We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous house, charming family”
Review of Casa das Obras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa das Obras
Ranked #2 of 11 Manteigas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staying here was a highlight in our holiday. The house could be a film set: it has real character, from the medieval stone hallway to the elegantly plastered dining room. Yet it's also home to a family who have lived there for over 300 years, and are warmly welcoming. Our room was a suite near the dining room, with a small sitting room as well as a large bedroom and bathroom; the bed was very comfortable. The house was warm for a cold spring visit, with a log fire in the sitting room downstairs and an electric heater in our room; and I'm sure it would be cool in summer with the thick walls. Breakfast was a very generous buffet including plentiful fruit, yogurt, a choice of freshly baked cakes, cheese, eggs, ham, cereals etc. Complimentary teas, coffee and biscuits were available in the communal hallway at any time, and there was a minibar/fridge in our room. And eating round the large dining table felt like being at home - in a very grand sort of way. There was free parking just outside, and although the house is tucked away in a quiet small street, it's well signed and not too hard to find. Altogether a pleasure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our only regret was only staying one night. The house needs no further description, including a true wow factor. The house also included a swimming pool, games room, living room all lavishly decorated. The bedrooms were comfortable with complimentary fruit. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of alternatives to cater for most tastes.
The staff was always friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

As B&B's go this was outstanding! The house was amazing and we were allowed to use several of the rooms. (snug, billiards room, lounge, chess room! Dining room, day room etc, all of which were beautiful. As we were the only guests it seemed like we were living in our own stately home. Each room had interesting antiques and pictures. Breakfast was amazing, I could have sat in the elegant dining room all day! Angela who was runing the B&B was very helpful and quietly went around setting fires, baking cakes for breakfast and making us feel very much at home, she was the perfect hostess. She advised us of local restaurants and we ate at Dom Pastor's which was excellent. Although not a lot to do in Manteigas the walking in the surrounding hills is amazing. There are lots of routes that are marked and are well worth doing.

Oh and I forgot to mention that the house also has its own pool and garden!

I certainly host to visit again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ScotlandSmiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Manteigas is in a beautiful high setting in the mountains and is an excellent base for hiking. The town itself is rather simple with limited facilities - but good enough for all that.
Casa das Obras is an ancient noble family house and has been in the same family for generations. It is beautifully and comprehensively furnished with all manner of family heirlooms, old pictures and furniture. There is a big games room with pool and chess and a large sitting room with a log fire heating the room and the hot water.
We had a good sized bedroom and a very comforatble bed. The bathroom was a little cramped and the fittings, while not as old as the house, looked as if they had served at least one generation. Still, bathtubs will last for ever!
The one drawback we found was the limited quantity of hot water, so on a chilly March morning there was enough to shave with but not enough to shower or use the bath tub. That said, the previous evening we both were able to have warm showers.
The lady in charge - I guess the owner or her daughter - was the perfect hostess, providing us with cookies and tea on arrival as well as a bowl of sugared figs and otherwise ensuring we had everything we needed.
We were the only people staying there at the time but even so, the breakfast was excellent and with a large choice. It was served at just about the largest table I have ever dined at, with room for seating around 20 people. I would highly recomment Casa das Obras.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrandMrsHelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

First you get impressed by the House (Casa) - comfortable, well kept, elegant - then you meet the people (owner and the staff, of course) - nice and warm, discreet and efficient. You stay there for a few days and you feel that you belong there! This is the kind of place you will never forget.
I hope I will be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MartaGaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This place is fantastically atmospheric. We visited in September, but I imagine it is even better on a cold winter's night. The drive through the mountains to get here is beautiful and dramatic from any direction. Sadly. Manteigas itself is pretty underwhelming, but if you plan to hike during the day, then this is the perfect place to return to. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room upstairs and there as some fun communal rooms downstairs - lounge, billiards room and secret bar hidden under the stairs. The only let down was the room itself which was dark and slightly fogeyish, but otherwise clean and comfortable. Bathrooms also could do with a makeover.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Getafix_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

I can't say enough positive things about Casa Obras. Firstly it's 300 years old and filled with unique paintings, artifacts and frescoed ceilings from that period. Our immaculate room was very large with a beautiful bed and frescoed ceiling over head. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing and the best we had during our entire trip over Europe. Homemade cakes and breads, several kinds of local cheese, salamis, fresh fruit salad, eggs etc all enjoyed in the upstairs dining room with beautiful freshly picked roses. Casa Obras is cool due to it's thick stone walls so it was lovely while we were there in Spring yet I imagine wonderfully cosy in winter with the lounge, fireplace, pool table and rustic "mountain lodge" type atmosphere. The host was so accommodating and did everything to ensure her guests were happy and comfortable. We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicolejs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteigas
1.5 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
362 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inatel Manteigas
Inatel Manteigas
#2 of 3 in Manteigas
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
5.6 mi away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
0.4 mi away
Descanso Serrano
Descanso Serrano
#4 of 11 in Manteigas
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Obras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Obras

Address: Rua Teles de Vasconcelos, Manteigas 6260-185, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Manteigas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Manteigas
Price Range: $73 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa das Obras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing