We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian holiday 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanzo d'Intelvi
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Italian holiday 2012”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the milano for six nights from 3rd june 2012 with national holidays .Our room had a balcony overlooking the garden .When we entered our room it had a strange smell, but was clean. We later discovered it was the mattress on my wifes bed which was badly stained with urine that was causing the smell. We changed it for a mattress in an adjoining room ,but the smell remained all week.The staff were very friendly , and the evening meals were good but the breakfasts lacked variety, and were typical Italian with no fresh friut and the bread which seemed a week old.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
49
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here with National Holidays. The hotel is family run high in the hills about 30 - 45 minutes on the coach round hairpin bends from the lakeside.The food is well served with Pasta followed by soup and main course and sweet, free wine is available throughout the meal. They operate a free bar from 5.00pm to 9.00pm. The trips out do tend to return around 6.00pm - 6.30pm with dinner at 7.30pm each day. The guides available on the trips are very good. Overall it is fair value for money and the drivers worked well as a team keeping everyone entertained on the long journeys. I cannot agree with the 5* under a 3* banner it is 3* only

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Having spent 7days at the Milano all I can say is wonderful! A family run hotel and I now feel like part of it. The food fantastic, the hotel spotless and nothing is too much trouble. I cannot recommend enough. Lanzo is a sleepy little town but is a perfect place to explore both Italy and Switzerland.
A hidden gem!
Andrew

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aj1Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington tyne and wear
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Great hotel and staff food was verry good would stay there again and thinking of this for 2012 hols.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james_r_27wash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

stayed at the hotel for a week with national Holidaystour, It was enjoyable to be able to return up into the mountains during a very hot week to some cooler evening weather afte the heat of the lakes and Milan.
The food served though a set menu was a four course eveing meal with a different choice every night combining pasta soup a main course and sweet, though i do not normally like other than uk food it was served in such a way that it temped me to taste and enjoy things that I have ried in the uk an dnot enjoyed.
The room on the first floor number 6 was spacious as a twin room decorated with afloral pattern and reasonable sized on suite with shower. This was cleaned and serviced every day and was a joy to use as a base. 4 cupboards and a large wardrobe helped to make us comfortable.
The younger mebers of the owners family speak and understan reasonable english so are able to be helpful with information and requests.
all in all a very enjoyable stay.
Yes it can take a while particulary in a coach to get in and out of the village but there are several steeper and quicker ways with car or motorcycle and all enjoy scenic views to passengers as you climb up the 900 feet to the village.
If you are feeling fit the balcony of Italy overlooking lake Lugano is approx a 10- 20 min walk from the hotel.
Enjoy Ray Currie
I did

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ray_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel has to be the best I've ever stayed in! The staff were amazing, it was
family run they just couldn't do enough for you! The rooms were beautiful with a vintage feel, very large too and comfy :) the food was really good, which is always a bonus! The location though is a little thing that may put you off. The hotel is up a rather large mountain which would take around 40 minuites to get to the top of, so if you are a wery driver then this maybe a problem. The scenery as you climb upwards though is breathtaking! A definate 5 star hotel in my eyes! You would bot be disappointed by this hotel it's just great! xo

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmyM254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just spent a lovely week in this Hotel. Food was great, atmosphere was homely and the staff really friendly and helpful- couldn't do enough for you

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bullyleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanzo d'Intelvi
0.7 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#3 of 3 in Lanzo d'Intelvi
48 reviews
3.6 mi away
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
Albergo Ristorante La Torre
#2 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
101 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
Hotel Bazzoni et du Lac
#7 of 8 in Tremezzina
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Locanda del Notaio
La Locanda del Notaio
#1 of 1 in Pellio Intelvi
80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Agriturismo Il Talento Nella Quiete
Agriturismo Il Talento Nella Qui...
#1 of 2 in Castiglione d'Intelvi
204 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Via M. Novi, 22024 Lanzo d'Intelvi, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Como > Lanzo d'Intelvi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanzo d'Intelvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Milano 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Milano Como, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing