We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top in Portugal in Location (literally) and Quality of Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteigas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Top in Portugal in Location (literally) and Quality of Experience”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did stay in the singular suite - which used to be the owners' quarters - and it is fantastically fun and cozy (but not small at all). However, even in a standard room we would have loved our two night stay...honestly debated about extending. The entire lodge/house is a wonder of design - creative and charming and tastefully done. There are panoramic views and wonderful (if moderate) hiking - along with biking and kayaking (the latter only in the summer).

The food is very good - and Luis is an excellent sommelier (as well as hiking companion). However, the entire team/staff is incredibly warm, friendly, and professional.

It is not fancy - it is a modern mountain lodge created and managed with passion for excellence. We would absolutely recommend it to anyone who wanted a day or two or three in the mountains away and above it all.

Room Tip: The master suite is fantastic. We didn't see the standard rooms but assume they were equally ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonThomasChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    59
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
103
198
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Very modern, clean and cosy hotel near Serra da Estrela. Lovely rooms and interior swimming pool - in the winter there is view out to the snowy garden. Breakfast is ok and dinner is fantastic (but a bit expensive). Great massages. When we stayed at this hotel it was very snowy and because the hotel is on a high mountain a tractor had to clean the road all the way down to the centre.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's quite a trek to get to this hotel high in the mountains over 1400mt, but it is well worth it. We stayed only one night, but can endorse all the previous reviews of Casa das Penhas. Built in 2010 it is very Scandinavian in style with lots of marine ply and concrete, and beautifully fitted out. We were welcomed by a professional staff, and shown the hotel and then our room, - small but well fitted with all you could need and a very comfortable bed. Pre-dinner cocktails and canapes (incl. in the tariff) were served in the lounge, then a 4 course set menu dinner of first rate quality. Whilst at dinner, the turn-down service tidied our room and left candles burning with some nibbles and local port, - a very nice touch. Breakfast was a fresh and extensive buffet. Wish we could have stayed longer at this fantastic place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Casa das Pendhas Douradas and enjoyed every moment.
The hotel staff are kind and welcoming and take good care of the guests. The hotel is in a good location for exploring the local area, hiking, kayaking, mountain biking etc, or going off by car to local historic villages. On the first day we borrowed the hotels kayaks which were picked up and dropped off at the lake for us at the time we requested. We also used the bikes, and the hotel offered to pick us up if we didn't fancy going uphill on the way back! There aren't many restaurants nearby, and the nearest town is very difficult to navigate if you are driving and using a sat nav, so we ended up eating evening meals at the hotel. The food was excellent (chef made vegetarian for me) and included a pre-meal drink in the lounge and a snack. The food price was good, and we were allowed to chose less than the full set course. Breakfast is the regular selection of buffet style hot and cold foods and was very good. Throughout the day, snacks and drinks are available. The hotel has many books guests can enjoy in the lounges as well as DVD's to watch in the room or on the projector. It is worth visiting the view point 10 minutes walk from the hotel on a big rock with views down to Manteigas.
Take a road map of Portugal as the hotel is off Sat Nav routes and can be difficult to return back to after day trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _2013C4539CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is just a stunning hotel. Excellent service, decoration, the location is just beautiful.
The dinner service is a opportunity that you can miss, i just love everything that came to table.
I just have bad thing to say, I didn't have enough time to explore all the facilities that are available, because only stay one night, it deserves at least a 3-4 days stay.
The must is the service provide, for me one of the best I already experienced, on top of some 5 star hotel.
The design is a huge plus.
Thanks to the hotel staff for their work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PedroHora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed with my wife and 2 daughters. EXCELENT location. EXCELENT decoration. EXCELENT accommodation. EXCELENT service. OUTSTANDING cuisine. Also a great human and social story behind the development of this project. If you are visiting Serra da Estrela, this is the place to stay.
António Vieira da Silva

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem - we found it by accident as we wanted to visit Monsanto and were looking for a hotel somewhere not too far. Finally, we didn't go to Monsanto, but prolonged the reservation to 2 nights and chose a walk in the mountains.
The hotel grounds and interior design are superb, the breakfast buffet, the afternoon tea/coffee service with home made cakes and dinners are excellent, although dinner is quite costly and you have to choose the full menu of the day.
So what did we like most? ...little tasty suprises left in your room before night, the food, the design, the atmosphere, the views from the terraces and around the hotel, the books and movie library. The service was excellent, nearly too much, and the staff was always ready to help, but I also think they could be a little bit less serious and smile time to time :).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_erre_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteigas
10.3 mi away
H2otel
H2otel
#1 of 1 in Unhais da Serra
950 reviews
8.2 mi away
Pousada Serra da Estrela
6.2 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Abrigo da Montanha Hotel Rural & Spa
8.4 mi away
Luna Hotel dos Carqueijais
7.1 mi away
Luna Serra da Estrela
Luna Serra da Estrela
#2 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Penhas Douradas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Penhas Douradas

Property: Casa das Penhas Douradas
Address: Penhas Douradas, Manteigas 6261-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Manteigas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteigas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa das Penhas Douradas 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Casa das Penhas Douradas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Das Penhas Douradas Hotel Manteigas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing