We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very over-rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very over-rated”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent a week at the Aqua Blu Hotel, with an overall feeling of disappointment. The hotel does have potential but is let down in the following ways: poor service in general, below par cleaning standards, awful breakfast / restaurant experience.

Firstly, the hotel itself is of good quality, with well finished rooms and a contemporary feel. This good start, however, was let down by an overall lack of quality service and a general feeling of uncomfortableness.

Our first morning commenced with an appaling breakfast where the staff brought us everything but what we asked for. The menu was limited and the buffet wasn't even of 3 star standard. With so many staff and so few guests to cater for, i was surprised to be rudely spoken to by a stressed out waiter.

The cleaning staff were too eager, to the point of trying to hurry us out of our room in the morning, leaving us feeling pretty uncomfortable to be honest. Despite this keeness, there were still used cups and glasses left unwashed.

The balcony was sold as having sea views. We didnt bring a telescope so couldnt quite see it, but we could see the waste-ground and the round-a-bout we were parked in the middle of!

The pool area was nice, but the pool furniture was clearly of poor quality. Many of the umbrellas were unserviceable which left a lot of sunbeds out of use due to lack of shade. The beach was little better, with litter common place.

Aqua blu was marketed as a 5 star luxury small hotel, and the hotel itself probably could be deemed 5 star. Unfortunately to warrent 5 stars requires attention to detail and an exclusivity which unfortunately this hotel lacked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    83
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
484
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
177 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel is located in “Lambi beach” which is located near Kos town (about 2,2 km from the harbor of Kos town).
Lambi beach is in one of the “corner” of the island so it’s more windy than Kos town. This is positive when it’s hot but it’s negative when the wind is too strong.
Aqua Blu Hotel joined the “small luxury hotels” so it’s a 5 stars hotel very modern and recently renovated.
We booked a junior suite sea and pool view with a balcony where you can see a beautiful sunset.
The room has new and modern furnitures with a big LCD tv in front of the king size bed.
The room has a bathroom with Jacuzzi.
The breakfast has a nice buffet with culinary specialties from Greece. Moreover there is a short list of breakfast dishes (scrambled egg, omelet with ham and cheese and so on...) where you can order to a waiter what you want.
The only bad thing of the breakfast was the absence of any drinks: no water, no orange juice.
Only the waiters gives you a glass of orange juice from a jug, but you must ask for another glass…it’s not a positive aspect for a luxury hotel that a guest must ask for drink orange juice or water!!
The pool was very nice with a very big Jacuzzi (4-5 person can use it together) and new comfortable sun beds. The hotel gives you the towels for the pool and also for the sun beds in the private beach in front of the hotel, where the guests have reserved for themselves sun beds and beach umbrella.
When we made the check out the front desk man ask to pay for the room … but we have already paid 3 months ago!!! That was very unpleasant treatment for the guest of a 5 stars hotel.
Anyway the hotel is nice and the price is not so expensive!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our first holiday so much in June  we came back in Aug. The hotel manager Maria had made some small changes to improve the customer experience which really showed. The hotel provides a service that you would expect of a 5 star boutique hotel. All of the staff are friendly and professional including the Spa in which we had some fantastic treatments. A special mention for the Barman Mick who is an expert when it comes to cocktails, you must spend an evening sampling his creations! The hotel beach (see photo) is well equipped with comfortable sun beds and bar service. The hotel is in a great location with a cycle track from the hotel to Kos , it takes about 10mins to get to Kos town, we hired bikes for the week. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we are retuning in October!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My Wife and I stayed here from August 21st for 5 nights.We were looking for something special to celebrate our honeymoon and also unique on our first visit to Kos. We found it here and had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Our comments would probably compare with most of the recent views, and would echo those relating to service. That said, the staff are very helpful, always smiling and if they cannot fulfill a request immediately, will come back with an answer (they even managed stamps for me when unable to locate). The location of the hotel is a bit remote from Kos town, and I would query if it's a 20 minute walk, but there are bikes available to rent and a cycle path directly across from the hotel making this a convenient and easy option.

We had a Pool experience suite (RM 107), and the room was well furnished, although the "In room coffee station" is very disappointing. It was a kettle and packs of Nescafe - a better option and for a hotel at this level would be a Nespresso or similar machine. This we've already fed back to Maria, and I think it's a situation that was already being addressed. We also ate in the restaurant, the food was tasty and the presentation excellent (likewise the pool bar meals) and the cocktails were well made. The wine however, was not well chilled and again this was dealt with promptly.

Another nice touch which I've seen in other good hotels was the Spa staff offering short treatments(massages) at pool side for free and also plates of fresh fruit in the heat of the day. My other feeling is that Aqua Blu is less of a children's option and more suited to couples, friends etc., although there were families staying, there is not so much to keep children entertained.

All in all, this is a new hotel with the usual hiccups, but only minor ones and these are being addressed quickly. I would not hesitate to recommend Aqua Blu, and with Maria and her staff, they are in good hands.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great Hotel - beautiful design.

Large rooms, very close to the beach.

Beautiful spa & gym.

amazing pool with great sun beds.

Service is average - still not there yet.

Maria the hotel manager was lovely and very helpful.

Hotel reception staff was excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shimsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of August. Our overall impression was that the hotel itself is worthy of 5 stars, but the service is somewhere between a 4 and 5 at the moment (I think they will get there as they seemed to rectify issues quickly).

Building and Accommodation: The pictures you see on the net are a true reflection of this beautiful modern building. Clean lines and modern luxury making the most of a corner plot with views of the sea. The pool and beach areas were very nice with a variety of beds/lounges etc to choose from. The rooms were really well equipped (although don’t come with an iron unless you ask for one) and great design with high quality fixtures and fittings, fluffy towels, comfy beds, mini bar, nice bath products etc.

Service: Overall we found that all staff were very smiley and weren’t shy to say hello which was good. Upon arrival the reservations manager was friendly and informative and showed us to our rooms taking the time to point out the facilities and services of the room and hotel which was nice. The receptionists were lovely, very keen to point out interesting things to do around the island and some good recommendations for more authentic restaurants in Kos (Ali's and Efdokia being two great ones). I think the main area that was slightly lacking was with the restaurant/breakfast/bar service as others have pointed out here (please see below for more detail) but these were small frustrations and in the grand scheme of things weren’t a big deal. We fed back to the hotel and I could see that our comments were actioned immediately; interestingly we noticed that day by day things were getting even better in the hotel and so this might be teething problems as the hotel only opened this year.

Location: Quieter part of Kos which is actually quite nice as there is a cycle path direct to town from the hotel (bicycles can be rented from reception for around 4 euros a day). There is a road separating the hotel from the beach so just need to be careful when crossing for the beach if you have kids. Just as we arrived a new beach bar (not part of the hotel) opened accross the road which was really nice although on occasion they played loud music during the afternoon which was great for us at we liked it but it might not be to everyone’s taste whilst sunbathing on the beach.

Breakfast/Restaurant/Bar: The food was impressively top notch, really great quality and a good selection; in fact some of our best meals were at the hotel which is not my usual experience with other hotels. Sadly we experienced some small frustrating service issues. At breakfast quite often the table settings wouldn’t be complete and we found getting the attention of the staff to be difficult. Each morning we would ask for tea which would not be delivered with milk, we would then spend 5 minutes trying to get the attention of the staff to ask for milk at which time the tea would be cold (this continued despite the same staff serving us each day). Overall the attention of the staff was hard to get and the service was slow and awkward e.g. we spent ten minutes having sat down trying to get the attention of the staff only to be advised that we needed to ask a different waiter to place an order as effectively he was only waiting on drinks orders - grrr!. Bar service was generally better unless you ate at the same time as everyone else at lunch in which case it could take some time to both order and receive your food (one time it took 45mins before we got our plate from the point of sitting down). As I said above we fed this back and I think they will sort this, they were lovely people and seemed keen to please.

Spa/Gym: Beautiful well equipped spa with a great selection of treatments on offer (there are usually daily specials at discount). The gym was not really a gym for regular gym goers as the equipment was very much style over substance, the running machines were so difficult to control and were so unresponsive that you basically ended up running at a set pace. The free weights don’t go above 9kg and the multi-gym equipment was really only sufficient for light use/toning. Nevertheless a decent gym as for as hotels are concerned.
I would love to stay here again in 6 months’ time when I’m sure the kinks will have been ironed out and the hotel easily sitting in a 5 star bracket. Would certainly recommend as I think its probably the best hotel in Kos.

Room Tip: All room are large and roomy, the ones with private pools look good and also the ones with beach fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SachaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel was amazing in all aspects. The professional and friendly management of Maria Stratis as well as the staff's service made our stay a life time experience ! The view is magnificent, the architectural design and the furniture are stunning. The rooms are so beautiful, spacious and comfortable that really deserve the highest class award. The pool and the surrounding site are a magic. The food was delicious. The spa is another exciting aspect of the hotel. It was definitely a remarkable stay and an unprecedented experience. Among the best hotels of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
5.5 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Village
Blue Lagoon Village
#1 of 13 in Kefalos
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Grecotel Kos Imperial Hotel
3.0 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
828 reviews
5.6 mi away
Dimitra Beach Hotel
Dimitra Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Fokas
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa

Property: Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
Address: Lambi Beach, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel & Spa is the ultimate destination of luxury and contemporary design, and the only proud member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World on Kos Island. The hotel is a beautiful corner property right on the waterfront, and one of its greatest assets is the white sandy beach just steps from the hotel. A short, landscaped bicycle and car road to the center of the harbor and the historic town of Kos serves as a connection to the nearby town and its various attractions.With guest rooms with sea view overlooking the Aegean Sea and the Turkish coast, the hotel emits a sense of light and serenity, while visitors will be enchanted by the incredible sunsets. The hotel’s luxurious and contemporary guest rooms have been meticulously designed by renowned professionals and provide innovative features that use the latest technology and attractive design elements.A state of the art Fitness Center staffed with talented training experts, a beauty salon, and a revitalizing Health and Wellness Center are a perfect complement to the hotel’s enticing rooms and ambiance. A wide selection of spa treatments and facilities such as a Turkish Hammam, a heated swimming pool, and relaxing massage rooms provide the ultimate body and mind escape and relief.The stunning location, proximity to town, and beach access coupled with exceptional service and ambiance make the Aqua Blu the ultimate boutique hotel for the most demanding traveler of Kos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing