We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The holiday of greatness apart from hitler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smartline Philippion Hotel
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Kos Town
Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The holiday of greatness apart from hitler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

We booked our holiday through Thomsons and to say we were surprised is an understatement. We didnt realise how big the apartments were and we even had our own sofa (but it did have a few suspect stains on it). The cleanliness was generally ok apart from the other couple on the trip had sick behind their bin and after asking to get it cleaned they missed it time and time again.

Great location, roof pool was brilliant and there was no problems getting a sunbed in the morning, as the hotel was full of the younger whipper snappers out on the razz all night. The supermarket next door is very expensive and they are very rude grunting at you rather than speaking. Food at the hotel was top and restaurants around the area generally very good and well priced (Fanos do a great Mousaka).

Around the pool you cannot eat or drink anything you have brought from the supermarket next door (which I may add they own) because the hotels prices are 200% more expensive. If you did take food the little hotel manager (hitler) was walking round telling people off.

Only one night of sleep we were disturbed with a rather loud love making session happening with the door OPEN (must have been hot because the air con doesnt work if the door is open).

The bike rental underneath is very cheap, and we even hired the 4 seater bike/car but we did crash a few times.

Would recommend this to anyone as we had a really good time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamrob53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    62
    21
    18
    24
See reviews for
50
75
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We have just returned from a week in this hotel and have to say we were not happy with the service we received. This was our first time in Kos, and have to say that we have fallen in love with this beautiful Island. We booked through Thomsons and part of the deal for their customers is that they get rooms with air-conditioning as part of the holiday package.

We arrived at the Philippion quite late in the evening and were greeted by a the night porter. He gave us our air-con remote control and sent us off to our room, a very spacious two room apartment. An air-con unit was positioned in both the lounge/kitchen area, and also one in the bedroom. The first thing we noticed was a wall of heat as we entered the room. There were no instructions on how to use the air-con or remote contol for it, but I sussed it out for myself, and programmed it to drop the temperature to below 20 C. Very quickly the bedroom unit started to cool the air temperature to a more acceptable level, so at least we would be able to get a good nights sleep. However, the living area was still horrendously hot, and was clearly not working. I went down to reception to see the night porter, who also happened to be the hotel maintenance man. He came up to our room, played about with the remote control and assured us that there was nothing wrong with the air-con, and that it was working correctly. Nonsense!
It wasn't working correctly at all, he was just fobbing us off. 'It's a big room' he said, 'it will cool the room down'. No it didn't!
At least we could sleep comfortably. The Thomson rep was straight onto the problem when we brought it to his attention at the welcome meeting.

After a couple of days, the hotel offered us a room swap, which we declined because the alternative they offered was a much smaller room with a poor view and a balcony that never got to see the sun at any stage of the day. Our balcony on the other hand had a fantastic sea view and was also right above the upper pool area. The air-con would be repaired we were assured.
It wasn't! At least we could sleep comfortably in the bedroom! That is, until that unit packed in after another couple of days! It wasa impossible to sleep aqanywhere in this appartment, it was dreadful! After the umpteenth trip to reception trying to get this issue resolved we were again assured that it would be repaired. It wasn't.

We were just fobbed off all the time. We are really peed off about this because we booked the hotel with Thomsons because of the availability of the air- conditioning being in with the price.

As for the rest of our holiday, we loved it! But I would never recomend staying at this hotel to anyone. The service was just not what was required.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kos Town hotels

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We are waiting for the bus to pick us up after a two week stay at Hotel Philippion in Kos; we have had a fantastic holiday in a prime location. The hotel is situated within 10 minutes of the old town (the centre). The advantage of this is that it is more peaceful than hotels in the midst of the action. There are many restaurants either side of the hotel (including the hotel's own taverna). There is a small supermarket next door for those wishing to stock up for self catering appartments and a fabulous bakery 5 minutes walk towards town (it is also an ice cream parlour).
Our appartment overlooked the upstairs pool area and had beautiful views across the sea to Turkey. The downstairs pool area wasn't quite as attractive as the upstairs one but served the same purpose. The water was a murky green colour when we arrived but was treated and changed to crystal clear again witin the day. We never had a problem getting a sunbed even though some of them were broken which prevented the backs staying up in the sitting position.
Looking at some of the previous photogtaphs, we were obviously in the newer block (B).
Our cleaner came everyday apart from Sunday; the floors were mopped, the bins emptied, the beds made and the bathroom cleaned. Towels and bedding were changed twice weekly. The air conditioning enabled us to close the windows and doors and keep out any noise (air conditioning was part of the package for Thomson customers but cost 5 euros a day otherwise). Saying that, there was only road noise during the day and the occasional late night chat on balconies on two nights during our stay.
The staff were all friendly and efficient. We managed to get a late check out (6pm rather than12 noon) by paying 25 euros. This enabled us to have a full day and enjoy the last day of our holiday to the full. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to any age group and would be more than happy to return at a future date.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dylan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

With two teenage kids we wanted to be in a location where we were not slap bang in the middle of everything but accessible by foot to them when we wanted.

The hotel from the outside looks small but once inside you are soon aware that this is not the case. We booked through Thomsons so were in the newest area. The apartment was large, very clean and there was a large bedroom and very modern bathroom then the main living area which had a small kitchen area with table and chairs and lounge area with two very comfortable firm sofas which acted as the other two beds.
We had air conditioning which was in the bedroom and the main living area and it worked very efficiently and therefore as windows did not need to be opened there is only minimum noise from outside so had very good nights sleep. We used the upstairs pool all the time and it is a lovely area to sit in and we never had any problems with getting a sunbed. There is another pool area down stairs which was not as nice and it was in the majority occupied by the foreign guests who were in other parts of the hotel.

The pool when we got there was a lovely blue but they must have put some chemical cleaning thing into midway through the holiday and it turned to a rather off putting green colour... bit off putting but sure it was harmless.

Our room was cleaned almost everyday and sheets and towels changed every two or three days. We had a fabby wee cleaner called Veronica and she always had a smile for us.

My only complaint about the Phillippion was that when we arrived we booked a safe in the room for the fortnight and it cost 50 euros, I really think this is an excessive amount to pay but because you want to protect your valuables, passports etc then they have you by the short and curlies. I have 2 at home and they cost less to buy than it cost to rent for two weeks.

We booked all our trips independently and visited the Aqua Park, Nysoris the volcanic island, The 3 islands cruise which included a lovely lunch and the trip to Turkey. I got the 3 boat trips for 4 of us for a total of 170 euros which was cheaper than the cost of one of the trips would have been if we had gone with Thomsons.

We hired bikes a couple of days and the cycle paths are very good and even when you have to go on the road you feel safe enough. We cycled to the Therma springs but there is a very long hill that unless you are strong in the legs then its off the bike and walking .... mind you nice coming back down them.

Altogether thoroughly enjoyed the holiday, Weather brilliant, People very friendly and Kos town is beautiful and a good mix of the old and the new. Lots of lovely restaurants and if you look around you will find reasonable prices and lovely food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

This is a great hotel for what we paid.
Good bits:
*Clean, apartment lovely, very modern with hot water all the time.Air conditioning free for Thomson's customers. Microwave/kettle/2 comfy sofa's
*2 Pools
*Central,10 mins from centre.
*Good snack food but expensive.

Bad bits:
*The pools are small and the sunbeds are crammed in- you can hardly put your feet down at the sides.Some are broken.If it was very busy I doubt you'd get a bed.If there are children around it gets very noisy.
*Constant loud music by the pool.A pet hate...I'd have preferred one pool to be a "quiet" area.

Tips:
*Go to the ice cream shop opposite to the left.Lovely.
*Greece is expensive but you can keep it to a minimum.Eat at taverna's off the main streets.Drink local wine by the jug,half litres for 5 euro.I developed a taste for retsina years ago, even cheaper.Don't get pints of draught beer- paid 9 euro for 2 once.Look out for happy hours etc.Gyros Pitta- 2 euro.
*Shop around for silver.Prices vary.
*The town little train is a rip off, 5 euro for 20 mins.Nicer to walk it, in the evening when it's cooler.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireFuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed at the Philippion from 21-28oct 2009 in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment is basic but was cleaned/towels changed daily and beds were comfy, so was great for a weeks hol! We were right by the upstairs pool so had lovely views towards Turkey. (The plane trees which previous posters had complained about had been cut before we arrived in preparation for the 28th Oct parade, and the 'Four Roses' bar was closed for season so not so noisy at night).

The Hotel itself is located on the main seafront road between the Castle and Marina, about 5-10 min walk into Kos Town. The time will depend on your willpower as you have to go past 'To Special' bakery which is next door to Kos Aktis Hotel. This shop is open all day upto about midnight and does a mouthwatering range of pastries, breads and icecreams.

We found that a lot of tavernas had already closed for winter, but still managed to try a different one every night! Of special mention is Mummys Cooking and Elia for Greek dishes, and also 'Jumbo-style' behind the indoor market where we had a lovely evening chatting to the owner who was australian but had come to kos on hols some 20+ years before and not gone home. Did want to try some other places mentioned on TA, but Caravan and Agora were closed and couldn't find Never on a Sunday - it was raining and getting dark so gave up looking!

Weather was not so good this year - first three days were great (including my sons birthday on friday), as we went into the weekend it got cloudier, then massive thunderstorm on sunday night/monday with rain for several hours. We then had cloud and rain for rest of hol, but still warm enough to be out in t-shirt!

Used local buses to get around island as cheap and reasonable timetable. the only problem we had was after catching bus to Zia and getting caught in another storm, we did not know that they had changed to winter timetable so no 4pm bus! The timetable which we had been given had no dates on it, and bus driver who took us up did not tell us that it was last bus of day. Luckily one of the shopkeepers saw us waiting in the rain, and came over to tell us there was no last bus and offered to call us a taxi. Apparently this is quite common, so surprised that taxi dont wait by busstop to collect unsuspecting travellers.

Definitely worth a walk to is the Casa Romana to look at the Roman mosaics, free to go in.

All-in-all a relaxing hols which was not spoilt by weather as we have been on hols in much worse!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiddynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

As a late September holiday the town was just going out of season but the hotel was nice. Clean pool area, nice rooms and generally great hotel.Relaxing with no screaming children. Restaurants around the hotel were very nice expecially the italian at the end of the road near the pastery shop.
The night life had a bit of everything tasty meals and a few drinks or a mad night out down bar street if you want it . Plus a picturesque place to be. Would recommend this place and will definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalouUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kos Town hotels
0.0 mi away
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
Kos Aktis Art Hotel
#7 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#22 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kos Junior Suites
Kos Junior Suites
#24 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#20 of 52 in Kos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koala Hotel
Koala Hotel
#11 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sonia
Hotel Sonia
#12 of 52 in Kos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Philippion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Philippion Hotel

Property: Smartline Philippion Hotel
Address: 14 Vas. Georgiou | Vas. Georgiou & Thessalou 2, Kos Town 853 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Philippion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com so you can book your Smartline Philippion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippion Hotel Kos Town
Smartline Philippion Hotel Kos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing