We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place, Mike is very passionate about Greek food”
Review of Taverna Mike

Taverna Mike
Ranked #12 of 218 Restaurants in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved this place, Mike is very passionate about Greek food”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

we came here at midday on our 1st day, not eaten for about 15 hours, wanted something light and asked for 2 pizzas, the owner said try his local food not pizzas, we said not this time and we really liked what was served. We decided to try again a few nights later and tried his greek food, it was lovely, genuinely superb, fresh and perfectly cooked, we spent ages talking to him and he was great with our daughter, good facilities for kids, we tried about a dozen restaurants whilst there and this is up there with the best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    104
    34
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Value”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staying at Aqua Blu Hotel nearby, which is superb but full of pretentious people from various nations. Five minutes walk away is Mike's, which is much more down to earth. The food is fresh, sensibly priced and served by friendly welcoming staff. Quiet as it's the beginning of the season but a really good place to chill out in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HarryPricker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing home cooked food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Mike and Gina who own this amazing taverna are amazing hosts and make you feel at home as soon as you step into the restaurant. The food is absolutely amazing and very reasonably priced, I would recommend the grilled snapper had this three times and tasted better every time.
Give taverna Mike's try and I bet you will go back. Milli and Sanjay

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“These guys are great!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just spent a week in Kos staying at the Apollon Hotel on B&B basis and ate out mostly at Taverna Mike, which is only 40M or so from the Apollon hotel and the Atlantis. These guys are great. The food is authentic, good value Greek, and so is the hospitality - right down to a free local liqueur with your bill to send you on your way (and a little mosquito repellent if you've forgotten to put some on, as I did one night.). Mike and Gina really work hard and they deserve the business. Small tavernas like this are suffering in the move of the big hotels to All Inclusive and yet they have far better value to offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“our visits”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we have had 3 or 4 meals at Taverna Mike and had wonderful food served by great people. All the food is good and very reasonably priced.
Brenda Kirby

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Mike also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Mike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing