We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed”
Review of Denise Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denise Apartments
Ranked #2 of 14 Kos Town B&B and Inns
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyed”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent two weeks here on a package tour with Thomas Cook between 14/09 and 28/09, 2013. The flight times were rubbish, but that was our fault. When we arrived at 2am we were allocated room 13, not a good omen, but at the rep's meeting the following day we said we would be happy to upgrade to an apartment rather than a studio and without hesitation it happened almost straightaway. We had offered to pay the extra but they wouldn't hear of it. We had to move again a week or so later as the room had already been allocated to others, again that was no problem to anyone. All in all we were delighted with both Nikos and Luke, our rep. The complex is very well maintained and was cleaned every single day except one, which we found quite unusual, but good. We tended to keep ourselves to ourselves pretty much but when we did venture to the bar we were always welcomed. As had already been said it did get a bit rowdy in the evenings as people would down but once we'd closed the patio door it didn't stop us enjoying a good nights sleep. The bus service to Kos Town is every 15 minutes and costs 1.20 each way. Some nice tavernas along the road to Kos and the nearest supermarket is about a kilometre away, towards Kos Town. We also hired bikes one day at 4.00 euros. We also hired a car for 3 days and saw most of the island. Absolutely recommed this place to anyone. Many, many thanks Nikos and Effie.

Room Tip: Try and get a room furthest away from the bar, as we did. I think that would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WeLoveGreece2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    32
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
43
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broseley
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a weeks stay in the Denise Apartments. Basic accommodation but set in very pleasant gardens with a good pool and area. Had problem with no hot water in the mornings but Nikos arranged for the maid who came in at 7.00am to switch on the electricity so we could have warm showers about 9.00am. Also thought the one toilet roll per week rule was somewhat mean. The bar was very noisy going on until 2,00 in the morning but the patio doors when closed cut out a lot of the noise. Some nice eating places close by. Good bus service into Kos Town. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again in July for 2 weeks ! Loved every minute of it we always feel so welcome here and look forward to seeing all of the family every year ! Nikos and his family will do all they can to make you feel at home and give you lots of good information about what to do on your stay in Kos! We have made some lovely friends here and will continue to re vist like we do every year :-)

Thanks to everyone at the Denise x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The denise is a good base and close enough to kos town to walk although bikes are available to hire nikos and the crew are good hosts and provide for everyone ie quiz,bingo,karoake etc.the snack bar is good with good food and cocktails.the rooms are well equipped and cleaned daily (6days a week)people return year on year back to denise which is solely down to the welcome and interaction if you wish of the staff.couple of essentials nice pool area air conditioning at 40 euros a week othet than that enjoy xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorian2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just returned from a one week stay at Denise Apartments. What so many people have said is absolutely true - the friendliness & welcome you get are superb, & make all the difference in the world. The apartments are run the traditional, old-fashioned way; family-owned and family-run; the owner Niko & his wife welcome you as if to their home, and into their family, from the moment you arrive (even if, as was the case for us, it's 3.30am when you get there. Niko waited up for us, and offered us a drink from the bar).

The family and their staff are all extremely helpful, friendly, and polite. Nothing is too much trouble. We had a noisy room (directly above the bar & kitchen) to begin with; when we asked on our first morning to change rooms, we were immediately offered an alternative with no fuss, no questions asked, and nothing but smiles.

Niko & Effie are hands-on, running the bar & attending to customers all day long, along with their great team of staff. Their kids play in & around the pool, and their little dog is often to be seen. The apartments were originally run by Niko's father & have been handed down; I am sure the same will happen again. This is a true, and nowadays quite rare, old-fashioned family business. It is easy to see why many guests develop such a bond to the place, and go back time and time again.

Bar snacks were available from 9am to 9.30pm when we were there, and the food is extremely good - thanks to Katalina for her superb cooking; it'samazing what she manages to do in such a tiny kitchen. The menu is mostly sandwiches, fried & grilled hot food, and salads; and pizzas which are absolutely delicious. The bar is well-stocked and I can particularly recommend the 2-for-1 cocktails in Happy Hour (twice daily; 12noon to 3pm, and 7pm to 9pm). As the bar serves a full range of refreshments, guests are not allowed to take their own food or drink into the pool area.

The grounds are lovely, beautifully planted & tended. The freshwater pool is unheated, so rather cold when you first get in; but very refreshing. The pool is immaculately clean, and unusually it does not have a strong chemical or chlorine smell; in that sense the pool water is the best quality I've ever come across.

The rooms - like the whole complex in fact - are also immaculately clean, and are serviced 6 days a week. We had a one bedroom apartment, with twin beds (very comfortable) in the bedroom, and bench seats in the kitchen which double up as 2 extra beds (which I'd say would be fine for kids, but not ideal for adults). The fittings and the decor throughout the apartments are quite dated and tired; but the rooms are perfectly adequate, and very comfortable. Air conditioning is available for an extra 40 Euros per week, though we did not need it when we were there. There is no safe in the room, but you can rent a safety deposit box at reception for 10 Euros a week. If you need a hairdryer, be sure to take your own as none are available. There was no TV in the apartment (which didn't bother us at all) but there are large-screen TVs in the bar area.

The apartments are a fair distance from the town and facilities. We walk pretty slowly & it took us 50 minutes or so to walk to the centre of Kos town. We sometimes used the bus, which is very cheap (1.20 Euro one-way), and easy to use. The nearest supermarket (quite a small one) is 15 minutes from the apartments; a larger one is 20 minutes. There are some nice beachfront restaurants 15-25 minutes from the apartments, if you don't want to go as far as the town. It's fair to say that, if you want lots of choice of bars & restaurants & facilities on your doorstep, Denise apartments may not be for you.

Overall, we were delighted with our stay here. It's the sheer friendliness & the total attention to service, that makes this place so special. Long may it continue to be run this way; and a great big thank you to Niko, Effie, Katalina, and all of the team for looking after us so well!

Room Tip: There are no lifts, so a ground floor room is easy for luggage. Rooms further away from the bar are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise_and_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, uk
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for a week and were extremely pleased with our choice. We went with Olympic Holidays on self-catering basis on a late departure cheap deal.
The owner, his wife, and all of the staff were very friendly and excellent throughout our stay. The rooms were serviced everyday and they were of good quality. The view was of the swimming pool and the assocaited gardens, which were beautiful, with palm trees, banana plants and other flowering trees.
They are situtated in a quiet area set back from the main coast road with the hills behind and the sea across the road. It is literally 150 metres to the beach, which is gently sloping and pebbly. The best beach is about 10 minutes walk towards town and called Paradiso beach which is good for quick dips and amazing for snorkelling. It too is gently sloping and a little less pebbly.
The apartments are situated 25 minutes gentle flat walk from Kos Town and a very regular bus service will take you in for 1.30 euros.
There is a local mini market near the beach and four good tavernas within 10 minutes walk.
Great place to stay as they do their level best to make your stay as enjoyable as they can. Lots of people we met are return customers and so this is always a good sign.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binkybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went here for a family holiday. Nikos and Efi made us feel like one of the family! Although the rooms are basic, the bar , pool and food are perfect. Plenty to do in the evening and only a short bus trip to Kos Town. The BBQ and pool party is not one to miss!!
Thanks guys for a great holiday , will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 76Hook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.2 mi away
Platanista Hotel
Platanista Hotel
#1 of 19 in Psalidi
855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mitsis Ramira Beach Hotel
12.3 mi away
Argiri Hotel
Argiri Hotel
#28 of 39 in Kardamena
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Niriides Beach Hotel
Niriides Beach Hotel
#13 of 19 in Psalidi
442 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kipriotis Panorama Hotel & Suites
20.7 mi away
Chrysoula Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denise Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denise Apartments

Property: Denise Apartments
Address: off Georgiou Papandreou Street, Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Denise Apartments Hotel Kos Town
Denise Apartments Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing