We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely embarrassing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely embarrassing”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I can safely say this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. On the day prior to check in we received a very rude call asking why our payment hadn't gone through. We then asked her to look again and she would find it came via booking.com which meant we paid on arrival. No apology received. Then we arrived at hotel and our rooms were meant to be ready for noon. At 12:05 our rooms were still not ready. Asked for a room to get changed in for the wedding we were attending which was finally arranged after a call to housekeeping. We then got back to hotel, picked up room key and once in the room they had mixed up our bags. We phoned down to reception to be rudely asked to sort it ourselves. What hotel would EVER do this?!?!?!
Following day, breakfast advertised as hot was stone cold so when we went back up to get cereal we were rudely told off for going up more than once by what looked liked a member of a military organization.
We managed to speak with a 'manager' who didn't have much about him to resolve the issues.
All in all I would advise to avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Nick

Thank you for your tripadvisor review.

Unfortunately check in is not available at the hotel until 3.00pm on the day of arrival. Wherever possible we try and accommodate requests for early check ins however this is not always possible due to the hotel being full the night prior and check out not being until 11.00am

After investigating comments regarding your lugguage - I believe when you raised concerns that the lugguage in the room was not yours, she asked if it had been confused with your friends lugguage who had also arrived wanting an early check in and did not request that you sort it out between yourselves.

I am sorry that you did not find breakfast to your satisfaction and that overall you were disapointed with your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    390
    316
    157
    125
See reviews for
189
455
42
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

super two days, very clean,quiet room,food Excellent, great pooland seating round,staff helpful and friendly, what more can l say apart from thank you.. Maureen

Room Tip: Super super super !!! could come every week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 325Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Maureen

Thank you for your fabulous review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would happily look forward to welcoming you back each week!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stop at the Cedar Court Hotel, Wakefield. It was a "Pop Party" themed night ! I must say I was very apprehensive about going ( It wasnt really my thing !!) However it was excellent value for money , £45.00 for dinner (with pop party disco! )and bed & breakfast. The hotel is modern, clean & the staff were friendly & helpfull. I wouldnt have thought it was the type of place to go for a romantic evening however for an group or party booking it was very good value.
The rooms were clean & spacious enough and the breakfast was buffet style with plnty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Kathy

Thank you for your review for on our Pop Party Night.

I am glad that you enjoyed the evening and hope to see you again at one of our future events.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

not very good thTere were a lot of things that were wrong our room was mucky there was only decaff coffee so i came away with a headache but i did leave a letter for the manager and she is trying to put things right ,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Dawn

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad that we were able to speak regarding the issues you encountered with your room and that we have managed to resolve your out standing complaint.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good food,good service,nice rooms. Went to Cedar Court on Groupon weekend with two friends.Whole experience was excellent. Nothing to much trouble. Will be repeating asap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Richard

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We got a fantastic offer of £55 for 2 people, including dinner and breakfast so you can't ask for more! The food was fantastic and the staff was great. I think the room we stayed in could do with an update but I suspect that was because we were there on a very cheap deal. I expect that if we'd have paid full price we might have had a better room. However, the value for money was great so I wouldn't complain at all. The only real negatives were that there was about 10 bottles of wine/beer etc left outside 2 rooms at either side of ours that were left all day and not moved until the next morning but i'm saying this more for feedback to the hotel. The spa was small so the first day we had to wait to go in, which was a pain at first but soon forgotten! Overall..great stay, great staff, fab food! I'll be keeping my eyes open for more offers!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor as I think that's where the rooms that need n update are located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear MH

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor where I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us - I have passed on your comments to both the chef's and the team.

I am sorry that the bottles were not cleared from the corridor until the following morning, corridors are regularly patrolled to ensure good housekeepiong and I am sorry that this was not the case on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at Cedar court on our way back from the Pontefract Licourice Festival 8/7 with a coach party. Despite it being almost on a motorway it was surprisingly quiet. The room was fine similar standard to a good travelodge. The food was very good and service fast and efficient until the coffee at the end that seemed to take forever to be served. Breakfast was great ( possibly expensive if not on a package) Wide variety of hot or continental style food and "real" juices and fresh and dried fruit available. All in all a good experience before travelling on to Harewood House in Leeds.The latter was also a value for money attraction,

Room Tip: Lifts oddly placed - Mention when booking if there are mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wartonmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Wartonmj

Thank you for your recent email regarding your stay with us over the Pontefract Liquorice Festival.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope we can welcome you back for future visits.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calder Grove
3.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
916 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
BEST WESTERN Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
862 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield South (M1, Jct39) Hotel
10.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Property: Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing