We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Haven in Kos Town”
Review of Platanos

Platanos
Ranked #28 of 271 Restaurants in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This restaurant is right at the famous Hippocrates Plane Tree (2500 year old tree where Hippocrates taught medicine) in Kos Town on the island of Kos in Greece.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having been a bit disappointed by some venues in Kos Town in the past, we were pleased to have been recommended to dine at Platanos by a local colleague. The ambiance is spectacular, with the feeling of being in a historic Greek garden with subtle lighting and beautiful table settings. We were warmly welcomed, seated and brought very fresh bread with two delicious dips - one was beetroot based and the other had the taste and texture of a delicate tartar sauce.

After polishing these off, we ordered a main course of fillet steak with mushrooms which was spectacular and cooked to order (rare). Another course was the stuffed calamari which was disappointing in that it had a slightly rubbery texture. (We were told that normally baby calamari is used but on this particular day, only large ones were available.) Another course was shrimp stuffed with avocado and pink grapefruit wrapped in bacon with a mustard lemon sauce. Who would have thought? But it worked with spectacular results. Our last course was the chicken saute, presented on a bed of thick tagliatelle which was tasty and teen friendly. We also enjoyed the fresh spinach salad with heloumi cheese cubes.

With ample house wine and dessert, the total bill was 95 Euro for 4. We were also presented with a complimentary after dinner drink of Mavodaphne of Patras.

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank scbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 364 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

First staff never pushed you into anything or rushed you food wine & music soothing it,s the type of place you can watch the world go by I also offered to where a billboard & walk around the town to fill the place as it was quite empty so to all of you Brits that enter kos please visit gareth & anne

Date of visit: May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GAGSWALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food at this restaurant is plentiful & amazingly tasty. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for us. An exceptional restaurant, in a stunning location, well worth a visit!

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LB5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Platanos services very good food. Refined in a very pleasant environment. The Tree of Hippocrates stands in the middle of the square where is located at Platanos. The service is friendly and does everything to make it up to your liking!

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeannette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by my daughter's wedding planner who took my daughter and son in law to visit the owner to discuss budgets. Like in England when you mention the W word the costs rise by at least 20% this was not the case for us. The owner suggested that a meeting take place the following day with the chef to suggest what dishes were available and our preference within the budget. We all wanted an informal meze and party atmosphere.
Our table for 20 was set at the side of the restaurant, which made it more personal, under the grapevine pergola and there were sofa and chairs for guests to chill out on whilst the wedding photos were being taken and after the meal.
The food was absolutely amazing, especially for the budget the chef had, in fact far too much and we felt very guilty of what was left!! I would like to thank all the staff for making it such a memorable time for my daughter and son in law. And the toast was provided free of charge!!!
Thank you.

Date of visit: September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank juliejem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platanos also viewed

 

Been to Platanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing