept on in a hotel!

The staff is very friendly and will do anything to make your stay as convenient as possible. The pool area is nice and offers plenty of sunbeds for all guests to relax. Towels are provided instantly when you arrive by the pool staff. Across the street there is a small private beach with even more sunbeds, but don’t expect a white sandy beach. Therefore you have to go to other parts of the island. Nevertheless the beach side is ideal for sunbathing or just reading a book and from this angle of the island you will have the most fantastic sunset views.

The hotel attracts mainly couples, although a few families with children attended the hotel during our stay. The hotel however has nothing to offer for children and is therefore less appropriate for families. It’s stylish design, boutique character, the spa and gourmet restaurant make this hotel ideal for couples to enjoy their holidays and splurge themselves. Maybe a ‘couples only’ positioning can be considered by the management?

A special shout goes out to the chef de cuisine, mr. Hrissos. His menu creations and the presentation of the dishes clearly show he has had his education in Paris and Michelin-star restaurants. Dinner in the a la carte restaurant is therefore a true delight: ever had a traditional Greek salad in the form of a soup poured out at your table?!? Also other creations are inspirational if you love good food. The special French, Greek and Italian gourmet evenings are a nice addition to the standard menu. The poolside restaurant menu is more basic with some instant classics on it, but also very tasteful.

If you want to relax in a stylish and quiet surrounding and enjoy good food, Aqua Blu is a true gem on Kos.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dreski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Aqua Blu was excellent.

Re the hotel - the hotel is extremely nice; it is relaxing; it is across the road from Lambi beach; the food is excellent, and the head chef clearly very talented; the spa was fantastic, with a great range of treatments; the pool area was wonderful; the service was truly superb, including hosting us for a day when we were returning to Kos airport after the second half of our trip in Turkey.

Re some of the criticisms below - these appear so inaccurate as to be explicable only by reference to the attitudes of their authors; some of the criticisms are truly unfathomable (Ed D, are you sure you reviewed the right hotel, because the sea was no more than 50 metres from our balcony?); the service was always lovely, helpful and attentive for us

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 557Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

most probably the most stylish hotel of the island. 25 mins by walking Away from center of kos. The room is spacious, newly furnished and the view was lovely. Breakfast is well enough at least satisfies any Mediterranean breakfast lover. Has an outdoor pool that has enough sunbeds and umbrellas around. Staff is friendly

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank volkan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent a week at the Aqua Blu Hotel, with an overall feeling of disappointment. The hotel does have potential but is let down in the following ways: poor service in general, below par cleaning standards, awful breakfast / restaurant experience.

Firstly, the hotel itself is of good quality, with well finished rooms and a contemporary feel. This good start, however, was let down by an overall lack of quality service and a general feeling of uncomfortableness.

Our first morning commenced with an appaling breakfast where the staff brought us everything but what we asked for. The menu was limited and the buffet wasn't even of 3 star standard. With so many staff and so few guests to cater for, i was surprised to be rudely spoken to by a stressed out waiter.

The cleaning staff were too eager, to the point of trying to hurry us out of our room in the morning, leaving us feeling pretty uncomfortable to be honest. Despite this keeness, there were still used cups and glasses left unwashed.

The balcony was sold as having sea views. We didnt bring a telescope so couldnt quite see it, but we could see the waste-ground and the round-a-bout we were parked in the middle of!

The pool area was nice, but the pool furniture was clearly of poor quality. Many of the umbrellas were unserviceable which left a lot of sunbeds out of use due to lack of shade. The beach was little better, with litter common place.

Aqua blu was marketed as a 5 star luxury small hotel, and the hotel itself probably could be deemed 5 star. Unfortunately to warrent 5 stars requires attention to detail and an exclusivity which unfortunately this hotel lacked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Alice Springs Hotel
Alice Springs Hotel
#1 of 48 in Kos Town
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#22 of 48 in Kos Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa

Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range: $200 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel & Spa is the ultimate destination of luxury and contemporary design, and the only proud member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World on Kos Island. The hotel is a beautiful corner property right on the waterfront, and one of its greatest assets is the white sandy beach just steps from the hotel. A short, landscaped bicycle and car road to the center of the harbor and the historic town of Kos serves as a connection to the nearby town and its various attractions.With guest rooms with sea view overlooking the Aegean Sea and the Turkish coast, the hotel emits a sense of light and serenity, while visitors will be enchanted by the incredible sunsets. The hotel’s luxurious and contemporary guest rooms have been meticulously designed by renowned professionals and provide innovative features that use the latest technology and attractive design elements.A state of the art Fitness Center staffed with talented training experts, a beauty salon, and a revitalizing Health and Wellness Center are a perfect complement to the hotel’s enticing rooms and ambiance. A wide selection of spa treatments and facilities such as a Turkish Hammam, a heated swimming pool, and relaxing massage rooms provide the ultimate body and mind escape and relief.The stunning location, proximity to town, and beach access coupled with exceptional service and ambiance make the Aqua Blu the ultimate boutique hotel for the most demanding traveler of Kos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing