We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,588)
Filter reviews
1,588 results
Traveler rating
379
467
387
201
154
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
467
387
201
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealevening mealleisure facilitiesset menuleisure clubweekend breakfood was lovelyself servicestayed for one nightan overnight stayplenty of parkinggood nights sleepsauna and steam roomexcellent value for moneyfull englishgymwakefield
Filter
Updating list...
1,461 - 1,466 of 1,588 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 7/1/11 for 1 night, 3 rooms ( 2 twins and 1 double) and wasnt impressed with it in general. The worst thing about this hotel is the bed's.. especially the twin beds which our party didnt get much sleep on at all - the breakfast table looked more comfy to be honest.

The breakfast was okay, decent amount of food available, english breakfast and continental with lots of fruit and cold meats available if thats the kind of breakfast you prefer, the food was cooked well and was hot.

Some of our party used to leisure facilities and found them to be off good quality.

One plus was the staff who were briilliant, and always on hand to help. Also plenty of parking is available.

If they fixed the beds if would be better, buts its not bad for 1 night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

third time at cedar court hotel for new years eve and it didnt let us down again started well with afternoon tea a good choice of sandwiches few beers then head down for a hour but we could have used the leisure facilities got ready for our bucks fiz pre dinner meeting..the food was quality nice starter a good steak out of our 10 at the table we didnt get a poor one all served piping hot and at once . a real good meal to say the amount of people who was there.
Staff were good and helpful in every way
The only downside was the entertainment (very poor) arrived late didnt get the party going infact some guest were taking the mickey very poor Michael Buble impersonator.
the last two years the entertainment was a lot better infact 1st class
The DJ was really good saved the day and made the night .
late breakfast the next day too, buffet but well set out and good choice

a good night had by all except Michael Buble

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Andrew B

Thank you for your feedback on our New Years Eve celebrations at the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, where I was pleased to read that your party enjoyed both the meal and the disco

We are in the process of finalising plans for our 2012 party and will take on board your comments regarding the entertainment.

We hope to welcome you back for this years festivities.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

i would just like to say a big thankyou to all the staff a cedar court for making my daughter and new son inlaws wedding day so perfect, and a special thankyou to katy the wedding co-ordinator who was fantastic from start to finish and we only gave her a 4-5 months notice , nothing was to much trouble and felt she was more like a friend at the end of it , i would deffinetly recommend this as a perfect place to have a wedding and reception , the sit down meal was lovely and the evening buffet was just as good ,and the staff were great , so once again a big thankyou to katy and staff for a perfect wedding day for my daughter .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Susan 250

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your daughters wedding day at the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

I was so pleased to read that everyone enjoyed the day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Attended Pop Party Night as a works function on Thursday 15th Dec. We decided to go here following a successful party in 2010. Again the night was well organised and fun was had by all. However....Cedar Court, What happened to the food??? It was awful.

Last year was a carvery, a very nice carvery and starters. The food this year was bland, tasteless and bought to you on a plate. It looked like mass produced, heated up school dinner food. Everyone in my party was disappointed and commented how good it was last year (the ones who attended last year).
This was a real shame, however the rest of the night made up for it. Overall, the function was excellent, the food awful. We will be looking for a Xmas function next year but unless we are reassured the food will go back to what it was we wont be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Nail gun

Thank you for your review where I was sorry to read that we did not fully reach your expectations on your Christmas party this year.

For 2011 we had several types of party night on offer including both the 2 course pop party night which you attended or the 3 course cabaret carvery which you attended last year. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food and we will take on board your comments.

Please rest assured that we will still be offering the cabaret carvery nights in 2012 so we hope that you may choose to opt for this party night next year.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

As a wedding venue cedar court for us was brilliant we have a disabled daughter which is why we wanted to have our wedding and reception at the same venue. The staff at cedar court couldnt have been more helpful they were lovely to our daughter really nice and friendly to her, they ensured that she had her food first as she gets very easily distressed and the kitchen staff even cut up her meal which made it easier for her carer to feed her.

The food was gorgeous all of our guests were impressed it was piping hot which isnt always the case when there are 60 guests to feed the staff were constantly checking that all of the guests were happy.

The evening was just as good everything went well and the food for the evening buffet was lovely too.

A lot of our guests actually said to us as they were leaving that our wedding was one of the nicest weddings that they had been to. We would like to thank cedar court for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Alison

Thank you for writing your wonderful review about your wedding day at the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

It was great to read such positive comments and we wish you every future happiness.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews