We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of 5 Grande Rue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
5 Grande Rue
Ranked #1 of 3 Le Lude B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The B&B is located in the center of Le Lude and there is a parking place in the yard. The rooms .are very clean and comftable, Nice bed and spotless bath. The hosts (Simon and Susan) makes you feel home with friends. Like I alreadt wrote - excellent choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anya_Bialik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very good break when travelling across France - nice bed, good breakfast, friendly hosts that make you feel very welcome, quiet location and good eateries nearby - what more can you want! oh, I forgot - somewhere to park your car - yes they have that too! La Lude is a lovely old French town and the Chateaux looks like a good visit although we didn't have the time to spare to see it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the online booking to our farewell at check-out, 5 Grande Rue proved to be THE best B&B experience I've ever had. The graceful and beautiful old home has been lovingly refurbished by the owners and hosts, Simon and Susan. The home is airy and immaculate, and the decor is fresh and uncluttered giving a peaceful energy to the home. All the bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms which are spotless. There is a gated courtyard and garden where you can enjoy a peaceful quiet time, a cup of tea, or a glass of wine, in addition to parking your car securely.

Breakfast is abundant and delicious: freshly ground coffee, (and hot milk, if you wish) freshly squeezed OJ, fresh croissants and baguettes, fresh fruit, stewed fruits, and yoghurt are served on the buffet. Additionally, eggs, any style are offered. I highly recommend Simon's creamy scrambled eggs. If time allows, also treat yourself to dinner at 5 Grande Rue. Susan is an excellent cook and provides abundant portions. Her desserts are not to be missed: Pavlova, white chocolate mousse with cardamom, and absolutely decadent millionaire's shortbread.

The house is one block from Chateau de Lude, which doesn't seem to get much press outside Le Lude, however, it is a little gem of a castle and should not be missed. There are guided tours twice daily, and take time to walk the beautiful grounds and garden. The town is quaint and is also worth a walk about. There is a small market on Thursday mornings. Le Lude is well situated with easy driving to Le Man, Anger, Tours, Chenonceau, and Saumur.

I spent 10 days there and would eagerly return to the delicious cooking, peaceful ambiance, and delightful cordiality awaiting me. Well done Simon and Susan.

Room Tip: Every room is a winner! The website photos are very accurate, so there are no unpleasant surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have never felt so safe and comfortable away from my own home as I did when I stayed at 5 Grand Rue. I felt so at home that I found myself doing things like leave my shoes downstairs around the dining room. Susan is an excellent cook, and one night we had a beautiful four course dinner with a dessert of white chocolate mousse laced with cardamom. There is an excellent continental breakfast with fresh bread and croissants, and an option of eggs, every morning. The bedrooms are all very nicely appointed, and the bathrooms had very convenient, new appointments. Everything was very clean and well organised. The owners, experienced world travellers, are absolutely lovely, and full of excellent stories and travel advice. I think I will ask them for destination suggestions on my next trip.

Room Tip: The rooms on the outside are sometimes subject to early morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chels C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

If you want a really comfortable bed, the option of an excellent evening meal, either 2 or 4 courses with wine included, and a breakfast of wide choices including freshly cooked eggs, look no further than here. Simon and Susan provide a warm welcome and refreshment once you have settled into your charming room with spacious shower en suite. There has been great thought given to this venture; bottled water is provided in the bedrooms and on the landing the facility to make tea or coffee when desired and a fridge to store any foodie purchases. It is within an easy drive of the Channel ports and after a drive it is a real delight to relax in the garden and meet fellow guests. The parking is secure and the house is central in the town providing other dining choices within waking distance. It provides either a welcome stopover or a base from which to explore the area.

Room Tip: Best to choose a room that doesn't face onto the Grand Rue, it can be noisy; dustbin men start e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well what can I say, 10 out of 10 does not do this place justice, Susan & Simon are such a lovely couple, very welcoming and ever so helpful, rooms are large and very comfortable with superb modern en-suite facilities, Susan's cooking is top notch with superb continental breakfasts and evening meals also available, I recommend you have at least one evening meal with them but then you must try the food at the nearby Auberge des Isles, anybody thinking of a trip to the Loire region would be a fool to pass up the opportunity to stay at 5 Grande Rue, the enclosed rear drive and garden area is excellent for sitting out under the gazebo with a glass of wine or two and the location cannot be bettered with the town literately two minutes round the corner and the Chateau le Lude 50mtrs or so away a great place for a lovely picnic lunch and Susan even lent us her picnic basket for the day, Amboise, Saumur and so many other beautiful places including Le Mans and Tours are a short drive away, altogether a wonderful relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable place to stay and will be visited many times in the future.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are worth a stay, even the smallest is a decent size and any road noise is at an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Best to take this step by step to give a full review.
Contact with hosts was brilliant with emails straight away to thank us for booking which made me feel important from the off. On arrival the hosts were of the highest standard I have ever experienced. They served us fresh tea straight away as a welcome and had loads of time to talk us through the premises and area. Evening meal was extremely good value and was as good as meals costing three times the price served in fine establishments. Room was immaculate and comfortable with great en suite facilities. Lovely walk around the nearby Chateau which is a must see. Breakfast, served at our convenience was just right with offers of alternatives to just pastries. All in all a great stay with lovely hosts, well done Simon and Susan.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms overlook courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Lude
12.9 mi away
La Barillerie
La Barillerie
#1 of 10 in La Fleche
151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Domaine de la Courbe
Domaine de la Courbe
#1 of 3 in Le Lude
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Logis L'Auberge Alsacienne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
La Renaissance Hotel
#2 of 3 in Le Lude
19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to 5 Grande Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 5 Grande Rue

Address: 5 Grande rue, 72800 Le Lude, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Le Lude
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Le Lude
Price Range: $87 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Susan and Simon welcome you to their elegant and comfortable guest house, peacefully situated in the centre of Le Lude, France.Local shops, bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance and the famous Le Lude Chateau with its gardens along the banks of Le Loir is only two minutes along the road.The guest house has a large walled garden, a terrace for dining and relaxing, with secure onsite parking.The region of Pays de La Loire, France is well known for its beautiful countryside, diverse and colourful history, delightful villages, architectural monuments, fine wines and of course numerous chateaux.Throughout the year there are many other cultural and sporting events.Le Lude is easily accessible by car, with the A28 auto route only 15 minutes away. By air the nearest airport is Tours (40 minutes). By train from Paris to Le Mans (50 minutes). The port of Calais is a 5 hour drive with Caen, St Malo and Le Havre all approximately 2-3 hours away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 5 Grande Rue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing