We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good 'steer' from TripAdvisor & Booking.com”
Review of Catherine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Catherine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Kos Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were to have stayed at Gaia Gardens and at the last minute went for a place IN Kos Town, based on Trip Advisor and having a response from Catherine Hotel that although they were too small to meet the ferry, they WERE within walking distance. For 28 Euro we found Catherine Hotel to be a very nice 'city' hotel as a change of venue for us. It was far enough to the west of town to avoid the 'buzz' of being too close in to the center, but still within walking distance of the port and the archeological sites. The 'mama' (in the office) was always smiling and pleasant, a younger woman on duty was gracious and had good English. The room was basic and the newly renovated bathroom was 'high tech' (think Tokyo shower fixtures!). We 'opened' the breakfast room by arriving at 8 a.m. wherein they quickly set it up for us and an older fellow delivered a large omelet within minutes of our sitting down, answering the question as to whether it was 'full' or continental. My only complaints were that they had automatically debited our credit card and we had wanted to pay this one in Euro. Had we been given a quiet room, as requested, this hotel would have ranked an 'excellent' (for the value).

Room Tip: I had asked for a quiet room and they gave us what I believe was #2 (maybe#7?) at the top of the fir...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Catherine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 139 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for one night at Catherine Hotel.

We paid 20 euro and get:

- A room with a balcony, looking on a very sympatique street
- Fridge, tv, recently renovated bathroom, A/C
- A room 30 seconds away from the port
- Great hospitality and helpful staff
- very clean room

cons:

the beds are a little too "hard"
the towels are way too "hard."
some furnitures are really old

i am still giving this hotel 5 star despite its cons, because if you are willing to stay in a budget hotel and your only priority is the cleanliness, this hotel will be perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brannant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The shower space was a bit small but everything else was great.. Ask for the room number 35 (should be in the corner) on the second floor with the nice view over the beach.. Even the coast of Turkey is visible :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irtsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at Catherine Hotel for two nights in one of the renovated rooms and were very contented. The rooms are basic, but clean and equipped with free air conditioning, TV and fridge. The stuff is friendly and wifi is free. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alpapone212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed there for 3 days at the end of july and in a single room.Room was pretty small but considering i only used it for sleeping it was ok.There was AC and a small tv in the room.also a strange smell in the bathroom probably because the building was a little old.The owners are really friendly they even helped me rent a bike for 10 euros for 3 days.BREAKFAST IS VERY POOR.you will probably go out for breakfast if you want to start your day strong.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gokche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

we booked into this hotel for 2 nights on a stop over from turkey. we just wanted a place to stay while we hired mopeds and travel and see Kos. we payed €45 ( total ) for 2 nights. it is just across from the port and near all the action. when we arrived we were given room A6. was kinda afraid that we would not be able to stay here been the price been so cheap but we were wrong. the room had 2 single beds and comfortable. the shower room was very clean and stocked with towels. the owner even gave us free shampoo and shower gel. there was a tv with some english channels. the room was basic clean and quiet. there was free air conditioning as well as free wifi.I would highly recommend this hotel as a stop over place. great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Upon Arrival to Kos from the ferry from Bodrum (Turkey) my wife and I broke out the map, and found the Catherine Hotel easy to find if you walk along Kos Towns marina then when the one way road turns two ways you just take a left and walk up and there it is on the left! Easy.

When we arrived to the hotel the owners were really nice, letting us adjust our accommodation to stay and extra day before leaving to Athens.

The hotel has no elevator so the elderly (like this one lady my wife helped with her baggage down the stairs), and people with really heavy baggage will have issues as some of the rooms are pretty high up.

The hotel was a great price, so I didn't mind, and it had wifi available in all the rooms and to my delight it was extremely fast. The room itself was clean, and the bathroom was renovated and immaculate, albite extremely small, I had a hard time trying to shower as I kept elbowing both walls.

The reason I gave this nice hotel a 3 (my wife says 2), was the beds, apart from getting two singles, which didn't bother us, the mattress itself seems to have been cut from straight granite. It was so hard my wife had troubles sleeping and this caused issues with her for the next day. And we are not old either both being in our mid twenties.

So all in all, good location, friendly staff, clean rooms, great wifi, horrible beds and tiny bathrooms.

Room Tip: The owner did mention they had rooms with bigger bathrooms but no balcony, so if you want a bigger b...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lanekau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#13 of 48 in Kos Town
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kosta Palace
Kosta Palace
#60 of 219 in Kos
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#21 of 48 in Kos Town
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#88 of 219 in Kos
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 48 in Kos Town
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maritina Hotel
Maritina Hotel
#33 of 48 in Kos Town
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catherine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Hotel

Address: 5 Panagi Tsaldari 6 & Meg.Alexandrou, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Kos Town
Price Range: $24 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Catherine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catherine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing