We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3-star pretending to be a 5-star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Kos Town
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
worthing
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3-star pretending to be a 5-star”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife, 30 year old daughter and I stayed in a Suite (DS5) for 5 nights half board (should have been 7, but the Greek Air traffic controllers planned a strike so we had to return early).
The hotel is advertised as a 5-star, but we feel it has more of a 3-star rating due to too many faults.
As the hotel closes on the 31st October until next year, I feel it safe to assume that they were reluctant to spend any money on it at that time of year.

The heated pool was not heated...when I asked at reception as to when the heating failed and when they expected it to be heated again I was told that it broke "last week" and no-one could tell me whether it was being fixed!

People had previously mentioned the Internet being very slow or even non-existent. Everytime we used it in the room it either crashed or just wouldn't connect. When I complained to reception I was told it was "the Internet provider to blame" This has been going so long (as per previous reviews) that maybe somebody should have been thinking "maybe we should change provider?"

The shower leaked from the seal around the cubicle. This was reported and "fixed" twice, but guess what....it still leaked all over the floor

There seemed to be a lack of attention to detail by the management: eg:
Room cleaning was good but a black dirt edge seemed to be present around the edges of the floor.
The room was set up for 2 people.....2 cups, 2 loungers etc, and we had to ask for a 3rd set of everything, despite the booking being for 3.

The restaurant was the only little bit of positive. The staff were very friendly and helpful, although the food quality was average and lacking variety.

Its a shame, as it could be a very nice hotel if someone took it in hand. We wouldn't rush back as I am sure there are better hotels around Kos that would offer much better quality and value for money.

Room Tip: All the suites faced the sea accross a relatively quiet road, but DS5 (and possibly DS6 and DS7) had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    228
    87
    42
    16
See reviews for
167
838
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of September 2011 for a week. We definately will return, it was absolutely amazing from arriving to sadly leaving. We are regular visitors to the Greek Islands and therefore have stayed in many hotels but the Diamond Deluxe has to be "one of the best" experiences. The brochure showed delightful photos of the hotel and pools but the real thing was a very pleasant surprise. On arrival we were greeted and shown to our room which we must add proved to have the most comfortable bed and lavish furnishings. The tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, safe, gowns, lovely soft towels and shower products all added to the feeling of customer care. The hotel and pools were immaculate and the friendly hotel cleaning staff should be commended. The hotel Manager and receptionists were extremely helpful and polite, nothing being too much trouble. The restaurant Manager, Alex and the staff (particularly Marius and Olta) should also be commended for their professionalism and friendly approach. The choice of food at both the breakfast and the evening meal were excellent and we have no complaints to make.
Our only negative comment would be the excessive bar prices which stopped us using this on an evening. On reflection, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berni911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We went from the 17th of july for 10 days to the Diamond deluxe.
In short: we had a wonderful time in this very nice hotel.

In long:-) Breakfast was very good!
Dinner was also good but the deserts weren't as good as we are used to have in other 5*
The staff are all brilliant. Many thanks to Alex who always made things happen perfectly and made you feel very welcome. Marius was also special to us but i have to say that EVERYONE did their job perfect!!! It' s like a good oiled machine.

The room : we had a double front pool room. It was amazing.
If i could change anything about the room it would be that it wasn't effeicient enough to put all of our things properly in the wardrobe. There wasn't any cupboard so you had to put it all into the wardrobe which wasn't practically designed. But thats a small detail, i can live with that. It's inferior to the beautifulness of the room itself.

Cleanness : the whole hotel is spotless.
Housekeeping was very friendly (all the staff were friendly) but could have been a bit more clean. Our balcony has never been cleaned in those 10 days. Also the toothpaste was sometimes still on our glasses...

The itialian is SIMPLY PERFECT! the view is breathtaking and very romantic.
We had grilled octopus and than the black tagliatelli with salmon: DELICIOUS

The people at the reception were also perfect and very friendly.

The internet was slow but we were glad to have internet!!!

The spa : we went only to the hairdresser. It 's a pitty that there are so few people in the spa.
We also rent bikes via the hotel and we were very satisfied. Every day we went to Kos town.
The bar Tarzans beach is wonderfull, very tropical and really very pleasant.
We also rent a car via the hotel (for 2 days) and we were also very satisfied.

I must say that i am confused by reading some of the latest reviews. May be there is a change of staff? i am really wondering what's happening there????
It was sooooo good when we went!!! Perhaps the staff is tired after a long season?
My husband an i plan to go back next summer but i will wait to see what other members write. Perhaps the political situation is having an impact.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cargry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Worst hotel ever. This is the truth.
I read the BEST reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked!? We all joked that the hotel wrote these reviews themselves!
There is no internet, the spa area is not available because none of the staff know how to use it!? No baby cots. Dirty pools. No mini club for kids and definitely not child friendly with only 2 high chairs at the restaurant. Dangerous pool areas (very risky for hotel) where people fall in fully dressed. In the evening, you are constantly running after your kids who are about to fall into a pool! Reception staff and manager are unprofessional. The jacuzzi in the room does not work and we were told it never worked from the begining!
Many reviews I ready said that they were upgraded to better rooms and there was free internet.
I stayed there for 10 days and never saw or heard any of this! In fact all you hear is people complaining about hotel.
There are so many fantastic hotels in Kos, especially near nice beaches. You can just forget about the beach near this hotel. All I can say, is that it is a mess!
Don't be fooled by the photos of Diamond Deluxe.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Lambi. There's NOTHING there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maria123924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsaousis, Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for the review,

Since you believe that these reviews are not real, you can report to TripAdvisor and the people that have already written, they can reply back to you since they have their email address, and also you can check their profile.

Of course there is an internet but we are not responsible of the Island Server. We are an Island and as everyone knows we do not have the same infrastructure as the mainland.

Concerning the SPA, I am not sure that you attend referring to your experience and you blaim the staff that you have to know what qualifications and University they have attend.
Dirty Pool? I am not sure that what you say is real.

We never advertise that we are focusing in family hotel with babies or that we have kid's club. So you blame us for something that we never had or advertise that we have.

Concerning the pool dangerous, we cannot put barriers around the pool and I am sure no pools have barriers in any other hotel that is why we have several pathways large enough to pass the mini club car.

So again thank you for one more time for your personal experience and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for a week at the end of September 2011. The rooms are very nice and kept tidy, exactly what you see on the website, no surprises. My partner is very tall so we were worried that the round bed might be a bit too small for him but it was perfectly fine. We wanted a room overlooking the sea which was beautiful but I understand that many people might prefer the inside rooms with direct access to the pool which is also very convenient. In general our experience was the best out of all the hotels we have so far visited in Greece, on the very positive side:
- the staff are very friendly (of course provided the guests treat them with respect which is not always the case and I assume that it is the root cause of the various complaints mentioned here).
- the rooms are kept very clean and so is the pool, the beach
- nice little details add to the positive experience such as tea/coffee making facilities in the room, watermelon that you get free of charge while sunbathing on the private beach etc
- the main pool is huge and really very beautiful
- the wellness centre is unfortunatelly underused - we had a massage and it was a great experience, maybe if the price was a bit less, there would be more customers but the hotel management must know best (100 Eur for a full body massage... but it WAS very good)
- small shop on the premises is very useful as you can buy the necessary drinks etc without having to pay the high prices normally charged for drinks (as is normal in any other hotel)

On the other hand, there were some negatives which were not too serious to spoil a perfectly nice holiday, just mentioning it for those for whom this might be important:
- water in the pools is incredibly cold, normally very few people are actually swimming and if so, can do it only for a while. This is a pity as the pools are I would say the main DIAMONDS in this hotel :-)
- I agree with other reviewers that the food was truly not so great. Breakfasts were truly wonderful, lots of choice and very tasty (especially the bread!!! - often still fresh and warm from the oven) but dishes for dinner were very similar every night and frankly not so tasty. Desserts were the main weakness, normally everything tasted the same... not so good and I have to say that I am not that fussy about food... And most dissapointingly - no lamb dishes, couldn't even believe we were in Greece!
- for those who want to keep fit during the stay - the hotel gym contains 2 treadmills, 1 cross trainer (orbitek) and 1 bicycle + some weights. On the other hand, you can borrow a real bicycle or just jog alongside the beach which is so much better than wasting time in the gym...

So overall, it was a very positive experience with some small negatives but definitely the best hotel in Greece we tried so far.

Room Tip: Pool view or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed at the Diamond Deluxe Hotel in Lambi in Agust 2011 after reading some positive reviews on Trip Advisor.All I can say that these reviews are written by the hotel themselves. It looks like a 5 star hotel but at best it could be a 3 star hotel. There is NO internet service in the hotel. The reception staff are probably friends of the manager because they are very unprofessional and can not help you with much other than ordering you a taxi. The Diamond Deluxe advertise on family websites but do not offer cots or highchairs. There were 3 cots and 2 highchairs for the whole hotel. We were told by staff that they had to advertise on family travel sites because numbers were so low the were desperate to fill the rooms. They had nothing for children to do and the small playground could not be used during the day because there was no cover and the equipment got far too hot for children to climb on and in the evening there was no lighting so it was too dangerous to play on. The facilities looked good but there was no one in the hotel who knew how to work them such as the indoor spa pool with the jetsprays, massages etc... You had to wait for towels every morning because the manager told us that they wash them in the morning and they have to wait for them to dry before they can give them to the guests!!!!! Everyone around the pools sat and moaned that their children had to sleep in their prams and sit on their laps to eat dinner and the service in general. There were a few cases of food poisoning .On many occasions we had to ask them to clean the pools and the jacuzzi because there was always a layer of scum around the edges. When we complained that our baby needed something to sleep on the very rude receptionist sent to our room a 2cm deep bit of plastic that you would not even give your dog to sleep on. The manangement did not have a clue what they were doing, asking the receptionists to send away clients that had booked the Diamond Deluxe because they couldn't find the booking and at the last minute realising their mistake call them back.The staff in the gift shop were lovely and heard complaints like ours all day and suggested we contact the owners and talk directly to them as nothing would be resolved with the in house manager. The hotel is surrounded by impressive water features alond the sides of walkways. Unfortunately there are no barriers to stop people falling in and on at lease 5 occasions whilst we were there we saw people falling in, including the elderly.The food you ordered during the day was dry and was cooked from frozen and not fresh ingredients. There was hardly any meat in the burgers but was substituted by mashed up vegetables. For a 5 star hotel we expected much much more. It was the worst hotel we have stayed in.Do Not go there. This is a true account of the hotel so do yourself a favour and go somewhere else. It has potential to be great but it's not recognised by the people running the hotel. I have included photos to back my claims to help you make up your minds.

Room Tip: Hardly anyone received the room they chose when they booked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

we have stayed in this hotel in august and a part of september,
we liked it very much,
the hotel looks very beautifal,like the photo,s you see on internet!
the rooms are very comfortable,big enough and has free internet.
the swimmingpool is amazing,the restaurant is good ,we did not like the manager of this restaurant he is not friendly,when you arrive in the dinning area he does not say hello,but roomnumber please,if you are there at the first time and you don,t know how it works and your going to sit at a table to take yor dinner ,and you did not see this manager to give yor roomnumber he is very unpolite ,we saw this happening a couple of time.also is he very rude to the waiters,and those boys kristapps marius en florin worked very hard,are polite gave a feeling to us as feeling home!
it is better to put marius in the job of reataurant manager he knows what he is doing!!!

if you want to go to the town of kos you gan take the bus,he stops every 10 minutes in front of the hotel,or rent a bike !

we like to go back !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kos Town
0.7 mi away
Aqua Blu Boutique Hotel + Spa
5.6 mi away
Michelangelo Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#8 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pelagos Suites Hotel
Pelagos Suites Hotel
#6 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.2 mi away
Astir Odysseus Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Gaia Garden
Gaia Garden
#7 of 49 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only

Property: Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only
Address: Aigaiou, Lambi | Aigaiou, Lambi, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kos Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#11 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a beachfront location in Lambi, Diamond Deluxe is a 5-star hotel offering rooms with PC and free wired Internet. It includes a spa centre and a 2,000-m² pool complex.Diamond Deluxe Hotel rooms are luxuriously decorated in shades of white with golden details and hardwood floors. They are equipped with air conditioning, LCD satellite TV and DVD player, and feature hydromassage facilities. Their balconies or verandas boast spectacular views of the sea or the pools.The Mazarin Spa includes 5 state-of-the-art treatment rooms and an indoor heated pool with water jets. Natural ingredients are used in all therapies following the holistic philosophy of the spa.Emerald Restaurant serves a rich breakfast buffet overlooking the pools and the gardens, while the Peruzzi mediterranean offers local seafood with a modern twist. Hotel Diamond Deluxe also has three bars, at the lobby, the pool and the beach, serving drinks and exotic cocktails in elegant settings.Diamond Deluxe Hotel is within 3 km from the town of Kos. The airport is 24 km away. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Deluxe Resort
Diamond Deluxe Hotel & SPA - Adults Only Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing