We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanzo d'Intelvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful Hotel. Stayed here from 9th to 15th September with National Holidays, found the Hotel to be spotlessly clean, the family running it were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, even though most of the family spoke very little English it wasn't a problem, food was excellent and plenty of it, lovely gardens, also you can pick up free wifi in the reception/lounge area. The only "sort of" problem was that the hotel was 30 minutes up the mountain around winding hairpin bends which could be a bit scary at times especially when we encountered other coaches coming in the opposite direction, also in the National Holidays brochure it says that the views of Lake Lugano are a short walk, we couldn't find them the first day but we went in the wrong direction, the view is a 30 minute slow walk (past the tennis courts - just keep going till you can't go anymore) but is well worth the walk - it is absolutely stunning. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank val29661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for six nights with a National Holidays tour and what a lovely hotel it is! Our twin room was spacious with loads of cupboards and drawers and the bathroom was also large and it too had a wardrobe in it which was ideal to store our cases.The hotel is spotlessly clean and the five course evening meals were excellent (really,a bit too much).The family and staff were wonderful,so genuinely friendly,helpful and smiley.It was a half hour drive up the mountain but that was a nice way to both start and end each day and once we got back there was a lovely garden to relax in with a drink should you wish to.Our final evening's Gala dinner was superb and a lovely way to finish a super holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We had an amazing holiday with National Holidays to this beautiful hotel.Its a good 20-30 minutes up a very steep windy road up from Lake Como ,but was worth it when you got there.The hotel was very clean,the family could not do enough for you.The food was excellent 5 courses every night,which was more than enough ,in fact too much at times.We had a lovely room on the 3rd floor spotlessly clean,and were woken every morning by the church bells!.
The drivers on this trip David and Joe were really good, proffessional at all times,and full of local knowledge,but with humour too .
We met some nice people and would definatley recommend this trip ,the days out were all lovely,but the hotel was the icing on the cake !

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spexMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Milano for 6 nights from 26th Austat 2012 with national holidays. What a fabulous place. Our room was amazing, we had a bedroom with a sitting room large on suite bathroom, lots of drawers and cupboards to put away our clothes and a place to hide away our suitcase for the week. The room, bathroom, bed everything was lovely and clean. we also had a balcony with furniture which looked out onto the side road going up to the village. The food was great 5 courses starting with pasta, finishing with a lovely homemade sweet. Each evening the bar was free from 5pm - 9pm which was great.

The family and staff at the Milano are brilliant very welcoming always happy and smiling nothing is to much for them.

The Milano has a fabulous garden to relax in after returning from the daily trips our drivers Joseph and David took us on.

Joseph and David were great people very professional and very knowledgeable about every area they took us to on our trips. They also had music for each part of the trip relating to the counrty you where travelling through at the time.

Room Tip: we had room 25 which shares a balcony with 24, which if you are going in a group of two couples is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidayareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the milano for six nights from 3rd june 2012 with national holidays .Our room had a balcony overlooking the garden .When we entered our room it had a strange smell, but was clean. We later discovered it was the mattress on my wifes bed which was badly stained with urine that was causing the smell. We changed it for a mattress in an adjoining room ,but the smell remained all week.The staff were very friendly , and the evening meals were good but the breakfasts lacked variety, and were typical Italian with no fresh friut and the bread which seemed a week old.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here with National Holidays. The hotel is family run high in the hills about 30 - 45 minutes on the coach round hairpin bends from the lakeside.The food is well served with Pasta followed by soup and main course and sweet, free wine is available throughout the meal. They operate a free bar from 5.00pm to 9.00pm. The trips out do tend to return around 6.00pm - 6.30pm with dinner at 7.30pm each day. The guides available on the trips are very good. Overall it is fair value for money and the drivers worked well as a team keeping everyone entertained on the long journeys. I cannot agree with the 5* under a 3* banner it is 3* only

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Having spent 7days at the Milano all I can say is wonderful! A family run hotel and I now feel like part of it. The food fantastic, the hotel spotless and nothing is too much trouble. I cannot recommend enough. Lanzo is a sleepy little town but is a perfect place to explore both Italy and Switzerland.
A hidden gem!
Andrew

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aj1Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanzo d'Intelvi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#3 of 3 in Lanzo d'Intelvi
52 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Locanda del Notaio
La Locanda del Notaio
#1 of 1 in Pellio Intelvi
96 reviews
3.6 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Just Hotel Lomazzo Fiera
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Rondanino
Hotel Ristorante Rondanino
#1 of 2 in Lanzo d'Intelvi
84 reviews
4.8 mi away
Parco San Marco Lifestyle Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Via M. Novi, 22024 Lanzo d'Intelvi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Lanzo d'Intelvi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanzo d'Intelvi
Price Range: $84 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Milano 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Milano Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing