We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy hotel that was clean and comfortable”
Review of Dunadry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunadry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for three nights whilst visiting Northern Ireland for my friend's wedding. We chose this hotel as this is where the reception was being held.

The room itself was very large - probably too large to be honest. All of the furniture was down one end of the room with the tv mounted on the wall and a dresser underneath. However, the room was clean and tidy and welcoming, as was the bathroom. The bathroom was also rather large but again, clean and tidy and perfectly functional.

The communal areas of the hotel were reasonably well kept but could have done with a bit of TLC in places. The building used to be an old cotton mill or something similar, and there are pictures on the wall of the building in its early days. The supports for the landings are actually made out of parts of the old machines which we thought was a nice touch.

The bar area is comfortable and, whilst cosy, not hugely private as it was essentially part of the reception area with the bar on one side and all the tables and chairs on the other. There is also a conservatory which was very pleasant to sit in and have a drink. The grounds of the hotel are also quite pleasant, but somewhat small.

The staff were friendly enough and helped if asked.

Breakfast was the usual buffet of continental style breakfast combined with a full fry up. The breakfast was not too bad at all and there was no problem with paying two or even three visits to the buffet.

The wedding reception itself was very good. The food was very good and plentiful, and staff were very helpful and obliging (one was even happy to get involved in some japery aimed at the groom). We did not eat a 'normal meal' at the hotel, opting to go across the road to Ellie Mays, but if the food in the restaurant was as good as that at breakfast and the wedding reception, I am sure the restaurant would be worth a visit.

The only thing we were slightly disappointed with was that the swimming pool and gym were in a seperate blading from the main hotel. We had been planning on having a swim one day but we discovered that the gym and pool were housed in a seperate building at the entrance to the car park to the hotel which required a walk from the hotel itself and through the car park.

All in all, a good comfortable hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (737)
There are newer reviews for Dunadry Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 737 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently stayed at Dunadry Hotel for 3 nights and very much enjoyed the experience. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful, could not fault them. Overall the reception area is a bit dated but had charm which I personally liked but may not appeal to others, really nice place to stay. The rooms we had were spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable and we slept very well although the rooms could benefit from having fans as I found it warm at night even though we left the small windows open. The towels were clean and very soft, changed everyday, plenty of soap, shower gel etc. supplied. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definitely stay there again. Could not complain about the food breakfast and dinner was delicious and plenty of choice.

To the staff:- Keep up the good work and thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was not impressed much about the food --- simple menu but still lacking the taste and the way its specified in the menu like --- grilled prawns which isnt ' soaked with sesame oil --- seekin for the hint and color of the soy ---but no clue where is was'--
Main course was ok and tasty but the monk fish wasnt thoroughly cooked
---still stringy at the core ---and fleshy raw fish ---anyways '-- wish for the best and for the best

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here a couple of nights on a coach tour, it is reasonably comfortable, but there were weddings on both days and these obviously take priority. At dinner we had to wait 20 minutes before our order was taken and then another twenty minutes before we were served. The menu for coach parties is somewhat restricted, I am sure the wedding guests fared better

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thurio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On the recommendation of the lady at the tourist desk at Belfast City Airport, we came here for lunch. Even allowing for the fact that there was a wedding going on at the same time, the service we received was poor, indifferent and bordering on hostile. We were moved from location to location, eventually being housed in the bistro area - charmless and devoid of atmosphere. We were not given the requested bar meal menu (what we asked for on arrival). The salmon was overcooked suggesting the chef was making sure it was fully defrosted, the sauce with it was red muck. The vegetables with the oriental duck were soggy and inedible. The avocado and chicken salads were what I would expect an uninformed teenager to produce - shredded iceberg and a few tomatoes. The pine nuts provided no relief to the tedium of the plate. The best part of the meal were the CocaColas and the best part of the meal was knowing we would never return. If you like your food to represent all that was bad about cooking in the 1970s and if you like your service to be curt and if you like to feel as though you, the customer, are getting in the way, you will love this place! For the rest of us, drive on past. And don't seek the help from the information dest at Belfast City Airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, yes the decor is a little outdated, but really that's not a big deal in the whole scheme of things. It may not be utter luxury, but extremely comfortable and lovely atmosphere. I had a very enjoyable stay here in early June.

Although the food in the restaurant was delicious, I felt the service on the first night wasn't great - they brought us food destined for another table a couple of times and forgot to bring us a bottle of wine we had ordered. But in their defense, the restaurant was very busy that night AND there was a wedding reception going on at the same time. Perhaps they spread their staff just a little too thinly. On the second night the service was greatly improved. Also, the staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, so as I said, on the night in question, they were probably just spread a little thinly.

I mentioned that there was a wedding going on - which can often be quite an inconvenience when you're trying to enjoy a relaxing stay somewhere - but we didn't feel the wedding was too intrusive at all. Obviously we were aware they were there, but it was not overly loud and did not spill too much in to the main parts of the hotel.

The setting of the hotel is lovely - the grounds themselves are quite pleasant and the general area is lovely and scenic - even if you just pop down the road to Antrim town there's a nice kinda harbour at the lake and some lovely walks.

The pool was small (well average size for a hotel really) but lovely, really enjoyed a quick dip in there! We didn't have a chance to sample the SPA unfortunately as there was no available bookings, so make sure to book ahead if you plan to get a treatment.

Value for money-wise, the hotel was reasonable enough. We just paid two nights at the normal B&B rate, but noticed when we were there that they do a very good one nights accommodation plus meal option, which seemed great value.

All in all I would recommend this hotel and would gladly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SetSail07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from Thursday to Sunday having chosen it as we had previously attended weddings here.

When we arrived they were awaiting the first wedding of the weekend. Being disabled I found that the distance to the room was far enough and the 2 fire doors we passed through meant that we didn't hear anything from the weddings at all which was a pleasant surprise.

The room was spacious and well appointed but over warm even without the heating on. The beds were a good size but very firm, as were the pillows and duvet. We had asked to avoid feather bedding due to asthma so this may not be representative of the hotel in general.

Party due to the distance to the Bistro we decided to have breakfast in our room as there was a good table and chairs provided. There is a little sheet to complete to request everything you want for breakfast which you hang on the outside of the door before 2am and this system worked well. The times were listed in 15 minute choices but these seem hard to adhere to especially when there are coach parties taking breakfast. The chaps who brought us our trays each morning were charming as were the variations on what we had ordered!

On our return from a day out, two nights running, after struggling through the wedding parties and guests we found that the key cards didn't work. My elderly mother then had to go back to Reception to have them reprogrammed. The first night this was done with no comment at all and on the second there was an apology and she was told that it must have been kept near a mobile phone. As an experienced traveller I had been careful to keep the cards aware from all electronic devices and suspect from the state of the key cards that they are probably a little on the elderly side themselves!

I was surprised to find most skirting boards were quite dusty as were the less visible surfaces - window sill and bars between chair legs. Again this is something that I begin to look for when I find my asthma is playing up. Other guests may not notice - unless they see where my finger ran over them to check!

There are only 3 disabled parking bays which are quickly taken up when the wedding guests cars fill the car park. The walk from the far car park is quite long as only I could drive the hire car I couldn't be dropped by the door.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay but as others have said it is a little tired.... as were the staff! Three weddings in three days must put a strain on all involved especially with coach parties also booked and perhaps the ordinary guests suffer a little as a result. We did point out these issues at Reception when we checked out and are content that they will be addressed.

We would happily stay here again and at least we learned that it is possible to butter toast with a spoon handle!

Room Tip: If you have even slight mobility issues ask for a ground floor room as there is no lift and the stai...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alisongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunadry
2.0 mi away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
4.8 mi away
Dunsilly Hotel
Dunsilly Hotel
#1 of 3 in Antrim
373 reviews
14.9 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
Ballyrobin Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Aldergrove
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
Templeton Hotel
Templeton Hotel
#2 of 2 in Templepatrick
477 reviews
6.8 mi away
Corrs Corner Hotel
Corrs Corner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newtownabbey
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunadry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunadry Hotel

Address: 2 Islandreagh Drive, Dunadry BT41 2HA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Dunadry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Price Range: $93 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunadry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dunadry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunadry Hotel And Country
Dunadry Inn
Dunadry Hotel County Antrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing