We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“susan lo ,daughters wedding on the 11th dececember 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Reviewed January 4, 2012

i would just like to say a big thankyou to all the staff a cedar court for making my daughter and new son inlaws wedding day so perfect, and a special thankyou to katy the wedding co-ordinator who was fantastic from start to finish and we only gave her a 4-5 months notice , nothing was to much trouble and felt she was more like a friend at the end of it , i would deffinetly recommend this as a perfect place to have a wedding and reception , the sit down meal was lovely and the evening buffet was just as good ,and the staff were great , so once again a big thankyou to katy and staff for a perfect wedding day for my daughter .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2012

Dear Susan 250

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your daughters wedding day at the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

I was so pleased to read that everyone enjoyed the day.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,410)
There are newer reviews for Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Attended Pop Party Night as a works function on Thursday 15th Dec. We decided to go here following a successful party in 2010. Again the night was well organised and fun was had by all. However....Cedar Court, What happened to the food??? It was awful.

Last year was a carvery, a very nice carvery and starters. The food this year was bland, tasteless and bought to you on a plate. It looked like mass produced, heated up school dinner food. Everyone in my party was disappointed and commented how good it was last year (the ones who attended last year).
This was a real shame, however the rest of the night made up for it. Overall, the function was excellent, the food awful. We will be looking for a Xmas function next year but unless we are reassured the food will go back to what it was we wont be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Nail gun

Thank you for your review where I was sorry to read that we did not fully reach your expectations on your Christmas party this year.

For 2011 we had several types of party night on offer including both the 2 course pop party night which you attended or the 3 course cabaret carvery which you attended last year. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy the food and we will take on board your comments.

Please rest assured that we will still be offering the cabaret carvery nights in 2012 so we hope that you may choose to opt for this party night next year.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

As a wedding venue cedar court for us was brilliant we have a disabled daughter which is why we wanted to have our wedding and reception at the same venue. The staff at cedar court couldnt have been more helpful they were lovely to our daughter really nice and friendly to her, they ensured that she had her food first as she gets very easily distressed and the kitchen staff even cut up her meal which made it easier for her carer to feed her.

The food was gorgeous all of our guests were impressed it was piping hot which isnt always the case when there are 60 guests to feed the staff were constantly checking that all of the guests were happy.

The evening was just as good everything went well and the food for the evening buffet was lovely too.

A lot of our guests actually said to us as they were leaving that our wedding was one of the nicest weddings that they had been to. We would like to thank cedar court for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Alison

Thank you for writing your wonderful review about your wedding day at the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

It was great to read such positive comments and we wish you every future happiness.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed for two nights this week. Good. Very comfy bed, lovely pool, friendly staff. quick reception & excellent breakfast. Bad . We had an executive room but other than the bed no difference. bathroom cramped & tired. Had to ask at reception for shampoo & soap. In an executive room!!!. Chairs in reception needed updating,but overall not too bad. The Restaurant was very nice ,we dined there twice & were impressed with the quality & price

Room Tip: Ordinary rooms are just as good as executive & cheaper
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valencia1467218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Valencia1467218

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that there were many parts of your stay that you enjoyed and I must apologise that your room had been lacking in shampoo and soap.

Executive rooms at the hotel differ from our standard rooms in their lighting, safes, airconditioning and that they are superkingsize beds.

We are looking to address the lounge furniture in 2012 as we are hoping to have the lounge and reception areas refurbished.

Kind regards and thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed here last weekend on an organised trip to York Christmas markets and Haworth. Hotel rooms were excellent really clean, lovely shower with no shortage of hot water, Carvery dinner which apart from the roast beef being cut too thick was very good, a lady at my table varied from the set menu and the staff were only to happy to change her order. Breakfast the next day was great with every taste catered for. All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auburnaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2012

Dear Auburnaura

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay on tripadvisor.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

All ok... Nothing a problem per se but certainly not memorable or 'special'. Rooms clean but in real need of modernising - very dated. If it's a quick business stay and you're ok with 'fine' then go for it. If you're looking for a personal treat and nice time away i'd look somewhere else. Once money is spent on modernisation it might be a different story...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London7771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear London 7771

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and there are refurbishment plans in the pipeline for 2012, so hopefully we will get to see you again for that leisure stay.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here at the end of last month on one of their spend £40 in the restaurant and stay overnight for £10 deals (Fridays only). Check in swift. Room above average, v clean with most things you need. Made the most of the pool and jacuzzi which was lovely n quiet. Although we didnt use it the gym looks like it has all that you need. The meal was superb, one of the best steaks i have ever had. Service great too. A good nights sleep. Breakfast not included in the rate so cant comment, priced at £10 pp i think. We instead went to a nearby Toby restaurant which does a buffet breakfast for £5 pp although at the time there was a 2-4-1 offer on so even better. If you want a buzzing hotel with lots of action around then maybe not the one for you but if you fancy a stay with a meal for a v decent price then i would def recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifi_travels907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear Fifi_travels907

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor where we were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calder Grove
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
915 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
987 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
12.3 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Price Range: $52 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing